Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

NekoShift

by kostik1337 - Jam Entry

Once upon a time there was a little kitty called Chouhiro-nyan.
She lived in the Green Forest, eating mushrooms and apples, keeping the forest out of troubles.
One day, evil spirits have appeared in the woods to make the forest their haunt.
As the guardian of the Green Forest, Chouhiro-nyan bears a duty to banish these filthy spirits out of her home!
Chouhiro-nyan seeks for amber stones to transform herself in a magical girl for a short time and obtain superpowers.
She has ability to cast lightning charges while in catgirl form to expel your foes.
Beware! Spirits bite. Keep an eye on your HP level and use food to refill your health.
Save the Green Forest from doom!

Controls: arrow keys - move
Space - transform in a magical girl and fire lightnings

Written in python using pygame

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#262Graphics(Jam)3.84
#292Audio(Jam)3.36
#359Mood(Jam)3.33
#610Humor(Jam)2.30
#674Theme(Jam)3.16
#723Overall(Jam)3.04
#837Fun(Jam)2.75
#1062Innovation(Jam)2.20

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Loved the kitty sprite. It was a bit stiff in terms of controls and game play.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:05pm

Nothing too special about gameplay, but the graphics was amasing!

IDidGame says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:30pm

sweet!

Benjamin-L says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:44pm

The graphics are great!

AAGH Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Nice concept, I just wish the magical girl form either ran faster or fired more rapidly.

V4lesti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Nice, but I think the "cat girl" form is way too slow. That could have been interesting though, but you cannot transform back, so you are just stuck. The ray is also too slow to fire, getting you hit during casting, which is a bit frustrating.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Quite a cute game. Loving the graphics and music. Didn't quite get what I was supposed to do. It was fun to run around with the little kitty sprite. Didn't quite use the other shape.

Alphish says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:01pm

The game is really pretty, but falls rather short on gameplay - the catgirl form is much slower than cat and can't reliably keep the spirits away, especially with seemingly long recharge and attacking only the spirits she's facing (and there's no way to turn back to agile cat shape manually, either). After a few tries I managed to complete a level once, but then I failed again and don't really feel like trying anymore. ^^'
From minor qualms, the music (at least in menu) has audible loops, and the font was a bit hard to read.
Keep improving!

Cowa says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Very cute kitty cat :3

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:17pm

I really liked the art. Music are good too. You could increase the girl movement a bit. Congrats

Pusty says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Really cute game! Nice graphics, really good music. Great game! :D

mkghoster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Nice little game.
(Found the debug 'show colliders' key when spamming WASD :D)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:28pm

This is a Ghostbuster cat x)

Atridas says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Nice and sweet game. I loved the pixel art and the controls are responsive.

LeoM says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Cute graphics, lovely music.
Nice entry. :)

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Very nice graphics and audio, the atmosphere was lovely. Sadly for me, the game was immensely laggy, it was quite charming nonetheless.

plko says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Nekomimi is justice!!!
The last stage is a little difficult. Sprites seem to no limit, so the game becomes lag when stage start about destroy first portal, this is also making the difficulty from easy to lunatic, lag + large number of sprites, it's really hell.
But...Nekomimi moemoe :PPPP

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:35am

Cute graphics and nice sound.

Something I missed was the ability to transform back to a cat, missed to run away from the spirits ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]