Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Boat!

by Kaffeefleck - Jam Entry

Yes, it's not pretty.
Yes, it's very rough.
Yes, it's very short.

But we were a team of two developers learning Phaser (a HTML5 game engine) with this project while also developing a new Photoshop centric workflow, where we utilize the nodejs API to use Photoshop as our game editor (a big shout-out to @JoeManaco, who came up with the workflow idea).

The sources for the whole Photoshop-Workflow-Stuff can be found here:
- Devi (PS -> assets/json): https://github.com/burningtreeio/devi
- Devi-Phaser (assets/json -> Phaser): https://github.com/burningtreeio/devi-phaser

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#945Innovation(Jam)2.49
#1095Theme(Jam)2.11
#1129Fun(Jam)2.08
#1177Overall(Jam)2.13
#1979Coolness24%

Comments

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:37am

Nice. But I need more challenging levels :)

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:45am

Nice concept!! If it was a little bit longer it could make a great game. Good work tho :)

Inateno says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:37pm

was a little hard to find how it's work :/

Larzan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:05pm

I like the game mechanic idea a lot, you should make a few more levels.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:13pm

The game mechanic is really cool, I had some time trouble understanding wich shape was attracting me. Could make a great game with a few more levels

Jun & Pate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:07am

I agree that the concept is good, and you guys are on to something, but it needs a little challenge and refinement (which you already stated).

tjxx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:46am

Short, but fun game, I liked it! Could use some more levels and the images failed to load for me. Nice job :)

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:13am

I managed to beat it but I'm not exactly sure how the game works yet.. Also no shapeshifting

IvanFon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:15am

This is an awesome concept! While a few more levels would be great for showing off a demo, this shows it off pretty well. I would love to see you expand on and polish this a bit more.

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:14am

Very intreging how you hooked up node to PS. Love that this game is open source and you used Phaser. Looking forward to what you do next time!

BitDare says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:50am

Nice game mechanic despite the lack of content. Everyone understands how limited time can feel :)

Wahooney says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:15am

Possibly a bit too short.

ragnta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:06am

It's too simple :( I missed the more challenging levels.

cudabear says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:28pm

This is an awesome idea! It's a shame you didn't make any more levels. Still, a great game for learning a new engine and workflow. Well done!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Nice concept :)

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:59pm

The idea is ok, but more complexity is needed.

kik0729 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:42pm

It's a neat concept

xandy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:48pm

liked the idea once i got the controls but it was way too short

agilejoshua says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Needs sooo many more levels... :) still good to submit forcing yourself to finish something.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:40pm

i really like the mechanic but.. 1 level? :(

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Great effort, but not much of a workflow if there wasn't any work done with it.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Cute little game! I think this has a lot of potential!

Arskiainen says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Interesting idea. The workflow sounds interesting. The game runs a bit short.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:01am

I like the idea of the shapes attracting you. If there was another shape and obstacles it could become a real complex game!

Phaix says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:17am

You need more levels, but its a start.

talgautb says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:48am

just 1 lvl?)

Pythius says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Everything was already said, I spent just the tme to learn how to win, then it repeats and it's already to easy...
Good entry, btw!

StrayCat says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Good job to start, keep iterating and adding polish and levels :)

webadev says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Nice idea but the rest... must keep going on work ont it ! :)

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Great effort.

Even with the same mechanichs, maybe two or three more levels would save you the day

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Good idea and plays well, but needs more levels! :)

Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:32am

Great effort, i hope you can to continue learning

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:45am

Seems like it might have been better for an 'indirect control' theme, as the shapes didn't really add much to it. It's an interesting mechanic if fully explored, and perhaps there could be some twists to it to add depth.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]