Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Greedy Miners

by RafaSKB - Jam Entry

You play as a shapeshifting cave trying to defend itself from little greedy miners that want nothing but to get their hands on your crystal.
They are small, they are fast and they are clever. They will avoid your defenses and raid your resources, while doing a very annoying little dance. For how long can you survive this madness?

Use the arrow keys to change the cave's shape and activate traps.

Game made with the LibGDX framework (Java).

--- Credits ---
Game created by Rafa Skoberg - @rafaskoberg
Music created by Stephen D. Gibson - @R9cast

--- Updates ---
April 19th, 2016:
- Fixed some performance issues.
- Added a button to disable shaders, making the game run faster on old computers.
- Fixed a bug preventing the game window to be resized.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#27Audio(Jam)4.16
#27Overall(Jam)4.13
#33Graphics(Jam)4.51
#46Mood(Jam)4.07
#47Fun(Jam)3.96
#90Innovation(Jam)3.81
#93Humor(Jam)3.63
#199Theme(Jam)3.78

Comments

RttStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:09am

Really nice game, nice use of the theme. And really original! :)

Otis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:16am

Can't get off it. Playing nearly 30 minutes now. I can't win, but I want to. I will.

Well done game. No horrible glitches. Nice music and good, albeit simple, graphics. Lots of fun.

ramza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:37am

Overall a really solid game. I can't get enough of watching these fools die!

EighthNote says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:39am

Really well done! It all works great.

bagface says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28am

Great look and audio. Exciting gameplay. Good work!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:30am

Really fun. I especially liked that it kept my score, makes me want to beat it.

uchiro says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:46am

I really like the visual style. I became Ceratopsian, Sauropod and Mircosaur. I don't understand how to become a Pterosaur.
Ceratopsian killed Tyrannosaur. I didn't understand whether I took part in it and what to do next.

uchiro says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:47am

I'm sorry, I was wrong tab. Unfortunately I can not delete it.

aucguy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:49am

Fun and hard.

Geti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:55am

Fun :) Reminds me a little of adam atomic's temple defense game from a while ago, with more animation and fewer traps! Was fun while it lasted. Graphics and audio were pretty great.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:59am

Really interesting theme.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:48pm

That was...SO MUCH FUN!!! Thank you so much, I had a blast with this.

Looks great, sounds great, fun gameplay, neat application of theme. Quite funny, as well!

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Super cool! I found it a bit laggy, but otherwise very good experience.

Sean says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:42am

I like the visuals, very LIMBO-esque.

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Awesome Game! Love the inversed lemmings play style =)

indieyp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Simple and fun

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Damn those miners are really greedy !

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Really cool game. :) One of the few I've been compelled to play a few times for fun rather than just for rating. Really good job!

El Cabaro says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:50pm

The graphics really played into the mood and theme of the game, the angry little pikmin pivot guys made the game. Is it really possible to play beyond a couple minutes?? Very hard, very cool.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:59pm

Funny! Beautiful and polished graphics too!

tgrehawi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:27am

time: 3:12 kills: 808
Easily one of the most polished games in the jam; the audio is great and everything looks beautiful! Miner's deaths have never been more satisfying...
Integrating the cooldown indicators into the UI was a great touch; I'd love to see you turn this into something bugger post-jam!

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:58am

Thanks for the feedback guys! I had a LOT of fun developing Greedy Miners and I'm really glad you guys are having a good time playing it! =D

Populous90 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:12pm

IS GRAPHICS EVERYTHING?! think about it....?
IS GRAPHICS EVERYTHING?! think about it....?
IS GRAPHICS EVERYTHING?! think about it....?

rjhelms says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Great polish to this one. The delay in some of the keys taking effect was a bit frustrating at first, but once I got the hang of that, I found it brought some more depth to the gameplay.

mkghoster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Hahaha! This is so funny! :) And also great sound effects!

nk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Super neat! Really polished and it just plays and feels so good. Only real criticism is button mashing seems to be the optimal strategy (I made it 2 minutes w/ 350 dead miners just bashing all the arrows at once).

I really love the little grunts and squeaks the miners make!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Reminds of of Lemmings, if the lemmings were all jerks I wanted to kill. Nice art and sound and mood.

It did get a bit repetitive, though; basically whack a mole that eventually becomes impossible to keep up with. I would have liked to see miners who had varying AI or more things to hit them with, etc.

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Thanks guys! About button mashing, it's true to a point. Since the timings are all fixed, getting the right interval between traps is the key. Some random variation to the enemy flow would fix this problem.

After receiving so much positive feedback I'm believe it's a good idea to keep working on this game in the future, introducing different levels, different traps and especially different miners.

My goal was to provide a couple of minutes of fun to the players, and I hope I achieved that. Thanks for playing everyone! =)

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:27am

Awesome game! Gameplay, graphics and sound are spot on!

kaovhmf says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:54am

Quite solid game mate! Loved the idea behind it and it was realy well done!

thegunmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:32am

cool game, interesting use of the theme too. The graphics are amazing!

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:50am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:05am

Reminded me of Limbo, which was especially amazing, as I enjoyed that game, so the art here was particularly good. Music and sound effects really matched with the graphics as well and were very enjoyable, and while I would've liked more types of miners or more strategy in which traps I activated, the gameplay was still quite fun. Overall a fantastic entry!

BitDare says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:08am

This game was absolutely amazing. Great work.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:01pm

great visual and fun gameplay idea :)

May 3, 2016 @ 5:10am

All around nice fun game :) Good job!

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:59am

Well done. Very polished, with solid game-play. Very well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]