Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

LightShifter

by Hyden - Compo Entry

Name: Light Shifter
Genre: First Person Puzzle-Platformer
---------------
Imagine being thrown into a random world filled with puzzles, floating objects, and weird coloured lights. In Light Shifter, you explore this world.
The goal is to change the shape of the lights and their directions to solve the puzzles at hand.

There are 6 puzzles in total, ranging from super easy, to good luck, you'll need it.
The refractors (objects used to move the pieces) can be placed through walls. This can either ruin your game, or speed up your play time depending on how gamey you are.

Wall mounted objects cannot be moved.
Sun must hit sun output.
Moon must hit moon output.
Purple must match up with purple output.
Orange must match with orange output.

I didn't really distinguish between what object is an inputter and what is an outputter, so that makes it a little more confusing but also more challenging.
Controls
----
WASD - Move
Left click OR right click - Pickup/place refractors.
SPACE - Jump



The download link will only be available during the jam review period. After this the game will be available here: https://hyden.itch.io/light-shifter

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#118Overall3.73
#143Graphics3.80
#149Innovation3.70
#288Fun3.38
#374Theme3.50
#401Mood3.00

Comments

xzippyzachx says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:34am

Ow ya, I love this game

Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:56am

Stream was amazing. The game is awesome, good idea. Thanks. :)

LeEclipse says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:59am

Amazing game, Too bad i only joined the stream the last hour or so. Would love if you still further develop the game.

darksshades says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:50am

Nice puzzle but the build got kinda laggy on my computer(win8).

lanestp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:55am

Very cool style, nice execution. The puzzles are pretty wacky!

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:59am

Couldn't run the OSX version

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:11am

Very cool, reminds me of portal

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:12am

Nice level design!!
Great entry! :)

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:13am

Very neat! I liked the thought involved in some of these puzzles, though it was a bit obtuse at times. The visuals were neat, though the lack of any shading or texturing made depth a struggle in a few instances. Really neat effort!

simon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:25am

very good idea - easy to understand, intuitive gameplay, nice color combination - has addictive potential!

DifferentName says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Impressive amount of hand designed 3d puzzles for a Compo game. They're pretty easy though. I wasn't sure it fit the theme, but I guess the shape shifting is that you're moving shapes around?

Hyden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:14pm

@DifferentName - you have to change the light and direction of a beam of light. Literally altering it's shape xD

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Hi Hyden! :D Really nice game, looks like you put much effort in making this one! Really interesting puzzles. It got kinds stuck in that level after the city. Seems pretty complicated puzzles! Simple visuals fit it nicely, making it not too crowded. I wish I had some music playing on background! Great implementation of the theme in original way, with challenging puzzles!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:42am

Great overall design, got stuck on the puzzle just after the maze. The lack of shading/light/gradients made navigation more difficult than necessary.

FelixNemis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:27am

Looks pretty cool, any plans for a linux version?

batmanasb says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:24am

Awesome mechanics but the puzzles get a little too confusing in the later levels

tgrehawi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:28pm

I fell thorugh the floor exiting the max ;~;

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:38am

Great idea and mechanics, and a nice visual style.

The puzzle designs could get a bit frustrating later on, though - you'd figure out the puzzle and make one little mistake jumping and have to start the level all over after falling in a pit, waiting for a platform to move very slowly, etc.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:20am

Really great game to play! I actually watched part of this on Twitch. The utilization of the shapes to progress fits this LD theme well! Loved the mechanics, too. Good work! Could use some sounds and music. x)

plaguespark says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:22am

A very solid idea!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? It's like itch or gjolt.
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Well done, very creative idea. I loved this game!

Folztarg says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:07pm

woah! i really love the graphics and the design choice

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Nice game! A Portal-style puzzle with great design! Great entry!

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:21am

Really fun puzzles! I'm not really sure why, but there is something about this game that makes depth perception difficult. It might just be due to the lack of textures and shading. Regardless, great job! I would love to see a post-compo version of this with sound.

xzippyzachx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Ya he is working on it

xzippyzachx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:21pm

https://www.twitch.tv/dbhyden

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Really nice game! I liked the puzzles and graphics. Too bad there no music playing in the background. But still, great entry!

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:49pm

i'm still waiting it !!

Rialgar says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:47pm

lovely graphics, splendid mechanics, but please provide an option to turn off the headbob, I got severe motion sickness

May 3, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Very nice graphics! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/8gYXle65h9c

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]