Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Liborio the Shapemancer

by MightyToastStudio - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT: If the web version gives you an "out of memory" error, try to run it in another browser. If that doesn't work, download the windows version. Sorry.

INTRODUCTION:
Liborio the Shapemancer, a mischief maker that has been captured and imprisoned, so he now awaits punishment. Will you help Liborio to fool his captors and escape the dungeon?

HOW TO SHAPESHIFT:
You can copy the physical aspect of any living form that is unconscious -dead, shocked or sleeping- if you move close to it and press the Spacebar.
You can left unconscious almost any character of the game (even a small rat!) if you take the form of something that scare or makes it really nervous.

CONTROLS:
Movement : Cursors keys or ASDW
Shapeshifing : Spacebar near an unconscious character

CREDITS:
Mighty Toast : www.mightytoast.net
Twitter: twitter.com/mtoaststudio
contact: info(at)mightytoast(dot)net

Updated 4-21-16:
-Fixed some collision boxes that could leave the player stuck or launch it in the air (lol)
-Fixed the collision boxes of the cell bars. Now it's easy to escape of the cell.

Updated 4-20-16:
-Fixed the player speed.
-Fixed some Readme.txt typos.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#45Theme(Jam)4.17
#97Overall(Jam)3.85
#150Graphics(Jam)4.08
#198Innovation(Jam)3.57
#199Audio(Jam)3.54
#199Fun(Jam)3.54
#217Mood(Jam)3.56
#230Humor(Jam)3.15

Comments

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:56am

Real shapeshifting! :) I mean shapeshifting to more then a predefined set of shapes is great. If the character would move a bit faster it would be even better. Also like the exploration aspect and the knockout sound effect. Nice!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:44am

This is a well thought out game. I really enjoyed the shapeshifting aspect to this one. And the music and sound effects are great X)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:41am

Nice music. The isometric controls took a bit of fiddling but worked ok. I wanted a run button, or faster walk speed maybe?

I escaped!

marod says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:01am

Me ha molado mucho el juego, y el concepto. El control un poco lento, pero muy guapo!

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:52am

Impresionante visualmente y con una mecánica muy interesante. Enhorabuena!

davidkanc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:23am

Muy muy currado. Al principio un poco confuso sobre "quien vence a quien" pero se pilla la mecanica rapido. El arte me ha recordado al little big adcenture. Muy bien!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:56am

Nice game! Music and graphics are cool! I had some bugs with a fainting woman flying through the room, or having to constantly walk around the "body" to shapeshift, but that's ok. I had a bit trouble understanding the second level... I still don't know if I did it right... Missed some running too.

Congrats on your entry!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:17am

Nice idea, great atmosphere, cong-rats!! :D

RanikoGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Un juego magnífico!! Como alguno dice por ahí, quizá el movimiento de los personajes es algo lento, lo que no importa mucho en el primer nivel, pero en cuanto el escenario se hace un poco más grande y te pierdes un poco cuesta.

Genial enserio :)

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:08pm

Very nice, the level design is very well thought and the mechanic is fun/funny to use!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Really great use of the theme. Enjoyed the music and atmosphere the most.

Easimer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:29pm

The graphics and music are nice. The controls felt a bit odd.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Great game, really enjoyed it. I wanted more. My only critique would be to have the character move a bit faster.

maleero says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Awesome job, man. I hope you win!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:11am

Love the art! Whole vibe reminded me of Little Big Planet. I wish the game was a bit faster paced and objectives were a bit more obvious.
Overall, great stuff!

2Bit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:22am

Reminds me of a rare game somehow.

Lewwwer says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:27am

I liked the game! Fancy graphics and smooth gameplay. I felt the characters a bit slow, but despite that, I enjoyed it!

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:34am

12\10

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:39am

I think that is the ideal shapeshifter game concept. And you made it on the best way I´ve reviewed right now. Congrats team!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:25am

Thanks to everyone that played and reviewed our game! We're really happy.
We have fixed the movement speed and some typos.

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Cool music and graphic. Really cool!

jdmazz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:32pm

Loved it! Only issue is that it can be hard to shift and the humans in particular can fall on you and block you into a corner. If you fix those minor control issues and build out the game, etc., I'd be willing to buy it. I really do like it. Try to come up with some more variety in puzzles. I myself enjoy some difficult ones, but some people complain about it. Anyway, great job!

SengiG says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Nice models, overall very appealing colors, well done. Combination of 3d and isometric looks appealing, interesting choose!

WitchBoys says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Very nice graphics and idea! Sound are a little bit annoying on level 2!

seveca95 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Al principio cuesta salir de la celda. Si te pones cerca del perro y te transformas sale volando xd, Me he quedado pillado con el gato detrás de la pelirroja. El arte mola y el juego se podría convertir en un buen juego de sigilo y estrategia.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Loved it really innovative approach

solkar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:39pm

WebGL version is not working, I got this message: "Out of memory. If you are the developer of this content, try allocating more memory to your WebGL build in the WebGL player settings."

midgard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:24pm

amazing job, really interesting gameplay. This could very well be the core mechanic of a full game

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:43am

cool game and use of theme!
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

psychomonster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:47am

Oh wow. This looks amazing good. Isometric power for the win. Good music and very detailed... Use of the theme is well done. Nice!

norseware says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:48am

Wow, this is very impressive. I loved the loading screen - really unique. The art, and atmosphere really made this. I struggled with the controls. Playing for 20 minutes, I still could not master them. I would like the idea of a forward key, and the side keys would rotate -as opposed to a key being a direction. But other than that, I absolutely love this game!

sndr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:48am

I really loved that the shapelifting mechanic can be used both for shapelifting unconscious beings and for making them unconscious and then shapelifting. It's very elegant and well thought!
I would really like to see this turned into a full game! Very good job! You're getting 5 stars!! :)

Dyn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:56am

Out of memory with webgl bouild. :(
Still seems to be quite good game and awesome graphics

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:56am

A wonderful game with awesome graphics :) The only thing I found bad was that at the very beginning it is pretty hard to leave the cell.

panurge says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:10am

Really enjoyed this. Nicely thought out puzzles with a neat mechanic. Beautiful visuals, music and mood too. I had a couple of problems with characters getting stuck against walls or in corners - I had to quit the first level at one point because I walked behind the girl as a cat and couldn't get out again - but nothing which really spoiled my enjoyment.

Great work!

abuzreq says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:24am

Impressive ,Pretty much a good amount of content even for 3 day!
The physics were a bit strange
when I shifted to a dog the first time I found my self flying up then fell back again
also when I made a woman unconscious she moved "while laying on the ground" to the door , moved the guards away and opens the door :P
The level design was really cool.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:34am

Very nice graphics, but there is a lot of bugs. I shapeshifted to a dog and fly into the cellar and get stuck..

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Thanks for all your feedback. We have fixed some collision boxes to reduce the possibility of glitches.

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:49pm

That is a truly cool game. With compelling story it can make the steady and fast way to the top. It just need a little work on controls to make movement smooth and more responsive.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Love it! Ambitious, cool isometric perspective. Oozes with flavor.

drazil100 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:19pm

I really like the look of your game. (Blender?) got suck on corners and bars and doors and people. That music has got to go..

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Brilliant! The levels were nicely designed both graphically and content-wise.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Very fun game! Good idea leaving the water spot in the level two corridor, that helped a lot!

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Loved it! Pretty good polished, funny and good music. The riddles were fun and exciting, the strong drunkard made me laugh! Thank you!

Greetings, bruz

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Web version does not work. Says "out of memory"

Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:52am

If the web version gives you an "out of memory" error, try to run it in another browser. If that doesn't work, download the windows version. Sorry.

Dreschler says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Really, really nice game! The graphics are so awesome, the mood of the game too. Contratulations! I hope you have a nice position!

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:41pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Hyden says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Looks beautiful.

MementoGames says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:59am

Oh this a beautiful game!
This entry is just great. In all aspects. Well done!

joemid says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:56am

Almost completely realized. The first level felt very polished! The second level, a woman fainted at the sight of the rat and slid across the floor until she came to a stop in a doorway- barring completion of the level! At least I think so- I fooled around for 20 minutes, shifting and shaping, and then I gave up. Will try again in the future!

Green Soda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:24am

THIS IS A NICE TAKE ON THE THEME! well thought out concept and idea! Cool game. I like the graphics and the sound. The gameplay is great and well-executed. Kudos for it, your entry is very solid!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Cool game! Graphics are cute and audio creates a good ambient.
Couldn't manage to scape the dungeon, I will try harder! >:D

runvs says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:10pm

"webgl out of memory" :(

Fanatrick says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:50pm

I feel bad for giving up, but the level 2 was a little bit too much

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:32pm

FYI - Can't load it in WebGL, out of memory error stating that you need to allocate more memory. So I downloaded the game. While it looks great and the concept of the shapeshifting was a great idea, I just really couldn't figure out what I was suppose to be doing after I changed to a rat > to dog > to cat. controls were a bit difficult to use.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:28am

Good graphics, they are like mine :D
but there was a strange bug that made the girl on the second level begin to slide to some door after she fell unconscious.

denycetm says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:58am

Great art style and level design!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:21am

This was really nicely put together! Well done.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Awesome entry! The graphics are top, the music fits perfectly, as well as the theme.
All the fx, the atmosphere, everything is so well done is hard to believe it was made for a Jam. Good work!

ponk says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Super cool!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:21am

Great entry! Great in all ways!

There are some collision problems make the gameplay harder to progress :(

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:46pm

WebGL version crashed with Out of memory.

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:37am

What a great entry! There is a lot of charm to this game. I love the idea behind being able to transform into the different animals and things. It was cool escaping from jail that way, and it was interesting which being would work against others. Nice job!

May 6, 2016 @ 12:36am

This was amazing! Solid puzzle shapeshifting, great humor, but a bit on the buggy side. Had a character pass out, and their body flew across the world on level 2.

methylenblub says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:58pm

I have an out of memory error :(

dollarone says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:50am

sorry guys, wanted to play this but am getting the OOM error and don't have a windows box available. Will play when I do though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]