Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

dungeon of the shapeshifter by Naweed - Benoit

by SIN Gaiiden2 - Jam Entry

Welcome to the insanely difficult dungeon of the shapeshifter.
You can try to get out, but you will probably destroy your PC out of frustration before getting to the end.
Play as tiny thief Tim who can steal the shape of his opponents by hitting them with magic bullets.
Discover a story full of romance, action, humour, gorgeous landscape and magnificient soundtracks (not really).

Can you defeat the master of the dungeon ?

(the answer is clearly no, we didn't scratch him ourselves).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#352Humor(Jam)2.80
#514Theme(Jam)3.38
#523Fun(Jam)3.14
#611Mood(Jam)3.00
#751Overall(Jam)3.00
#845Innovation(Jam)2.67
#865Graphics(Jam)2.74

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:07am

ok game, good / ok graphics, not too bad!
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Simple, but nice! I just think it's a little hard! But ok! I spent some minutes on it.

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Simple and cool game. Good job.

fizzhog says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:13am

Too hard. Maybe varied difficulty for a baby like me? :) Really would be improved with addition of sound.

Nexus64 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:50pm

I think it need polish, like abilities for the transformations.

ryjcio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Sadly, it is not working at my computers.

Tested on Windows 7 & 8. Both with Intel HD Graphics. There is no error or even alert. It just keep trying to run application, but it's endless.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Nice game ! Maybe the graphics could have more neat but liked this !

ajhc says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Pretty nice, you seem to have put quite a bit of work into this! The fact that enemies move so fast and randomly is a big part of the difficulty. Not sure if I like that or not, honestly. It does feel pretty irritating and I stopped playing after quite a short time because I didn't feel invested enough to work through the kinda irritating mechanics.

Still an impressive amount of work though! Shapeshifting was cool and being able to use other enemies' abilities gave it some real meaning.

Muciojad says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Huh that is difficult! I tried so much times to finish this one but I don't know if this is feasible at all :D

Dreschler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:13pm

I like the way you build that game. Oldschool games are always a good shot :D

JoseArias says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Nice game! A bit difficult the bullets part

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:26pm

It's hard to play. The player wont face the direction you are going sometimes.

Szabin says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Nice concept and graphics! Maybe a few more animations wouldn't hurt, but it's still nice. :)

May 3, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Fun game.

Its *really* easy.
I managed to finish it all in one go.

On a more serious note, the game was actually fun... Although hard games... Really aren't my thing it was an interesting play. The graphic were good but you need to remember to orient the mice and other stuff correctly or at least flip it so the sprite looks in place because a backwards walking mice...

Anyways good job.

CheesyRamen says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Insanely hard, but fun! Nice job!

stalker1586 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:51pm

An interesting game in the oldschool style. It would be great to play this on android.

Yetikatt says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:10pm

Great Game, nice concept and design. Very challenging, but it would be good to get some checkpoints in for the bad players like me :D
All in all a brilliant entry, great job! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]