Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Prehistoric Shifter

by IvanFon - Jam Entry

Consider this more of an early prototype (there are a lot of bugs and it's definitely un-finished). This was our first Ludum Dare and we didn't have much experience with the tools and constantly ran into problems. But hey, at least we made something. We may develop a post-mortem version later when we have more time.

If you stay in one form for too long, you start losing health.

===CONTROLS===
Arrow keys to move
C to spawn an enemy
Space to attack
1-3 to shapeshift into a different form
G to turn god mode on/off

===Tools Used===
Game engine: Superpowers
Art: the Superpowers asset pack (we didn't make it)
Sound effects: sfxr
Music: Ableton Studio

===CREDITS===
Ivan Fonseca - Programming, Sound Effects
Nova Kelly - Programming
Ryan Torrington-Smith - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#551Audio(Jam)2.81
#577Humor(Jam)2.38
#680Theme(Jam)3.15
#895Mood(Jam)2.57
#956Innovation(Jam)2.47
#1040Fun(Jam)2.38
#1128Overall(Jam)2.49

Comments

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:38am

Cool theme and I like the game play. I bugged it out once though, the enemies spawned on top of my head and I couldn't move but also wasn't taking damage.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:25am

I like the idea. If you keep developing this I'd definitely be interested in playing some later versions

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:22am

shame that you didn't finish this
idea is interesting, gfx is really nice
maybe you can still finish it and post a postmortem version..

Krammetje says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:02pm

The idea is funny, but like stated it doesn't look finished. Could probably be a fun game though.

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:10pm

The game isn't complete, clearly...

Rafos Games says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:38pm

I hope you continue to complete this game in the futur, because the concept is cool =)

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Goof job for your first LDJAM.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Interesting idea. The issue is that it gets a little repetitive after a while.

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:39pm

If this was expanded upon, it could be really good.
Nice art though.

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Interesting game, but it was a bit buggy, keep it up! bro!

sndr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:42pm

I think it's a cool concept and the gameplay could really work. It has potential!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Alot of technical issues to iron out, which I'm sure you're aware of since you included a god mode button. Kinda too early to judge for sure. Nice pixel art though.

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:37am

Really good job i like it this game please more update.

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:38am

Congrats on your first LD! I really like the character designs.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:52am

Nice concept and love that art. The music was pretty good as well. Worth developing in my opinion.

LinealGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:55pm

I thought the graphics were awesome and would definitely be interested in playing a more developed version

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description
p.p.s. is it multiplayer ?

IvanFon says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:08am

Thanks for the offer! The game is on Indiexpo at "http://www.indiexpo.net/en/games/prehistoric-shifter". No, the game is not multiplayer.

blaclegi says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Good idea - it could be really interesting if you developed it further.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:56am

I really love the art and animations, but i kill the first oponent and then nothing happen

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]