Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Space Dimension

by bigbatardyt - Jam Entry

Space Dimensions is a top down scroller SHMUP, or not exactly ...

*---AVOID SPOILERS---*
By pressing shift, you'll add the third (Z) dimensions, and shift to a third person game.
*---AVOID SPOILERS---*

The goal is to master this transition, to get to the end of the level.
A tutorial and 2 levels are available !

Because I'm not a sound designer, neither a 3D artist, and because i was all by myself, i used some free asset, and some songs i enjoyed playing with.

Here is my first jam !
It's made with ue4 (Unreal Engine 4), Hope you'll enjoy it !

ONLY THE LEVEL 2 WORKS FOR MAC DEVICES !!

BE AWARE THIS IS A TRY HARD GAME !!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#329Innovation(Jam)3.30
#477Mood(Jam)3.18
#488Graphics(Jam)3.42
#569Overall(Jam)3.22
#587Theme(Jam)3.30
#682Fun(Jam)2.95

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:32am

Love the graphics, music, and mood. But it was pretty difficult to play. The shooting directions was unintuitive to me. I also had trouble moving around obstacles quickly enough. Other than that... Great job.

_beta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:37am

Kindo off difficult to play, but nice graphics and ideas

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:52am

I saw the twitch and I came to play your game, it worked a little slow on my Mac :( but it's great

Tygrak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:17am

The game was very difficult for me, but it looks good and has a cool mechanic.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:30am

Love the art, Great work!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:34am

Really cool Idea, but its hard to play, some times the time to shift is to short. Shooting is unintuitv.

Przekop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:05am

Looks great, sounds cool. But the fact that you have to mash w or s to go up/down in 3d mode was quite unpleasant, and at fist it is too dark.

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:38am

Graphics and music are great, its very difficult to play in 3D and dodge the walls.

staircase27 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:39am

Very difficult to play. Couldn't work out how to move properly

notime4games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:59am

I like the idea of switching between first person and side scroller.
However I never got past the first wall, tried 10 times to get it right. Seems you need to mash w and s to go up/down in first person mode? I'm missing something here I'm sure

Drenghel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:01am

Liked to idea a lot, but yeah, pretty hard to control.
And for some reason, I couldn't see the right part of the screen. Probably blocking me from see the Shifting jauge.

And I had a bug during tutorial, the last message panel refused to go away even with spamming the Enter key.

Still, congratz :)

Saymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:01am

Great work, but i had trouble with the obstacles in the beginning.

Red15 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:05am

A real challenge to play, the relation shooting direction is a weird one, perhaps switch together with shifting or make it scroll from the top instead of the right

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:30am

Top marks for music, graphics and concept, but too many frustrating elements with the controls and gameplay to enjoy fully. For example, you need to press 'up' to fire forward in 2D mode - it should be 'right'. Also, I couldn't figure out how to change height in 3D mode, and switching to it from 2D mode seemed to reset it every time, making it impossible to progress.

Kazetsukai says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:52am

Didn't understand the controls very well, holding up didn't seem to make me go above the wall?

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:13pm

nice graphics and mood. its a cool game

whilefun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:55pm

The graphics and music were really good. I found the pace of the movement between 2D and 3D shift too sudden, and always failed to pull up in time. I think a slower transition zone or more advanced "shift coming" warning could make this more approachable. Very cool idea!

Lokkij says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:24pm

This is a great entry. The core idea of shifting between 2D and 3D is well-executed and very fun. It suffers from occasionally unintuitive controls and the connection between the 2D and 3D versions of the world is sometimes unclear, making it difficult to predict what the other mode will look like. Still, the great idea and level design make up for this. Great job!

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Cool with the transition, but moving up and down with the ship in first persion view was too slow, I crashed all the time... :'(

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Pretty cool game, tough the control were a little too wonky for me. It's hard to control the ship properly. Anyway, good job with the game!

davor10105 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Quirky mechanics, but very interesting indeed

MattThePie says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:15pm

This is really sweet man, well done. I'm sooo bad at it though!

Scoff Studios says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Difficult indeed!

Odyssey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:29am

Very difficult and the controls were a bit off, but cool mechanic

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:19am

this is an amazing game, with some more love this could be an even more amazing game.

TriSquare says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:20am

Very nice graphics and music I still don't understand the controls and I had trouble with the first few levels

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:48am

Very interesting mechanics. The UI is a little bit confusing and it's kind if hard to see your bullets. but I really liked the idea =)

RetroSpecter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:01am

It is a pretty cool concept, though a little bit rough around in the execution. The gameplay is a bit confusing at first and very difficult. I wish I could just shift at will. But its super cool on the graphics and design end.

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:35am

Its too difficult for me, but idea with shifting is very cool!

mactinite says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:43am

Great job! Pretty difficult for me.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:43am

Really fantasy graphics.

Adipson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:18am

good job

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:18am

Super awesome games. However sometimes you just cannot see bullets of the enemies.

TeamLambda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Nice graphs, everything looks very good!
However I had a hard time to navigate and avoid the obstacles in 3D.
The idea of shifting dimensions is really nice :)

Mordokay says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Great idea and an even greater execution .. good job!

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:30pm

I love the 3d/2d switching - the 3d seconds look awesome.
I found that the shooting felt really awkward, and the bullets moved to fast to dodge, so every fight feels like shooting the enemies until one of you dies. A quick restart key would also be really cool!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:50pm

the art style and music really makes it shine :D

orukinawa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:39pm

The wall reflections make it a bit confusing but also give a trippy feel to the game, I like that

MintArcade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Little bit hard at first, but it's great!

ohmaigawd says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:48pm

The game was quite hard to play and I needed some time to figure it out. But after I did it became quite fun! I loved the kinda psychedelic effect when I was in 3D mode :)

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:13pm

The graphics were awesome and I think you took shapeshifting in a unique way. Nice job! I did notice though that pressing "D" didn't slow down the ship, it sped it up and caused some shape shifting problems. Other than that, awesome game!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:13pm

This game is great on the graphics side of things, but the gameplay wasn't there, it was immediately far too challenging, but it was fun nonetheless, and the atmosphere was great.

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:26am

Great mechanics, shifting in perspective. Gameplay is excellent, a bit hard. Idea is very good though.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:52am

Nice game concept!

tsjost says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:34am

Could you make a Linux version?

Adipson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:41am

Bravo pour ce jeu, et encore merci à toi pour ton test video ! c'etait vraiment fun de te voir jouer à Shapeshift for cheese en direct avec ma petite souris sur twitch ! :)

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Great job with the 2D/3D shifting. Sadly the game wasn't performing well on my PC, plus the UI buttons and text didn't align well in window mode (so text especially were going off the right of the screen).

The music was nice but there needs to be a different sound for enemy bullets and player bullets, else it's confusing who is firing and when.

madalaski says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Graphics and music are sublime. Unfortunately, I found the gameplay quite difficult as there was little indication as to when obstacles were coming up and the Screen Size was a little bugged out so I couldn't see the "Shift" meter. Nevertheless very good game.

Patomkin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:23pm

The idea is very interesting and could definitely work (as 3D shift shows), but 2D shooting is very weakly implemented :( the enemies shoot really fast, you shoot really fast, something happens, and then you switch to the amazing 3D part. Rework the 2D part and this could become a very interesting game :)

PoV says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:11pm

When you see this, contact me. http://ludumdare.com/compo/contact/

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Interesting idea, a good prototype! At the beginning of lacking tips.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Cool game mechanic, hard game. The walls in 3d space could have been a bit more forgiving (would have preferred something like e.g in star fox, if you hit an object, you would fly through it but take damage still). Overall graphics, audio and the overall game is awesome.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:08am

Looks and sounds great and has an interesting mechanic, but it was difficult to understand when enemies were shooting me sometimes, and the controls were pretty touchy in 3D mode. It's a great concept, but I think it probably just needs more than a weekend allows to really get it working in a fun and intuitive way.

subpixel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:33am

I really like the concept for this, but the mechanics are still too shaky to enjoy: in level 1, I can get past the first shift, but I have no clue what's going on after that and I just die repeatedly :(

Seriously though, I love the concept, I hope you move it along further!

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:36am

Interesting game, but too hard to really give it a go.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:25am

This is a neat game! I love the game mechanic!

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:29am

Really cool game :)

batmanasb says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:55am

Sadly I wasn't able to run the game in WINE on linux, but from what I saw in the streams, it's a clever concept, Definitely rare to see a game with 3D and 2D.

The game itself looked fun but a little artificially hard due to the vertical movement speed, and the fancy UE4 lighting effects worked wonders on the mood and look of the game, but also made the shots very hard to see.

Green Soda says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:47am

AWESOME GAME ENTRY!! The idea is pretty interesting and genius... but the learning curve is steep... y'know, it's one of those games tht's easy to learn but hard to master... xD Interesting overall.. great game... one of my favorite concepts so far!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:52am

Neat game, very original mechanic and good take on the shapeshifting them. Polished graphics too.
However I found it a bit difficult. In my opinion, the most hard task to do is to predict when to change between 2D and 3D, if you could anticipate somewhat when to change between dimensions it would be great.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Interesting concept, Super Paper Mario meets SHMUP!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:02pm

Really fun game! I especially liked shifting between 2D and 3D, very creative! I am UE4 dev myself and I can tell you did a very good job. Thanks for the great entry!

marmpa says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:41pm

This game is incredible.It is far the best game i rated. The fact that you can go from 2d to 3d is so cool.REally nice job.

davidB says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:22pm

in 3D view, I can move up or down (zqsd) the ship rotate but it doesn't up/down.
in 2D view, the fire doesn't shoot always in the same direction for the same key.

Thanks for the tuto.


I play 64bit on Window10 with zqsd.

Hyden says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Was fun, I suck at shmups clearly xD

Mikaza says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Juste awsome !!!!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:53pm

A big tough for others game devlopers to compete. Great graphics and cool mechanics

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:19pm

It was really difficult to play and it wasn't particularly intuitive. That said, it was a neat concept

Xanjos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:14am

Game is insanely hard but I absolutely loved the transitions between 2D and 3D gameplay.

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:19am

Great looking game, but a whee bit to hard. I had fun playing it

Tselmek says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:37am

Saw it played on stream and it was pretty cool, sadly it is immensely laggy on my craptop and is completely unplayable :/

mkghoster says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Really liked the 2D-3D shifting but the game is waaaay to hard and unforgiving...

Aaranos says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:24am

Neat game. I think the menus need keyboard support. Using the mouse to restart after each death gets tedious due to the difficulty.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]