Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

EXTREME DUNGEON MEGA SHIFT RPG PINBALL DELUXE

by Somelife Games - Compo Entry

Welcome to...
EXTREME DUNGEON MEGA SHIFT RPG PINBALL DELUXE!!

That's right, a shapeshifting pinball machine set up for a the perfect and bounciest dungeon crawling RPG experience!

Don't ask, I sure didn't!

Collect GOLD from barrels and crates.
Battle MONSTERS, then collect GOLD from their body.
Don't die...

You lose some HP every time the ball falls into the "pit trap" between the flippers, which also resets the dungeon/crate/monsters (but you keep the gold until you die).
Take the stairs to move up and down.

There is no real win state sadly, so just have fun or something :)

Anyway, it's my first Ludum Dare and first time trying physics 2D in Unity (nightmares of legend after that one!). It's short, probably bugged a bit, but still learned a lot and love the concept!

CONTROLS:
- Left and Right CONTROL keys (or Arrow keys) for the Flippers.
- SPACEBAR to shake stuff up. This is an important mechanic (also to get unstuck or something), it takes STAMINA (blue thing bottom right) which regends slowly.
- S to turn on/off the sound effects (AWESOME!)
- ESCAPE to return to the main menu.

Notes:
- Best played in default 1070*900 via the Web link below.
- Included Windows x86 build in case there's some memory issue via the webGL stuff.


EDIT:
(04/18/2016, 13:00) Changed windows built to .zip and removed .pdb files to reduce download size. No code change.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#53Humor3.64
#210Audio3.28
#389Innovation3.22
#423Fun3.20
#530Mood2.83
#532Overall3.14
#705Graphics2.55
#895Theme2.27

Comments

Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:40pm

Oh dear, I'm getting Out of Memory errors trying to run it.

But from what I can see without playing this, I really love your concept. It looks like bouncing around among someone's bookshelves, tables, and chairs, which seems very satisfying to one's inner child ;)

leffe108 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:51pm

I also got the out of memory error. It says the developer has to increase some memory limit.

Hope you find out how to fix it. It looks like a fun game to play.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Yea, really weird, trying to get it sorted :)

mutonizer says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Alright, sorted.
Gonna include an x86 build as well, just in case.

AnotherZero says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:42am

It worked fine now!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:21am

Pretty good game I guess?

When I hear that sound im like

"Oh Yeah :3"

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:47am

Nice little pinball machine. Not much for presentation, but it has some charm due to the cute sound effects. I wish the RPG-theme would have gone a bit further and the Shifting theme did not really convince me, but overall it's a good application of a physics engine.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:55am

Really good game. Loved it

simon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:38am

thats fun!
nice audio - give graphics the same personal touch and its perfect!
enjoyed it, 4/5!

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:57am

Thanks for the feedback :)

Graphics are supposed to be a throwback to old school "blue dungeon" maps from tabletop RPGs (google search on "old school dungeon map" should give you an idea).
I think the style I wanted is there (for my sucky graphical skills) but wish I could have gone better for ball, flippers and monsters.

Ah well, coulda, woulda, shoulda!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:57am

Yay it's working now!

I quite like how it looks :) I've always been a fan of floor plans and such.

The playable start/restart screen is a very nice touch.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:42am

"Take that!"

Wow, huge plus on the sound effects; actually laughed out loud sometimes, hah!

Otherwise, nice one. Not sure how the them fits in though =)

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:47am

Thanks.

Pinball board "shape-shifting" when you change levels is it.

That's the idea anyway but the animation/feel for it (wals moving around and whatnot) is raw and the purpose is a bit lost sadly.

crisp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Alright so, its kinda slow-paced, perhaps a bigger gravity would have made it more engaging, but overall its cool! Good Job!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:29pm

I really like the travelling between 'boards?'. I just suck at pinball so found it tricky to go where I wanted.

Lovely clean graphical style too!

Ted Brown says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:09am

Rad! I've seen the "Pinball RPG" concept before, but not like this. I think the Windows 3.1-era graphics actually help you out a bit here, and it was kind of fun to imagine the ball as... I dunno... a drunk dwarf carousing madly about and smashing things.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:30am

Haven't seen a pinball RPG since Rollers of the Realm. You could definitely expand on this idea and get something interesting.

kwmx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:41am

Loved it. It was hilarious too which was unexpected and fun

BitDare says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:15am

Umm that was odd but fun :D. Nice job

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:27am

I\ve got a bug when the ball reaches lower rectangle it throws away the ball from the map.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:29am

Nice one. Direct controlls, solid gameplay. I like it!

Beard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:50pm

I really like the simplistic graphical style you used here. Highly stylized. Sound effects were on point. This one had me laughing after a couple minutes, whenever I hit something.

docteurSid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Very nice game ! I hope you'll be improve it !

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Love the sound effects! :D

Husky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36pm

It's interesting to present a dungeon in this way, it's a bit hard for me to control the ball smoothly, so it's full of challenging to me.

orukinawa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:55pm

The game felt like a beautiful organized chaos and I like beautiful organized chaos.

P.S: Glad I could clear out the shape/color thing about my game ;)

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Nice game and unique mechanics.

Phaix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Really Really great! And the sound Genius!

FanieG says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Usually not much of a pinball fan, but really enjoyed this. Like how you incorporated the controls into the first level. Really liked the sound. Played this longer than I thought I would.

AlexLamarche says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:44pm

I love when people do the sound effects like this. :) Makes me laugh a little... in a good way

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:38pm

I like this take on pinball. Unfortunately, I didn't get the shapeshifting aspect until I read the comments. For me it was just changing rooms (which is a very cool feature). Also I was a bit confused, what to do with the gold (is it just score, can you spend it somewhere for upgrades?).
Then again, graphics and sound are very nice.

My overall impression is that you created a very lovely pinball game. Thank you very much :)

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Pretty fun and definitely an exotic approach to dungeon crawling! Sound effects are cool and I feel they match the graphics properly :D

I came here - on my reviewer's page - with high hopes. Now how is THIS not a... ehm... "game with the theme squeezed in as a twist" :D :D Anyway, good job! And definitely great job for your first LD!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:29pm

what do I have to do :) No seriously... I is a pinball game and this is a super cool idea... but I think I had so much luck in this game cause I didn't hit the ball once ...but I reached level 3 in some way... I had two beers with friends and my reactions are slowed down a lot... maybe you should do the levels a litle more challenging... put some sounds into it and it would be a cool pinball adventure... I like the idea. Maybe I'm to much debuffed by the beers... Good job so far, maybe I'll test it twice... faved it so I'll find it later :) Thanks for rating my game tho :)

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:34pm

HAAAHAHA THIS really make me laught ... "ohh yea" hahaha

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:39am

I was expecting non-sense after looking at screenshots, it was a very good surprise :) sounds effects ARE awesome !

bigmangames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:13am

Best Audio LD35

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:32am

Interesting concept. I like it!

mutonizer says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:05am

@bogdan.tana: Totally is, not a bad thing per se!
I had a better "shapeshifting" transition in mind, with some kind of transformer sound effect on top, but sadly it got put on the backseat during my fight against Unity physics2D :)

@psychomonster: I have huge respect now for pinball level designers and I now also understand why all pinball tables are vertical, not horizontal!
Good thing is that as is, new levels are fairly easy to add and link together since the hard work is done dynamically depending on how many levels there are on start. Bad thing is that I still suck at pinball level design, and it's still horizontal! :)

@bigmangames: Thanks, I think it saves the submission for a lot of people since otherwise the level design's a bit raw and the theme's light. Sound effects were always a big part of how crazy pinball can get for me so I'm glad that translates properly.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:04am

Thanks for including the mute button. ;)

You're brave trying to do 2D pinball physics in Unity. I can see the idea, though in practice it was pretty difficult to get the ball near the enemies.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:44am

#GAFBlizzard
I just didn't know beforehand man, never tried physics in unity before! Most of my time was lost learning about it then fighting against it :)

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:42am

This was a great bit of work. Enjoyed playing it. Nice idea and well executed. Amazing sounds!

WeirdMind says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:55pm

LIke the selfmade sound XD

Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:35am

Pretty bizarre audio effects, but in a good way, i always say that the next game i'll do the audio effects like this, great collisions, not sure about the theme, but fun overall, i'll rate only audio, humor and fun, gratz! it is amazing for a first LD entry, good job!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:38pm

I love it, left, left, right, take that! Money money! Awesome sound effects, and a cool idea too :) The last pinball game I played with a context was Sonic spinball!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Get all 80 points
Innovation: 3/10 Fun: 2/10
Theme: 0/10
Graphics: 1/10
Audio: 10/10
Humor: 4/10
Mood: 0/10
Coolness: 1/10
Overall: 21/80
Good Game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]