Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

2045 Henkei no Densetsu

by Rock Eaters - Jam Entry

2045 - Henkei no Densetsu - (Legend of Deformation ) is a post-apocalyptic Run'n'Gun samurai game created by Rock Eaters during the Ludum Dare #35.


LEADER BOARD :

1st – Cliff Lee(CL) -77650
2nd – Tselmek – 63500
3rd – Xanjos – 55700
4th –in3orn 48300
5th – JefePapaya -32700
6th – curtamyth – 24500
7th –dollarone– 24300
8th- Green Soda – 23300
9th – A-Flat Miner Studios -21850
10th – Skaz -21700

Post your high score in the comment.
Everyday until the results, we will update the top ten leaderboard.

Story :

2045, the third world war finished a few months ago but some places are still battle zones. The global and massive use of biological weapons killed 90 percent of the humanity and definitly changed the face of nature and engendered mutations on many species.
You play as a samurai recently bit by a mutant fish who will have to defend his village from a raid of punks leaded by their huge mutated green boss.


Gameplay :

Heinkei no Densetsu is a run'n'gun (top view), inspirated by great classic games like Ikari Warriors or Ninja commando .

You will have to find your way to the boss, slashing as many punks as you can and free your people from the cages.

Each time you hit someone, your anger gauge rises. When the "anger gauge" is full, the bite of the mutant fish reveal it's power and turns you into an unbeatable big red monster. When the gauge come back back to zero you comes back to your mortal samurai form.


Ennemies :

Classic punk : They will shoot singles bullets in your direction.

Gatling punk : They will shoot high cadenced gatling bursts in your direction.

Kamikaze punk : They will run on you and blow themselves when they are next to you.

Turret punk : they will shoot spray of bullet in one direction.

Big green boss : it's up to you find your way to him and discover it .


Other things you can shoot at :

Civilians : These are your village people, don't shoot them or you will lose some precious points.

Crabes : You don't exactly know why but you hate them since you are a kid. Shoot them will provide some great points.

Cages : Shooting at it, you will increase you "anger gauge", destroying it you will free some of your people (and one of those sneaky crabes).


Controls :

8 directions

first button : shoot

second button : reboot level

Most of the controllers should work with the downloadable version.

If you dont have a controller or if you play the browser version .

The keyboards keys are :

"Arrows" for the directions.

"A" for button 1

"S" for button 2


Hope you will enjoy the game as much as we had fun making it.


Rock Eaters Team for this Game :

Prog : Fabot

Graphism : VHS and Remon Jr

Music ans Sfx : Alix Pilot

100% homemade music and design and developed on ClickTeam.

Warning ! This version is not exaclty the same than the one we uploaded at the end of the jam. It didnt change a lot but it makes the gaming experience more confortable (a bit faster) and includes all the elements designed during the jam (like the boss, the 4 musics and some backgrounds objects).
If you want to vote for us, maybe check the first version and make your own idea of the few improvement we have made . The Original uploaded build is still available on Gamejolt http://gamejolt.com/games/2045-henkei-no-densetsu/141991

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#144Audio(Jam)3.69
#155Fun(Jam)3.62
#182Graphics(Jam)4.01
#199Overall(Jam)3.64
#283Mood(Jam)3.44
#324Humor(Jam)2.89
#544Theme(Jam)3.35

Comments

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:52am

It still says "This game is still In Development and is not currently playable."

Reisen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:21am

The area you start off has the worst experience, because you can't even see your own projectiles, and there's no way to know that your projectiles are short-ranged.

It gets better as it gets greener.

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:32am

After I found out how to play it, I found the game really cool.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Very nice game, In my opinion I just need to be a little faster.

SnedHlepPls says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:51pm

I like the art and music! Gameplay wise, I enjoyed it for the most part, I think that being able to shoot sideways would have helped though, for enemies that were sitting on/near the bottom of the screen.

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:59pm

I had a lot of fun with this. Only thing I didn't like was the sound when it was game over. Some sort of static sound? not sure if that was intended or a bug but it was pretty loud. Overall though, once I figured out I wasn't suppose to be shooting the peasants that were running toward me I had a good time :)

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:15am

it's my first html build and the gameover bug is not on the windows build. It must something with the compression. the original wav files are in 16 and 24 bits,i think i've to digg this way. Thanks a lot for all your comments it's very usefull :) It's our first ludum dare and it's a real pleasure to take part to this event. Best jam organisation and community that i've seen for the moment :)

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:33am

Pretty fun, but I think some of your links are broken.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:56am

ok gameover sound bug fixed :) but now i've problem to import only the game here and not all the itchio page...

Orion Dev says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:43am

This game is awesome bro! I love the idea and the art style is really awesome :)

Fabraz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:26am

Good on you for implementing a story as well! Fun stuff!

guoboism says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:12am

Really nice game! Enjoyed while playing!

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:57am

Pretty cool.

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Very nice game. I loved the graphics and especially the small details like the drifting shadows of clouds.

pogo says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:09pm

I couldn't get the web versions to work, so downloaded the .exe. I like the idea of an uncontrollable berserk mode, with more power and near invulnerable. It was a nice contrast to the vulnerable short range samurai. I feel like the camera should have moved a little faster with the player, though.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:33pm

This game is great and I love it. All the things that there is nor reason for and is just nonsense- super. I totally dig that and the weird transformation is fun. Why can you shoot three bullets sometime and sometimes only one? I don't know, I don't care. The learning cure works too.

QuexD says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:15am

Great art and game. While playing I lost a bunch of lives right before the bridge.

curtamyth says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:09am

Awesome! Got 18500 on my second run :) There's a great balance between being challenging without being frustrating. Very nice music and graphics as well. 5/5, one of the funnest games I've played during this jam.

rjhelms says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:37am

This is really slick - great job!

aidanmarkham says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:44am

Having the game reset button next to the shoot button proved to be an interesting design choice. The graphics were nice, and the gameplay was decent. I would like my projectiles to be longer range.

Exolun says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:55am

A really enjoyable game with well rounded graphics, audio and gameplay. There wasn't a lot of depth in general, but it was pretty fun. Definitely one of the better entries.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:34am

Really cool music and setting. The level graphics are solid, and the characters are really small but have personality.
The gameplay could be improved if you could attack in more directions, and the camera could move faster (or at least follow your character better).
Solid work!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:28am

The pixel artwork is really one of the best so far... Good game so far too... Should feel a little more dynamic and some gameplay elements should be more polished (shooting)... Good job... really funny one!

terryg says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:03am

Very nice entry. I loved the art and animation. Shadows even from clouds. Wow. Just wow. I loved playing it. Good job.

terryg says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:06am

and 16,400

Xanjos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Managed to score 55700 in the original Windows version (The web version is sort of unplayable since the arrow keys end up scrolling the page). Anyway, the art style was very nice and I like the concept a lot (especially the transforming mechanic).

Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:30pm

I was really impressed by the graphics and the awesome music really added to the theme. This is kind of a dumb complaint, but the web browser window I was using kept scrolling the page up when I used the up arrow as well as moving the character so the game was hard to play. Also, it took me a while to get used to the fact that the D key
restarts the game and I kept restarting by mistake, but I guess that's more my fault. Anyway, awesome graphics, great audio and a fitting mood. I would have to say I expected more from 30 years into the future, but I think this is a great entry nonetheless.
Good luck!

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:44pm

I like the music and FX... and the graphics are good. Good work!

plko says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Cleared :P
Great game.

coborax says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:45pm

I couln't start the game?!

ragnta says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Nice game, but a little bit slow :(

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Original game doesn't start for me. Stays on menu screen and doesn't move past it.

TeamPoops says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:56am

Lots of very impressive elements! Love the title screen and backstory!

MintArcade says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:09am

Music and FX are spot on! Arrow keys in embedded browser windows tends to drag web page, like 100% of other games, that uses arrow keys, do.
Other than that game is awesome, story is in place. Nice!

Tselmek says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:55am

Really nice arcade game! I beat the highscore but it was a bit frustating because I died being stuck in a platform. One of my main complaints would be the camera movement which could be improved so that wa can see more ahead than behind. I like that you used the werewolf theme in a japanese samurai setting. Nice graphics and audio as well.

Here's a screenshot of my 63500 score https://gyazo.com/d5b2f2c4dac428cbf7e98659575e2e4f

Fanatrick says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Holy pixel art :O

MatMortatti says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:46pm

Great game!

Polished, well-realised, engaging gameplay, cool art and sound effects.

Would love to see more of it :)

3rdChance says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:51pm

The idea is nice and the graphics are awesome!
It is a bit hard to play sometimes. The get killed easy after you are "reborn"

megalukes says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:20pm

I loved this one. Great work, I had a lot of fun.

shapemorph says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Nice Music!!

May 2, 2016 @ 12:52am

Love the look and feel. Fun game, but got a little frustrated with the scrolling, took a while for the camera to catch up with movement. 4 or 8 directional shooting ALA Commando would be nice. Great work!

JefePapaya says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:52am

My score was 32700.

Awesome work. Kudos.

fin_nolimit says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:03am

HUGE WORLD for a 72 hour game!! Fantastic job!!! I could not even get close to the highscore but that was addicting and FUN!!!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:44am

Score: 77650

This is fun entry!
I think faster tempo and camera following will be better.
Audio and graphics are awesome!
Nice work!

May 2, 2016 @ 5:03am

Wow, nice. Managed to get to 21850 pts before I got stuck in the river next to a bridge.

Skaz says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:22pm

A really great entry. Pixel art is excellent, gameplay fun, sound is great. What more to ask?

21700.

I must have killed as much villager as I freed, I kept killing those poor bastard while destroying cages :p

pixelpotions says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Nice game!
I kinda missed the directional attack, but is just a question of get used to it.
The graphics and audio are unquestionably awesome, and the mood also!
Fantastic work for such a small time!

Green Soda says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:24am

23300 :))
real nice entry... the fun stuff is in it, and the art and audio is realy good! :)) good job
kinda lacks depth but u have a nice stuff to work on to xDD

May 3, 2016 @ 2:58am

Really interesting. I love the art work and the amount of work that is in this game already, just from the jam. It feels like a polished and finished game.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:59am

Very polished solid complete feeling game. Loved the aesthetic, music, art style etc. I love how the game felt like it was progressing towards something. The levels were actually varied and it felt like a real lived in space, complete with details like screaming villagers escaping. And going from sand to jungle. Thank you so much for making this! Great job!

Linver says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:26am

Really cool game with all parts! Wow!
Dut you can improve a bit gameplay with:
[*] procedural levels - to improve replayability and surprises!
[*] bonuses - extra life\ instant transform.. or you can add life after X score points, like a Sonic - it's really good idea
[*] em.. you can fix river coasts.. sometimes I stucked into it :(

AnaGF says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:07am

Game is cool, would be nice if you could shoot left and right, but I understand it is because of the references. It is funny, and art is very neat, nice entry

Big Cow says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Great use of theme, fun gameplay, lovely graphics and sound.

in3orn says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Very nice game. I would only speed up the transformation time. It's pretty frustrating when you could take down three or four kamikaze, but at this moment you must switch back to your previous form.

Here's my best score 48300:
https://twitter.com/_krakers/status/727537022919950336

May 4, 2016 @ 8:39am

Quite a nice game, i like the pixel art. Maybe some zoomed details with the enemies on the cards at the end and the character might help the immersion in the story. I didn't found, maybe there are, but some collectibles would improve: coins, food, weapons, whatever else that can improve the game. Good luck!

neondx says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:19am

beautifull graphisms, but gameplay lacks turning

MrMordem says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:56am

A solid entry, graphics and sound are amazing, gameplay is tight, but there are some things a bit hard to dodge, and it's kind of weird that when you destry the cages to free the civilians, other than that its a good game ^^

Yetikatt says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Very nice game. Loved the graphical style.

tomlum says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Fantastic! The art and animation was stellar and the gameplay was snappy.

curtamyth says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Well, it's not exactly the top score, but I hope this is enough to keep me from falling off the list at least XD http://imgur.com/XHtw2EO

Larzan says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Beautiful and very entertaining :)

Yumeito says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:05am

Cool Game :)

Louspirit says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:24am

World and animation graphics and very well done. I like the scenario and that kind of gameplay.

May 5, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Excellent art!

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:28am

It was an okay game, not exactly to my tastes, but still good.
I kept accidentally hitting the restart button.

tmpxyz says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 5:56am

interesting game

SUNFURY says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Very fun game, I liked the concept and the graphics are great nice work. 6/10

glaze_96 says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Really nice work on the level design and graphics!
Nice game, had me hooked a while.

LeReveur says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:41pm

I really like the mood of this game, it reminds me a lot of old good games. :)

StrayCat says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Nice arcade game :)

Sabina Lis says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Nice game, really complete, congrats!

radmars says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Nice, our games really are similar :D Awesome graphics and music and it's really fun. I think my only complaints are that the vertical scrolling doesn't move with you enough and some enemies are just too inconvenient to kill (since you can only shoot up), like if they're behind an obstacle. Still the gameplay is solid. You should totally add a dodge roll :P Awesome work!

methylenblub says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:09pm

wow, it's an amazing game! good job

Jaenis says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Great game! Extra props for the cool story!

JangoBrick says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:20pm

What an amazing game. Maybe the best I've played up until now. Simple but very fun gameplay, and the graphics are *so* good.

RadMcCool says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:40pm

really digging the pixel art here. It still feels like a game jam game but could be something cool in the future.

geekguy100 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:11am

Really cool! Nice job!

bradur says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:39am

Wow, what a cool entry! The game plays very well and the animations & sound and music are great! Good job! I always accidentally kill the villagers I am saving from the prisons :D.

DrillerDev says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Pretty crazy. Nice old school vibe

ocarson says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Really like the visuals in this,the game was quite comical in a slicey way too.

Cerno_b says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Terrific effort. The graphics are gorgeous, as is the animation. The visual design overall is super smooth and fast paced to perfection. The music accompanies this splendidly and sets a good fast beat that matches the frantic shooting going on everywhere.

Unfortunately for me, the gameplay does not quite catch up. The screen scrolls too slowly compared to the player speed and the limited range takes a lot of otherwise fast paced fun out of the game. I feel that either shooting upwards full screen or hacking in four directions with limited range would have worked better. Rescuing villagers does not really seem to have that much of an impact.

Don't get me wrong, I totally love this game, but in cases like these where I see a lot of potential for making it even greater, I tend to nitpick a lot which may sound like I have a low opinion of your results. Quite the contrary!

Overall I think you can be proud of your achievement. I could totally see an extended version of this with more in-game story and more variety on Steam in the future.

UnlikelyRogue says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Very solid entry! A nice twist on old school shoot em ups, and the graphics were quite charming. Good work.

dollarone says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:05am

Fantastic entry! The music is great and fits and build the mood. The enemies are varied and interesting. The shapeshifting almost seems unnecessary but gives you some badly needed sustain. Graphics is nice and controls are good, even tho I sometimes got slightly stuck in the trees.

Love the post-apoc theme! Will come back and find/kill the green boss later!

I think I got 24300 points on my best run!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]