Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Diana Has Changed

by magicagrilsdoinggamesforsenpai - Jam Entry

Narrator: It's a game about Diana, a confused girl who blends in a confuse world

Diana: In reality it is just a platform game where you change your shapes to advance

Narrator: She changes her shapes to try advance in life

Diana: No, just to advance in the game

Narrator: Diana, i'm trying to explain the game

Diana: No, you're trying to trick people into thinking this is a deep game.

Narrator: Life is deep

Diana: And life is not a game

Narrator: *sighs* enjoy the game

Hi guys this is our first time participating in Ludum Dare, we hope that you all enjoy our game and have fun.

Note: The WebGL version has some minor texture issues but is fully playable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#122Humor(Jam)3.50
#163Innovation(Jam)3.63
#199Theme(Jam)3.78
#309Mood(Jam)3.40
#448Overall(Jam)3.33
#467Fun(Jam)3.22
#722Graphics(Jam)3.04

Comments

AsixJin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51am

The physics in the game made it a little hard to play or maybe I didn't get it, but nonetheless an excellent entry. The visuals were really nice as well.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:54am

Very cool!

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:00am

I liked where the game was going, but I got stuck on the part where the narrator says something like "Diana is going nowhere"
Still pretty fun concept :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:51pm

Neat platformer idea. Very "edgy". Frustrating that sometimes colors would appear to be the same but they didn't work together? (ie: I'm blue jump on blue box and fall through. had to click a DIFFERENT blue box first??) The narrative was cool but kind of got in the way. I just want to play the game and this text box keeps popping up. Story through mechanics, not dialog. Neat game, unique gameplay, nice work.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:53am

This was really cool. I really had to think about what I needed to turn into for each jump. I think there is a lot of potential to develop some really interesting mechanics for this.

Kashank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:56am

This was very engaging. Super unique concept with a good story and narrative that was well presented. A very trippy game, but also very cool. Great job!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:05am

Neat. Hard with a trackpad!

NIGIC says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:32am

So halfway through the game I found out you can sort of swim your way to victory. (aka you've got infinite jump while moving through a different-typed block)

Physics were a bit of an issue, but otherwise it was fun. Original platforming concept, interesting visuals, and "colorful" (cough) narrative. Enjoyed it.

Good job!

RanikoGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:05am

Cool!! I like the idea and the audio but the controls doesn't respond good

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:10am

Thank you all by the coments, we'll be working on a new vercion to fix the problems informed by you all.

Thaks againm we'r glad that you liked :D

Gyfis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Great story/tutorial. Fun music, cool graphics and incredible void animation :D love that! it's pretty innovative as well

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:25am

Nice platformer you got there, it even has story and all Great job. Keep at it.

I think your animation cycle when moving back is not working o_O that'd be a nice fix :D

haveric says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Great music, very clever graphics (especially main char), and wonderful narration and use of the 4th wall. Platforming games need crisp physics, though, and this could feel a little more responsive.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]