Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

DYEL

by ayewyn - Jam Entry

Click your way to mad gains and ask yourself the only question worth asking.

Do You Even Lift?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#102Humor(Jam)3.61
#388Mood(Jam)3.29
#431Overall(Jam)3.35
#528Fun(Jam)3.13
#544Theme(Jam)3.35
#688Graphics(Jam)3.09
#731Innovation(Jam)2.83
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

bigmangames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:57am

OP is a beta.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:43am

shit! like one of the best games I've played hahaha

So good!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Sweet game. Bought cool tunes, made mad gains. What else could you ask for?

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:04am

He lifts...

ramza says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:04am

I really liked this one. A simple idea, but the humor and art made it something unique.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:29am

Muscles so confused! MAD GAINZ!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:55am

awesome game, simple but very good and nicely executed
play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

RegaCaska says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:31am

I like the art style, and the direction you took the theme. I didn't think about "Shapeshift" that way! Got a good amount of options in as well.

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:23pm

I could not get "gym bros"... :/

http://i.imgur.com/x7yfCps.png

Good game, I would have liked this would have been more polished, with a clear goal and a clear end. For example being the champion bodybuilder in the country. I'm a fan of the cookie clicker.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:25am

Well er, reps for Jesus I guess? I think music would have helped a bit but I kept hoping my guy would actually gain muscle after a while! I'll lift forever at this rate. Still for a quick clicker, it's not bad. Graphics are kinda funny considering how wimpy this fellow is. You made this in UDK? I'm surprised, I didn't realize it did 2D this well. @bytedesigning / Ashley

thebrainfuse says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Apparently I do even lift, thank you for this.

Swynfel says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:29am

Cool little game.

You should have worked more on the balance and progress curve. The beginning is a little slow, but right after you can buy everything in no time.

Very responsive "clicks", and okay graphics. The different lifting animations is a good idea. However there hardly is any difference in gameplay when you switch (or I didn't notice). Maybe have the muscles increase depending on what you did ? Or give different "money" ? I don't know...

The game feels a little empty for a game made for a jam. Having the game a little more balanced, having unlock-able upgrades, or including a little variation could have helped, but it's hard to make a idle game stand out.

Good luck for your future games !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]