Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Octomime

by eymrich - Jam Entry

Warning:
The game is incomplete!
Web version is heavy and laggy due no optimization!

In this game you take the role of a Mimic Octopus. It's one of the few animals capable of literally shapeshifting himself.

You will travel around and eating other fishes, so you will increase your size. You should use the other forms(for now only 1... bugged :D) to avoid sharks that will hunt you down if you keep too close.

Keyboard control:
left - right arrow to turn around
keep SPACE down to start moving.
Press 1 to change form(in a sponge)
Mouse wheel to change zoom.


In theory, you should run from the sharks, alas i wasn't able to finish this part(and many other parts too!). While eating smaller fish you gain size and the ability to eat all the others fish, shark included after a while.

The shapeshifting is a morph that breaks the mesh material and i don't really know how to fix that now!:D


Renato Kuurstra - Scripting, Audio( .. ), a bit of everything.
Jakob Furbo - Scripting and particles
Daniele Gamba - 3d Models and textures

Hope it's worth a laugh! Next year will be better :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#246Humor(Jam)3.11
#931Mood(Jam)2.47
#955Fun(Jam)2.57
#960Theme(Jam)2.63
#1062Innovation(Jam)2.20
#1089Overall(Jam)2.57
#1483Coolness41%

Comments

Xinelu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20am

Hey i did a game about ocean too XD
But your is prettier haha, good work!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:58am

Haha the sounds. Nice morphing effect.

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:00am

haha Those sounds are funny, but they are stacking when i press repeatedly the space key.
Good job!

ccglp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:05am

Sound effect beats me

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Best SFX. You should definitely have entered the audio category. Other than that, the octopus's inertia might be a bit too hard to control. SFX are great tho.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:06am

haha perfect squid sound. Mouse tracking felt a bit off though

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:45am

nice sound effects LOL
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

serp says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:49am

Nice sounds haha!

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Haha, for some reason, although there isn't much to the game, it is incredibly satisfying! The art is good, even with some bugs, and the SFX... perfect!

We were actually the only two participants to make a game about the Mimic Octopus! If you want to play my game, Mimic, here's the link: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=61940

haveric says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:48pm

I liked the physics, and the graphics were cute, clean and well done. the sound effect was brilliant the first couple times I heard it, but the thousandth time it got a little old.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]