Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Golden Rush

by image/31 - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare! I do not have time to implement a variety of functions ...
But what is done is done!

History-
Eddy Pupak adventurer. Encroached upon untold riches of ancient pyramids, our hero found himself in one of the most intricate labyrinths of the world and the more strays in it, the more his confidence is growing that maze ... live their lives. Danger remain buried between the sarcophagi and mummies is growing with every turn.

Idea-
Shift world around.

Using-
GameMaker Studio
PyxelEdit
Beatwave

control - W,S,A,D
dash - double tap

//

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#223Audio(Jam)3.49
#224Innovation(Jam)3.51
#226Theme(Jam)3.74
#262Graphics(Jam)3.84
#309Mood(Jam)3.40
#383Humor(Jam)2.74
#438Fun(Jam)3.26
#479Overall(Jam)3.30

Comments

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:22am

Cool take on the theme. Took me a few moments to work out what was happening (thought it was bugging out!) but after I understood, it was good fun.
My biggest criticism would be that a game like this -needs- a score at the end! I wanted to know how well I had done, but I was met only with a game over screen!
Fantastic job on your first LD--keep it up!

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:25am

Nice game and graphics!

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:02am

This entry is cool but need more effects while shape of dungeon is shifting.

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:10am

Nice game. Loved the pixel art, really well done. Music was enjoyable too!

murraya2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Very cool. Graphics were amazing. My only complaint would be that it's a little *too* random. Sometimes I felt like I got put in a situation that was impossible.

MementoGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:38pm

The art is amazing and I loved the concept.
The size of changing walls could be smaller, I guess.
Awesome job!

neondx says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:50pm

simple, fun innovative idea, with good looking graphs, and suitable audio! nice work!

thedashdude says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:59pm

I liked the game, my thoughts are that I think a monster would have added some suspense and the top of the walls looked pretty bland. I liked the application of the theme.

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:07am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:29pm

Very nice with the shifting level layout! Brutal at times, but a lot of fun. Great job!

3T3A says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Nice game, it's very original and fun to play. Great job

alyphen says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:49am

A really cool graphic style and some neat arcade-style gameplay.
Audio fits it realtively well and you've crafted the atmosphere pretty well.
Only thing that would make me play more would be some sort of competitive feature, such as online high scores.

megalukes says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:09am

What an original idea. I wish I had thought about this. Amazing entry, loved it!

TheCain says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:11am

Pretty polished, but it just felt lackluster to me.
After I got bored of running around the maze, I had no reason to replay it.
But some people might like it a lot.

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:21am

Great! I had to take some time to check and understand how everything worked, but it was great! Surviving on an ever changing labyrinth seems good! :P

Nice work on the graphics, the character animation is really good and the sprites/tileset, the screens, are all nicely made!

The soundtrack is pretty cool too! :) Nice work on the music, I liked it a lot! :)

A high-score at the end, and also a bit more of feeling of progression can add some nice touches into the game! :)

Good work! ;)

MayankUnreal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:18am

Nice polished game with cool graphics and game design

Markus Brand says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:18pm

that game was really cool! graphics and audio were epic, and the game mechanics were some great new idea... I liked it. maybe the animatio of (dis)appearing walls could have been a bit different, but nevertheless it was really fun to play

OnlySlightly says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:32am

Wow great job for you first ludum dare entry! Very polished. I felt like I was Indiana Jones :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]