Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Neon Shapes

by Srednuht - Jam Entry

DESCRIPTION
Neon Shapes is Guitar-hero-alike game and your objetive is change your shape in order to pass through the coming objets.

SHAPESHIFT
Using keyboard keys you will be able to swap between 3 shapes ( spheres, diamong and box, basic shapes that i'd to do it by myself since I dont have anyone to create more complex 3D models).

CONTROLS GUIDE:
Movement -> A : Move Left | D : Move Right
Change Shape -> J : Box | K : Sphere | L : Diamond

About the dev:
Twitter: https://twitter.com/_srednuht
Mail: bepefran@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#216Theme(Jam)3.76
#325Overall(Jam)3.47
#346Fun(Jam)3.35
#636Graphics(Jam)3.16
#663Humor(Jam)2.17
#686Mood(Jam)2.91
#724Innovation(Jam)2.84

Comments

Itay2805 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:56am

Nice game! It was really fun :)

guin36 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:05am

Great concept, nice visuals, and catchy music. and fun gameplay. My only quips are that the changing feels somewhat unresponsive at times, and that the difficulty doesn't scale quickly enough, but they're somewhat minor in the face of the rest of the game. Great job!

Srednuht says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:17am

I will improve the level scaling speed. I had the same feeling but i was not sure. Thanks!

forgiv3nplays says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:18am

Really loved the music and font!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:19am

Top score! lol

Pretty cool! It felt like the change buttons stuck every once in awhile, but I still enjoyed it!

AngerFork says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:20am

Catchy music, catchy gameplay, super original use of the theme...and a great expansion of a game like Guitar Hero. Well done!!

Srednuht says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:32am

About the Button 'stuck' theme, they're not really blocked or similar... in order to prevent tricks at fast-swapping in order to prevent that players score the failed shapes.
shouldnt be any problem 'cuz the 'block' still during 0.33secs and the shape spawnrate never achieve these numbers!
but...I'll check asap, thanks 4 the feedback :)

Srednuht says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:35am

Fix comment...its too late D:

About the Button 'stuck' theme, they're not bugged or similar... Im frezzing the shapeshift in order to prevent tricks at fast-swapping...this way players wont score the failed shapes.

lanestp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:48am

Really fun! I'm terrible at it but I really enjoyed it! My top score was 2900

davidkanc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:49am

Una pasada tio, no soy muy experto en jams pero creo que te has sacado un juego que explota el espiritu de estas. Rapido, adictivo, dificil... felicidades

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:44pm

Like that you put in a high score

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Con el cambio entre figuras más rapido, un línea para saber exactamente donde está (a veces no sabes si ha pasado ya o si te golpeas al moverte sobre una puerta y un contador de combo bien llamativo, estaría rico rico. GJ

ManuSaiz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Cool game. Great concept!

seveca95 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Awesome.Like

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Nice idea, controls are kinda hard to memorize.

karln says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Very pretty, nice music. Seems a little odd to have no feedback effects when you successfully pass a gate. Occasionally my attempts to change shape didn't register, maybe because I was still inside the previous gate? Would be good to have a little feedback for that too.

midgard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Fun game! I miss more visual and audio feedback when I pass through a shape, but it was fun and challenging.

Buen trabajo

blackname says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Nice use of the theme, the game is funny and addictive. I miss some relation between the music and the level speed; and more feedback when you are doing well. Good job!

Swynfel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Pretty addicting game!

Very simple concept but it works very well! Very addicting especially with the leader boards! :3 (My nickname is Bamboo, I finally got the top score!)

Some things could be corrected to improve the "game-feel" :
Apart from the green colour nothing indicates that you have passed a barrier / when you pass that barrier. It feels very un-precise.
Also, sometimes, when you press a shape-shifting key you don't actually shape-shift. Maybe it's my keyboard ? So I had to double tap the keys when I had to change shape to reduce to amount of fails I did. I don't know what could cause it... Maybe it's because I try to shape-shift right after I moved ?

The game was also a little laggy for a game of this type. I also noticed you changed level based on time : when the game froze long enough, a level could last only a third of it's usual length. It can be a little frustrating, luckily the first level don't give out so much points.

The graphics where not that bad! It's just that when you "pass" a barrier, you actually just have over-lapping sprites, which is not that pretty (and doesn't feel right... it kind of pulls you out of the game).

It could have been fun (and difficult) to try and synchronise the music and the patterns. You could also have varied the speed at which the shape come (like once every half-second, than one and a second pause, and again once every half-second... this type of thing, you could then have those "half-seconds" synchronised with the music).

Anyway : good job and good luck for your future work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]