Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Under The Tree

by Feng - Compo Entry

Control:
Left/Right Arrow or A/D
if nothing happens, just click inside of the game area.

About:
Under The Tree is an experimental feel-based story telling game, leaves plenty of bandwidth for your imagination. Just be patient for the tree to grow.

Windows version is recommended, for less bugs than the web version.

This is my first time to Ludum Dare, hope you will enjoy my game and have fun! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Mood4.12
#116Graphics3.88
#173Innovation3.63
#387Overall3.30
#520Theme3.28
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

aegypticus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:10am

I have to say that this was an excellent game. Kind of long, but worth it. The style, mood, and simple story were really awesome. And the theme was, if not overtly, present.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:45am

wonderful idea,and amazing amibent... day and night、breath and muse...home-a snug nest with new friend; everywhere let me fancy and every pixel all soliciting idea.
day pass with each passing day
a great game which give peace/revery to me.
love it.♡

jerryzhao says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:33am

I like the artistic conception of the game, it is the similar experience with the iOS game ”Mountain“, but I still prefer the human( I like the aged pixel), the dog ,the tree, life is always a tough.

WayneTao says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:42am

that is great

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:11pm

the minimalistic design is great!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:40pm

The little animation details are cool :)

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:57am

目前已经成老大爷了。像素画面和动画很专业,游戏体验就是左右行走吗?

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Very clever little game, themed very well

plaguespark says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:28am

I come into house and hero starts to switch light on and off! No UBOA yet...

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:49am

Deep bro

wtfrara says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:40am

This has a great ambience.

Wahooney says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:55am

Interesting, if a bit long. I love the dog :D

zillix says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:28am

very beautiful. loved the simplicity.

Rakowu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:05am

Best ppart is the dog. I like the concepto and the grafic. Also the smart little behaviur of dog and plants are really good. But maybe should be mor interaction. It look like more as a movie. But great idea. Nice

BitDare says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:08am

I didn't play long for I was in a rush but I loved the concept a lot.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:26pm

Very nice game, it has a great mood, just to slow for me, but that is just my personal preference.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Loved it! Oh and the simple yet incredible artwork! Really enjoyed it!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Weird experience. Looks great but it is really slow, so not for everybody. Interesting but I wish there was more to do. I guess I'm not a patient enough guy ;)

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Very interesting and unique game! It's really valuable when someone tries something this different, the experience was really singular. The calm and relaxed mood is nice, as well as the graphics which are really simple yet very consistent! Congratulations on this one!

ShadowTemplar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:48pm

I liked the simplicity and animations.Great idea, but a bit too slow and lack of interaction distracted from the mood.

wissuk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:32pm

This is something else, I love it so much. My favourite entry so far! :D

antglynn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:37pm

This really is a lovely entry.

hregrin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Nice idea, but I am pretty sure the meaning would have transpired just as fine in half the time. Right now, despite the warnings, it still feels a bit like a waiting game. Enough to leave me guess the end while waiting, and that is, in my opinion, detrimental to the experience. Which is sad, because it is well and carefully crafted.

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Lovely game, a bit slow at the beginning though. I know that was intentional, but I was quite close to quitting before the dog showed up. Mood was really pleasant and bitter-sweet.
Good job. :)

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:18am

I like your interpretation of the theme! I do wish the tree and house were closer, so everything can be zoomed in larger. It looks very small, and I want to be able to get a great look at this tree that's growing.

joemid says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:53pm

Most moving game that I have played in this LD so far. Great job! Holistic!

mar3k says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Cool idea, but I feel like it might not be the best for LD, because lot of ppl won't wait I feel like, I actually did, but was doing other stuff on my 2nd monitor, which is not the best imo. It is quite atmospheric, but some nice quite music in the background would be really nice addition, also if it was not for the comments I would probably end the game in first few minutes. Anyhow, nice idea, original and the animations are cool as well, but might be relaying on the imagination and patience way too much, maybe some other actions happening in there like having the character from when he/she was young and then ppl leaving the house and graves appearing under the tree, season changing, birds flying by might make it lot better. Good job though.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:04pm

It seems more to be a concept realisation than a game, but the animation mechanic is really good. :)

Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:32am

Interesting. I like quiet it is, and the details that you choose to focus on.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:59pm

nice story but a little to slow in the development , i really enjoy you simple graph style

TinyHugger says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:37am

Beautiful.

PinkIndian says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:48am

Easily one of my favourites. A great concept and overall execution. Amazing how you managed to tell so sad story told with such minimalistic visuals.

frondeus says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Holy. Simple but deep. Nice work!

knason says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:45pm

really moody and the graphics works real good. Great job! Congrats on your entry

flummox3d says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:57am

Simple, yet really atmospheric. Awesome work! :)

wg_phancock says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:24am

Atmospheric and interesting. I do worry it might be too slow paced for your average LD voter to play through. Some more stuff going on here and there, or more of a hint at a story earlier, would probably help it feel more alive and draw the player in better so they stick around for the full experience.

DesignerNap says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Nice entry, great tone. A little long but I think that adds to the overall tone.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]