Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

MoveARound

by Pecolyte - Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare. And sorry for my pool English.

The game is bacially a platformer. Round to move and square to stop, switch between them to make progess, stop in the light to complete the level.
Staying on different ground will change your 'material' between wood, ice and earth(yeah, earth, not stone), which will vary the controlling.
I tried to make some BGM but end up making only three sound effects.
Some levels are pretty hard, even after I adjusted the platforms...anyway, enjoy!

If you get stuck and want to see other features, you can watch playthrough instead

Added the drag of the sqare mode as @HoldMeImScared, which will make it much easier, I think..
Download here
Windows:https://www.dropbox.com/s/11k1sneess742me/MoveARound_1.zip?dl=0
OS/X:https://www.dropbox.com/s/jism0yi24m1d6f0/LD35_MoveARound_1.app.zip?dl=0
Linux:https://www.dropbox.com/s/cmregdq3h7gvzaa/LD35_MoveARound_1.zip?dl=0

P.S. Special thanks to SoM(fall_ark), without whose videos I wont be acknowledged of Ludum Dare.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#226Innovation3.52
#232Theme3.72
#289Overall3.41
#325Fun3.34
#332Graphics3.33
#427Humor2.30
#465Audio2.71
#481Mood2.92

Comments

Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:16pm

I got as far as the 2nd level where you can transform into rock. I died somewhere among the long sequence of grass jumps.

I like your concept, and the powers (though I did not get to experience ice). I also liked the floating instructions in relevant places when introducing new mechanics :)

The controls are a little tough, though. It's not easy to predict how far you'll move, which makes planning jumps and stops difficult, which can be an issue in a platformer.

It almost seems like it's based upon platform length, as I'd slide for days on long platforms, but could sometimes manage not to fall off a small one. I spent a lot of time on the first earth transformation level just trying to get down the 1 tile gap, even on later attempts.

I'd suggest toning down the amount of sliding, at least for grass and earth platforms, and see what can be done to make movement more consistent and predictable to the player

That said, congrats on your first LD! It's my first, too. Yours is a cute little game, with a good concept, and it feels very nice to finish something, doesn't it?

pkenney says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:07am

Excellent first compo entry. Cool concept and great look.

The controls could be smoother, I had a lot of frustrating deaths where I meant to do one thing, but another thing happened.

However, the positives of game made up for that!

I did hit a difficulty bump in the second level another commenter said, but I pushed past that and got to the last level. I nearly beat it, but I couldn't quite get there.

Well done!

Linver says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Nice idea and art!
But controls is VERY hard. Every level have *I cann't stop into this light problem* xD
But really good feel of adding new features.

hijomo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:23pm

nice concept. I think the core idea is really cool,

Inateno says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:34pm

Hey, nice job. This is very innovative and I really enjoyed it.
But I've got some problems with controls, it's hard to jump when the ball is rolling sometimes it does sometimes nop.
Got stucked on level 3.
Anyway Well done, and very good for a first compo entry

Fabraz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:22pm

A perfect example of a simple, but intriguing concept that with time could be pushed much further! (Y)

ougrouk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Nice game overall, but controls are really hard.

adam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Really clever use of the theme. I thought there was the potential for some interesting puzzles but I guess you didn't have time to explore it as much as you would like. Ice/water seemed to have too much flexibility compared to the others which made the final level feel too much like a regular platformer (although it was a relief after trying to accurately judge all the grass circle jumps!)

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Nice game bro i like graphics, sounds, game mechanics. It is simple but challenging, very good job really has potential.

Henry00 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:16pm

The only thing that is a little sad is that it's really finicky to get into the beam, sometimes took me nearly 2 minutes to finally stay in the light.

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:54am

Interesting concept and I especially like the idea of using fire to get a water blob.

It's also quite funny that this

> pool English

is about the only mistake in your description :) Don't write something like that. Your English is fine.

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:59am

It's a simple but nice game mechanic. And it plays really well. It's one of the best entries I've seen so far, this is really playable and makes fun.

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:07am

I thought this was a great game. Using simple mechanics and clear rules, it made for some very interesting puzzles. Only real problem I found was that sometimes when being an icecube and wanting to touch fire to become water you just became insta-killed instead of turning to water. Was especially frustrating in the last level.

Graphics did the job. Pretty minimalist in the sound department... could've used a little background music. But, overall - I enjoyed this game enough to make me NEED to finish it. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]