Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifty Shapes

by simon - Compo Entry

It's a shifting and triangulating world you're living in!
Better collect your swarm and go home...

Note: Physics seem to depend on your hardware - jumps vary in height unfortunately.

V2: Shifty moves faster now...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics4.69
Coolness70%
#76Mood3.72
#116Audio3.54
#300Overall3.40
#527Innovation3.00
#577Theme3.20
#788Fun2.60

Comments

Hyden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:21am

Damn. That was great. I've always wondered how to make that poof in effect. Are you just lerping the size and using a particle effect or is there some other magic at work? Great game 5/5. When I was making mine I had that same effect in mind but wasn't sure how to do it, so I just made a simple particle effect :P

timeshapers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:37am

Beautiful game. Movement is a bit slow.

ogre says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:53am

Really nice looking game. Hard to tell where you're trying to jump. Could be faster.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:02am

I'm always in awe when I see anti aliased graphics of this nature that are so beautiful with every frame.

But my favorite part without a doubt is the audio work.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:02am

Whery atmospheric good Game. The movement speed is a bit to slow because of this it gets anoying after time.
All in all a really good game.

peter_szegedi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:59am

The graphics are awesome, but the gameplay could be faster and it would be way more fun if I can actually see where my blob will land.

simon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:55am

Thanks for your comments - orientation in space is difficult indeed, i'll work on that and make the movement faster too :)

simon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:58am

Has anyone encountered problems with respawning after a fall or too much jump force? these were the things i just couldn't solve...

TideS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:19am

Please make a windows version.

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:24am

First I have to say this game looks amazing, I love the way everything pops in! The sound sets a really good tone as well. I had one small problem, it might just be me but I couldn’t control the game when I was in full screen so I just had to play it in the window the whole time.

Great game I hope it does really well.

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:41am

Looks great and pretty fun. Slightly frustrating getting use to the angle when I need to jump up a platform. Music is great and good potential to grow. The world and how it shape shifts into objects and platforms look amazing. Really great job.

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:23am

I like the graphics!

zacerhy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Amazing visuals and sound, hard to know if you're going to land a jump.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:59pm

Beautiful visuals, but too slow in my opinion, also a checkpoint would be good.

cabezotta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Great game! Stylish as hell! Awesome work!

Ted Brown says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:16am

This is one of the most beautifully graphically-designed jam games I've seen in a long time. Fantastic color palette and presentation.

Jimjam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:49am

Really fantastic visuals, but really tricky to tell depth and manage the controls. Cool entry all the same :)

icefallgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:47am

The graphics and overall aesthetic are really polished and beautiful!
It's confusing what levels the platforms are on though, and that makes it really hard to play. Encountering that long staircase after the first checkpoint was so daunting given the difficultly in seeing where to jump.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

flummox3d says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:02am

Sometimes I couldn't tell where I could go, but it was fun anyways. Nice work! :)

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:00am

fantastic visuals and mood. I was confused by the height and couldn't always tell how high I had to jump -- maybe some kind of indicator or range would help? Looks great though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]