Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Papyrogami

by Trickman - Jam Entry

You want to know about shapeshifting? How about origami? Papyrogami is a game where you control a simple but very versatile piece of paper in his quest against a bunch of rocks! Why rocks, you ask? Well, because paper-beats-rock, of course!

Crush, fly, swim or roll your way through random levels in this rogue-lite 2.5D skill-based game! Will you reach the end and claim your treasure?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#31Theme(Jam)4.24
#119Innovation(Jam)3.73
#132Humor(Jam)3.46
#153Mood(Jam)3.69
#154Graphics(Jam)4.07
#229Overall(Jam)3.60
#286Fun(Jam)3.41

Comments

MetalZebra says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:07am

Cool game with original mechanics! Good worg guys! Stay awesome!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:53am

Nice take on the theme!

RttStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:55am

Nice mechanics, really graphics. Good level generation too.
Good use of the theme too.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:57am

super cool idea and great use of the theme. the art is also really nice and looks very polished. the controls are feel a little slidey though

jdmazz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:42am

I actually enjoyed playing it. I feel like it would be better with designed levels than a rogue-like, because it's a puzzle game. There's no sense in progressing towards more difficult puzzles. Well, if you can accomplish that procedurally, then that would be great, actually!

tweedle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:48am

Really cool game! Sweet graphics. The fact that you literally play as paper that shifts into other useful objects is amazing. Great take on the theme!

Glaydur says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:56am

Good concept of the game. Just a suggestion, I think the boat needs to move faster when on water. Currently it moves as slow as when it is on land.

AsixJin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:09am

The paper was a bit hard to control but other than that this was a pretty solid entry. The artwork was pretty dope too!

Dawdawdo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:12am

I like the music. Nice work.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28am

Good music, levels and mechanics. Great job all around

andyman404 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:30am

I love it. Really clever interpretation of the theme. The dominance of paper vs rock reaches a new height. Well done. The art is very cute.

PickledBrain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:18am

Smashing the rocks is fun. Good feedback on that. The paper/cardboard theme is well done. The acceleration on the player can be a little tough to control but it's still really fun. Solid game.

RoboNebula says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:45pm

I really, really love the art style and the concept is amzing! It's fun that it is procuderaly generated, only complaint: The ball is way too slidey and thus hard to control.

mennchen22 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Nice Graphics , paper work looks so fine ! Great Work!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Really good characters and a well balanced mechanic. Really enjoyed the music too!

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Mechanics and music/sound effects were great!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:20am

I really enjoyed this game! There should be an Audio rating since I really think the sound and music a great. Good work and idea on this! x)

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:59am

Cool take on the theme, and great music!
I think it would be better to have hand-crafted puzzles but procedural generation is a clever way to solve having not so much time to design them.
Good work!

jamesh_uk says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Fun game, especially liked the graphics and music.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

May 9, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Oh my, what a game, the music is great, maybe a bit of polish on the mechanics. The graphic, is sketchy and cool. love it. Good job!

MayankUnreal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Really great work well polished and progressive game. Nice concept

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]