Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

4E: Four Elements

by Redpillgamedev - Jam Entry

Shapeshit yourself through air, wind, fire an earth, The Four Elements, to defend your homeland! Creating combos and funny mult-kills is a good way to achieve more score!

How to Play:
Move by Pressing W,A,S,D Keys
You can Shapeshift pressing Mouse Right Button
You can Fire pressing Mouse Left Button

Remember
Water Destroys Fire and Earth
Fire Destroys Wind
Wind Destroy Water
Earth Destroy Wind

Thank for all my Team....Guys you're amanzing!

Marcus Andrade - Art/Animation
Valter Pilares - GameDesign/UI
Paulo Ferreira - GameDesiger
Erick Eden Fróes - Programer
Rafael Oliveira - Sound Manager

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#308Theme(Jam)3.64
#459Audio(Jam)3.00
#509Fun(Jam)3.16
#560Humor(Jam)2.40
#584Overall(Jam)3.20
#623Graphics(Jam)3.18
#738Innovation(Jam)2.82
#862Mood(Jam)2.63

Comments

playnowgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:32am

Aeeeeeeeehhhh!!!!

we finish the game....thx team!!!!

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:02am

That's a fun game! It would be nice to have some explanation at the start on how to play.

unit684 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:04am

Nice art style and simple but satisfying gameplay! Well done!

Shizor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:06am

Fun little game, good job!

bellum128 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:06am

All in all, a pretty nice start. I like the innovation involved. I did notice a couple of glitches; the "player indicator" for the fire element doesn't appear in the bottom right, and also I was able to get stuck below the bottom border of the world somehow. Overall, great concept so far :)

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:52am

Fun time-killer.

wavertron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:23am

Great game, with a good amount of polish. The only problem I had was the controls, didnt realise it was in the screenshots (suggest you add a note to description to check them). But once I got going, cool game

MAN JO TEAM says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:27am

It seems good but it would be nice to know the controls, you could post in the descrption or in the game itself.

Asturk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:48am

I really like the creativity in this idea, of shapeshifting into 4 diferent elements and defeating enemies of opposite natures of yours! its has some cool mechanics that can be upgrades later, just one thing: one there are no enemies left, make the level finish there and don't make the player waits until time runs out yet!
Anyway, nice job!

shapemorph says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:30pm

PERFEITO! Minha filha de 6 meses ficou hipnotizada, então é bom!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:38pm

Pretty fun, but a bit weird water destroys two things and 2 things can destroy wind - what did purple represent?

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Hi MrNyarlathotep, thanks for enjoy our game!

the purple element represent a spirit that can shapeshifting in 4 diferent elements

this game will be upgrade very soon and the team pretends release for android and tablets devices.

renevirrey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:47pm

cute characters, thrilling!

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:29am

Not bad, it was easy to pick up and fun to play. Good over all game

adsilcott says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:34am

Cool idea and a fun game with nice graphic. I got to a point where enemies stopped spawning.

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:41am

I really liked this game!! The rules were easy to grasp, and the concept was great! The sprites were all so cute! The music was awesome as well. I like the idea a lot, and it really fits well with the theme. It took me a little while to figure out which was which, but then it was fun! The controls were smooth and killing enemies was fun!
Great job!!

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:47am

A quick rundown on the controls would have been nice, but it was fun!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:48am

a fun little game with good art and a gr8 gameplay!

play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Sergioct says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:59am

148 Points !!! Good game.

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:01am

Congrats on finishing the game! Very polished strategic action game. Very challenging. Well done. You might want to fix the typo in the first word in the description on this page though! :)

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:04am

So I believe that the theme was very well understood, but my main issues were with the controls and the element types. I know that it requires analysis to see what type enemies hate, but some were a little obscure. In regards to the controls, the mouse buttons were a little award for me, kept trying to press space for some reason to attack. The graphics were not bad, and i actually enjoyed the music, so not a bad overall game!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:05am

hahah very cool concept

megalukes says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:05am

Fun game to play, it took me some seconds to guess what I had to do, but it was fun. Great idea.

Sixteen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:19am

Loved the level of polish. Had a small bug where I became a pair of floating eyes, but changing to the next element fixed it. Loved the art too

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:36am

Nice game. An interesting risk reward type mechanic of feeding the enemies to generate more of them in order to get more points. Managed to squeeze out 316 points. Seems the controls and gameplay could translate very well to a mobile game.

mitkus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Way too easy, I think. It was kind of cool to discover which elements don't hurt.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:00pm

Thnx for the support Guys!!

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Funky tunes and lovely 'wind' sprite. I like the fact your idea would have worked for multiple of the themes under vote

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Fun game with cute artwork, well done.

shohs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:42am

Pretty neat game, and a nice level of polish. I thought it was a bit confusing that you had the purple guy (initially I thought it was water, and was confused why I couldn't shoot). Also, water is a bit OP. Besides that, good job!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:01am

I enjoyed playing this! I think you could remove the purple character, as it seems to do nothing, in which case the player would never want to switch to it -- it's currently just something that requires an extra click from the player.

It might be interesting to have a penalty for hitting an enemy with the wrong element (the enemy gets stronger maybe?), as this would require you to more strategically shoot and switch elements.

Nice work!

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:42am

Hello!

Well-made game. The graphics were cute, the music was fitting and the gameplay was interesting.

"What is effective" wasn't clear in some points, and I didn't really found use for the purple guy.
Also, this is probably personal, but I would prefer if the overall gameplay was faster.

Salve do Brasil! Tamo junto :)

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:00am

A fun game with nice art.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

MrMordem says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:21pm

nice little shooter, would feel right at home on a mobile platform, the gameplay was good.

I think i just had a few glitches : sometimes the assets seem to disappear a bit at random and i just saw the eyes of the player character, it's not a big deal but, just so you know it's there ( happened in the web version if this helps)

other than that well done !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]