Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Scooter Magrew: Escape From Somewhere In Space!

by AngerFork - Jam Entry

This is the story of a young boy named Todd "Scooter" Magrew. While in space on one of his many adventures, he found himself lost on an abandoned space station with no one else around. He also is unable to walk on any tiles that are not white or turquoise, for some reason I have yet to determine.

But he is not alone. The great Princess Portia of the ancient Kingdom of Port is there with him, as are several of her loyal servants. While unable to be there in body, they are there in spirit. And if ever he needs their help, he just has to ask and any of them will happily shapeshift his body into their own for protection.

Scooter Magrew: Escape from Somewhere in Space is a 2D puzzle game that is meant largely for young children. Currently, there are only 5 levels in (all of which are quite simple), but far more are planned. This particular version is a short version for the Ludum Dare 35 Game Jam (#LDJAM), but this should hopefully be ported to mobile devices once a few bugs are fixed and more than 5 levels exist.

Enjoy, and let me know what you think!

EDIT: Special thanks to Jupiter Hadley (@Jupiter_Hadley) for the Altum font (https://jupiter_hadley.itch.io/) which this entry uses extensively.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#478Audio(Jam)2.98
#663Humor(Jam)2.17
#862Mood(Jam)2.63
#920Theme(Jam)2.73
#1056Fun(Jam)2.34
#1062Innovation(Jam)2.20
#1109Overall(Jam)2.52

Comments

timeshapers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:29am

Nothing interesting happens with the mechanic, all levels are essentially exactly the same.

Maybe if you needed to alternate based on timing or something.

pythong says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:13pm

like timeshapers said. but you could also incorporate different skills (especially for the dark blue guy. he said he had muscles, right?)
the last level was a bit buggy, whenever i got to the white tiles, it showed the red avatar, even though i didn't get the soul yet
and the positioning of the buttons was kinda annoying. i accidentally quit once because my mouse hovered over a soul, but reaching the finish, my mouse was directly above the quit button :/

AngerFork says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Thanks guys! I don't disagree at all...moreso, I'm just trying to figure out what all I want to actually add into this game, as it's current target demographic is elementary school children. Probably a good first step to that would be removing words such as "Turquoise", but I definitely need to make better levels and/or give the characters some unique sort of abilities in order to make it just a better game overall.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:27pm

You've got a foundation you can build on, as the others have said. Even for children more mechanics than just the character swapping for walking would be good. Items, skills, things like that.

My biggest suggestion would be to change that rainbow text. It is very difficult to read, especially with multiple options right next to each other.

Your music selection is quite nice!

FerraWare says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:28pm

Kind of simple and a bit boring, but I love the graphics and the art style!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:46am

The art is great and the music fits the game very well. I think this is a very cool game for young kids (as you said in your description) Nice work!

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Nice puzzle you have there. If it's targeted to kids I'd suggest to use characters only for primary colors and have them walk on any tile where the character color is a component of the tile's one. Would make for a great edugame.
Also, I'd recommend to have a hold button= keep walking.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:58pm

A pretty simple mechanic, I think it should be fine for kids. But if it's for kids I would do the explanations a bit clearer and implement showing the helping dialogue again. Or put a question mark button there to help the player in case he doesn't get it. The color of the princess is not very good visible.

SoulBound says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:35pm

I liked the Audio and Art, but the gameplay was a bit too simple.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:14pm

Nice characters! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/KyB-5ZqWXwk

Thirsty says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:28pm

I had my 5 year old son play and I had to help him figure out what to do for the first three levels but then he got the hang of it and really enjoyed it. It was a little hard for him to see the different colors and when you transformed it seemed like you were always red which confused him and the text scrolled by way too fast for him to try to read it.

He really liked having to press the arrow keys a bunch to move him in the right direction it helped him control the characters but on touch controls I think it be a little more of a pain to control that way. I think making the levels like a colorful maze gradually getting bigger would keep him interested for a very long time.

denycetm says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:56am

Good concept, it can really grow from here. Add some sound effects and maybe some keyboard only controls. For your app, make the purple more discernible from the white for any colour blind ppl out there.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:33am

too simplistic - but spot on if made for kids - nice effort

dcolgan says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:45pm

I played through the whole thing hoping something new and/or interesting would happen, but it didn't. However, you did get me to play through all of what you had, which is worth something. If there had been one more element to gameplay, I would have thought much better if it. The best thing about it is at least something kind of different, which again, is very good.

Alphish says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Well, the puzzles here were very underwhelming. As in, "I've got a single red character that can cross red tiles, I can switch anytime when on neutral tiles, and I just need to cross red tiles after passing neutral tiles... what to do, what to do..." sort of underwhelming. Each character having distinct abilities works way better in games with character-switching, while this game's premise feels just too simple to me. >.<
(then again, I'm not a 5-years old kid)

Aside from that, I'd prefer if the graphics used consistent style, rather than realistic backgrounds and cartoony foreground. Also, you might want to make the tiles more distinct (it's a little tricky to tell gray, turquoise and purple apart; I didn't really have much trouble, but people with worse colour recognition could get confused...?). I guess the rest works well enough (or at least didn't stand out to me too much?).

yuigoto says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:27am

It's a nice concept and it totally fits the target audience, but you have to add a bit more polish into it, specially controls and some of the base movement mechanic! ;)

I loved the graphics, the overall style of the game and the way you handled the shape shifting. :) As some said, the rainbow text might become difficult to read sometimes, so that's one thing I'd ask you to change, if possible. :P

Great work on the audio! It's brilliant, in my opinion, and it fits the style! :D

puppetmaster says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Like the mood in this game. You could add more player gameplay variations. Keep up the good work!

Przekop says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Good concept, but it was lacking in alternation later on, it became simply boring.

hazzahazzam says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:26am

The UI is nice except for the rainbow text. There is never a situation where rainbow text should be used.

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:52am

the graphics and audio complements the game well... good game :) a nice stuff u can work on to...

StrayCat says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:45pm

I feel that continued walking would be better (current walking is tiring after a few levels). Instead of the clickable pad, you could make your constrols: tap the top/bottom/left/right of screen if you plan to target mobile/tablet audience.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]