Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Escape

by WeaverDeveloper - Jam Entry

Shape Escape

Help your primitive friends escape through various high intensity puzzles and skill intensive challenges.

We regrettably didn't have time to source music, so start up your music player and play something upbeat! We also didn't have time to finish the third level :(

_______________

BUGS:
-Some people have experienced spawning multiple shapes inside each other on level one, but I haven't been able to replicate it. Hit escape and go back to main menu if this happens -- shouldn't happen when you try again.
-In large resolutions like 1080p the menu buttons may not function properly, since the hitboxes don't adjust accurately. Just try feeling your way around, clicking near the desired button.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#31Theme(Jam)4.24
#43Fun(Jam)3.98
#119Innovation(Jam)3.73
#121Overall(Jam)3.78
#304Humor(Jam)2.96
#370Graphics(Jam)3.63
#533Mood(Jam)3.12
#621Audio(Jam)2.54

Comments

brummer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:55am

We had fun creating this game, hopefully you'll enjoy it!

brummer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:24am

My current record is 2:08 on lvl2 by the way.
Get below 2 minutes and you are a real man. Or woman.

dwhiffing says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:23am

Excellent game! Deserves far more attention :)

Really liked the mechanics, very challenging and engaging!

Thanks, and well done!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:24am

Solid platforming game. Good job!

edgeofcode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:26am

Difficult and really good!

Dooskington says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:26am

Cool game!

merrak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:27am

I really enjoyed it.

Otixa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:35am

Really fun, loved the mechanics

dcolgan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36am

Great, awesome, I wish I had made it. The puzzles were challenging and innovative. The only problem I can think of is it is really hard to get the bar to line up to jump right. The tutorial is helpful.

freeloader says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:39am

Wow, It's creative, fun to player, and really, really polished!

I really enjoyed this moment:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wGojHvVyX1g

adrianolobo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:18am

Cool game, I really enjoy it.

Chaoclypse says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:36am

Awesome job, really cute graphics and an iterative mechanic! The start of the first level is pretty hard though, and afterwards it is much easier - would have been nice to see a gradual difficulty ramp.

However, even with that flaw it is still excellent! Nice job!

NPException says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:26am

This is absolutely brilliant! I love it :D
I realy hope that you will create more levels :)

Skruffye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Fun game, though very frustrating! Mechanics were interesting and it felt like an achievement when you completed sections of the levels.
Could definitely have done with some music, and perhaps a little more attention to the graphics.
Good job though! :)

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:41pm

I really liked the circle to stick transition - the jumping feels really good. I couldn't find a good use for the square most of the time, though.
The art is great, good consistent visuals.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Thanks for the feedback, there are a lot of plans in place to make the game better if we do decide to polish it more, but we aren't doing that while the jam is on.
For those wanting to see a sub-2minute time on level2: http://puu.sh/oooFy/192afff0d7.webm

psychonull says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:53pm

wow soo good game, my favorite entry so far, great idea and execution!

tompudding says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Wow that was amazing. Super polished, great use of the theme, addictive and fun! I love the blinky faces and the tutorial was a nice touch.

matt beckett says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Clever concept!

meisterfuu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Really cool shapeshifting game. Had fun playing it.

cudabear says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:22pm

A solid entry! I loved how it took time to plan and move around obstacles. It didn't really seem like the square had any unique purpose, however. The rectangle and the circle seemed to be able to get the job done on their own.

Graphics are nice, sound effects provided nice feedback on collisions and death. Well done!

Llucile says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Really neat gameplay ! The game is so cute ! It may be the one I tested I liked the most so far :)

Llucile says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Really neat gameplay ! Graphics are sweet and the game is so cute ! It may be one of the games I tested I liked the most so far :)

Llucile says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Really neat gameplay ! Graphics are sweet and the game is so cute ! It may be one of the games I tested I liked that the most so far :)

The Vall says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:02am

Challenging but fun game. Good use of the theme. The controls felt a bit sluggish at times but they worked perfectly.

icefallgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:35am

Really hard game, but overall really nicely done. The first idea I had for my game was very similar, but I didn't think I could execute it well. But you did! The faces on the shapes are a nice touch too. Smooth camera zoom was some nice polish.

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Cute graphics, nice physics!

goibon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Very fun mechanic, but a bit challenging to time the jumps when you're rolling fast. I rarely felt that I had to use the blue character.
I enjoyed the art style very much :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:25am

Great game. I could see this going well with some touch controls!

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:41am

Wow! I really really love this game,the mechanic are awemose and its quite chllenging!

Glaydur says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:54am

Really enjoyed the game! Art was simple but effective. Good job!

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:00am

A very solid game. The jumping mechanic was a great idea and it was executed very well. Some of the obstacles were pretty challenging but felt extremely rewarding when you got past them.

Asturk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:26am

Very creative and fun puzzle game! Well done, i really like the level designs and some phisics puzzle left me retrying for a while. Good job!

Mase says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:35am

The jumping is fun. And I love the stoic faces on the shapes.
I had to rage quit on level 2 though... the part around ~1:00 in your video with the platform moving over lava. Argh.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:57am

Your entry is by far the most engaging game I've played so far, very well done. Great level design!

Husky says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:52am

Wow, nice entry!

I like you use the 3 shapes as a simple physic mechanic, and it connected to they visual look, very intuition and easily understanding.

And the level design is also interesting, and very challenging.

Good job! :D

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:54am

Funny polished game! Mechanics are interesting.

suurin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:54am

Really nice mechanics you got there, I quite enjoyed it.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:21pm

Awesome game ! Really enjoyed those graphics and the gameplay is lovely, really enjoyable to make tricks, good control of the physic :D

ryjcio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Oh, I love it so much! Why there is no level 3, I would like to play more!

Very challanging for me, but balanced, that's a peace of game!

legavroche says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Love the game and art. Not sure if it's just me but I found level one difficult to pass. I enjoyed the challenge though

sndr says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:12am

I think it's really elegant and creative the way you use shapeshifting here as a mechanic! I've found several games where the new shape is different from the previous one, with a new set of skills, while what you do here requires the player to switch from one form to another in a certain moment, so that you use skills from both forms during the transition. One nice example is when the moving ball shapeshifts into the rectangle and that gives the rectangle some kind of pole vault movement.

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:16am

I love the mechanics! :D

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:54pm

Good on you to provide a tutorial!

terryg says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:45am

I had a lot of fun with this game. Of the games I have played, this really nailed the theme. Great job. Reminded me of little big planet.

neondx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:14am

GREAT CONCEPT! I LOVED IT! Better game for ludum 35 so far!!

Kep says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Neat concept, but it's too hard for me.
I found that I wanted the ball to just jump when transforming into a bar. As in always start vertical, but keep the same velocity.

pjimmy says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Very nice, cute visuals, creative gameplay, challenging but fun

Goutye says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Great experience, nice game. I had a fun to jump with the purple rectangle o/ Can be sometimes even cheaty! Well designed!

LeoM says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Great mechanics, very fun to play.

Lovely graphisms too. ;)

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:55pm

I loved playing this game! It's a great challenge, and really unique. Showing the arrows so players will know what orientation the rectangle will be when they shift to it is a brilliant touch that really makes the game. Awesome job!

Hectigo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Often you see games with kinda shoddy physics in game jams, but this was excellently done, one of the best examples of physics based gameplay I've seen. The levels were maybe a little bit too difficult, but never felt unfair, and there was a good amount of variation and every shape was useful. The character models are really fun too. With a bit of music and polish on the level graphics this would be a real winner.

torcado says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:41am

very nice game! controls felt really nice, and the game was very polished. good job

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Frustrating...but, F-U-N! :D haha liked it :D played it while in class :P my professor liked it too :D

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:46am

très fun et très propre ! bravo

medidog says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:49am

I had real fun playing this game, I think the most innovative way to use shapes (especially the long rectangle one) and cool physics!

Kerdelos says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:11pm

This is really fun and could be even more fun if a little more fast paced I think. Great job !

PowerSpark says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Awesome game! It's very difficult at some points but it's still great.

curtamyth says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:54am

I've played several games with similar "switch between shapes with different powers" mechanics but this is the best of them I've played. Good job :)

jk5000 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:58am

A simple idea, made into a great game. Well done.

Uson Chen says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Very funny game! The shift between sphere and stick is imaginativeļ¼In other side, cube is a little bit useless. Great level design and to the theme!

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Really fun to play, level design is cleverly done and challenging! Couldn't get past level 2, though. :P

The graphics are cute and, albeit simple, really charming! :) Nice choice for sound effects too!

Great entry! Congrats on your first LD! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]