Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Warp

by Mordokay - Compo Entry

Shape Warp:

Shape Warp is an alternative runner game where you shift between different shapes in order to match obstacles coming your way.

Infinite game with increasing level of speed where you try each time to beat your High Score.

Tools:
Unity 5.3
Audacity
Blender
Paint.NET

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#119Audio3.53
#120Theme3.90
#325Humor2.59
#392Mood3.03
#409Overall3.28
#423Fun3.20
#448Graphics3.05
#562Innovation2.95

Comments

Yarg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:14am

Its very hard to aim! I wish there will be a shadow or something that will help me.

Mordokay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Ups .. had the wrong google drive version ... the older version was very hard to aim yes. The version "Alpha 2" was way better .. fixed now.

knason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:41pm

I liked your game, its a great idea, and its fun with all the different kinds of stuff to catch and so. One thing but its a matter of taste, I would have liked to just have the arrow keys to move and toggle the different shapes with just one key but thats just because I have trouble handle so many different controls without messing it all up. :) Good job!

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Hey not too bad. Took me a bit to figure out what it was I was doing exactly but once I did it was pretty good. Suggestion might be to change the color of the shapes (holes?) I'm running into, it was difficult to see the gray color

Pellanor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Solid game. Could have used a bit more difficulty scaling. After my first attempt or two, I almost never lost health unless I got the keys mixed up. Got to 1377 points.

Per says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:03pm

The game idea is very good and fits the theme perfectly. Music is awesome (what tool did you use for that btw?).
You could improve it by increasing the speed over time for example.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Very nice concept! I feel like it's abit too easy though, but that might just be me! :D

Good job!

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:09pm

I thought the basic gameplay of dodging and ducking into the right holes and selecting the right shapes was excellent and really compelling. Found it hard to stop playing and actually found myself wishing it would speed up a bit as I was really getting into it. Music was great too. Really strong entry. I can second some people's opinions about maybe indicating the holes better, perhaps color coding around the rims?

Mordokay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:18pm

The game speeds up .. but maybe it takes too long to speed up. If you select Fast Mode from the options it gets a lot faster.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Nice idea, I like the SMB references.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:32am

Haha! We had similar ideas. Try out my game! Nice execution of this concept.

Mordokay says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:34am

yeah we did :) your 2D approach was very nice! Really fun to play!

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:00am

Fun game! Switching quickly between shapes in a line was really difficult without being able to memorize a pattern or have it go along to a beat or something, can't always see the next shape in line clearly enough.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:32am

A little hard the see the transparent shapes, especially while they are spinning. Audio was awesome, great job.

avoidwallcrew says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:17am

Awesome submission, fun to play. Got high score of 85.

lumscum says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:03pm

Simple but fairly fun! It was sometimes a little difficult to determine the depth of some of the objects. I missed out a some coins or shapes because I thought they were further away than they actually were!

schw3de says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:01pm

A solid entry! Gj!

justacookie says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:05pm

Nice game ,cool music and good graphics. I enjoyed playing it! Once you figured out which key stands for which shape it gets a little too easy. I guess it would better if the game speed would constantly increase.

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:47am

Nice game! Fun and easy to play, hard to master changing shape in the right time.

May 2, 2016 @ 1:17am

Really nice compo entry. The concept is pretty interesting, theme-related and particullary well executed. I enjoyed playing this game a lot : it's addictive, really fun to play and I had the feeling that I was better on each try so the game is challenging in a good way. Stellar job on Audio too, it really adds to the mood.

Szabin says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Hard but fun! :)

eric777 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:49pm

1675 - first try.

This was extremely well done. I like games where I don't have to obsess about the instructions to just play it. This game was original, yet the how-to-play was quickly self-evident. Great gfx, great music. I did feel the sfx didn't quite match the mood created by the visuals and music (sfx sounded a bit looney tunes, where the gfx/music were more abstract/modern).

Difficulty scaled really well. That's something I don't do well at all, so I appreciate when I see that. There was no frustration getting going, and the harder challenges felt like they were coming to me at the right time - before I got comfortable, but not so soon to be frustrating.

This would have been a great job as a team entry. As a solo entry, it's quite excellent.

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:03pm

I only played a little, but it was decent. I liked the instructions, they explained the game well. And the controls felt natural. The only thing that was weird was that there's really only four "slots" for up/down/left/right, but graphically it looks like movement should be smooth since you're smoothly floating forward. It's much better to jump to align with the shape holes than it would be to have to do that manually, but it still feels a bit weird.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]