Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

InfinityDrop

by EpiFouloux - Jam Entry

Small game for #LD35 our first game jam ever !

just stick to blocks to improve the score and your mass, but you can only move with rotation !


Playable with left and right keys - all sprites, sounds and musics are made by us.

playable on newgrounds : http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/673533

by Félix Lescaudey - Alexis Paratre - Julien Selaries
tracks : https://soundcloud.com/julien-selaries

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#154Innovation(Jam)3.66
#160Fun(Jam)3.60
#165Audio(Jam)3.62
#317Overall(Jam)3.49
#551Humor(Jam)2.42
#611Mood(Jam)3.00
#832Theme(Jam)2.91
#897Graphics(Jam)2.66

Comments

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:25pm

699 :) I sucked at it but it was pretty cool. Especially liked the music. Good job guys :) Very different and interesting game.

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:27am

thanks a lot !

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:58am

Interesting idea! I like it.

AceyT says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Cool little game, not always easy to control, but I like it

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Well you can change the sensivity to speed up your Xaxis movement !

Garazbolg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Hahaha i got so big i didn't see the spike coming on my last run. For a moment i was just absorbed by the warped background passing by. Really original idea. Good fun !

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:51pm

yeah there are some "release the kraken" moments :P

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:04am

Nice game concept! I really like it, a bit difficult but nice!

LevelUpJordan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:09am

Big fan of this one. I'd prefer it if the plus and minus blocks were more distinct though.

I can tell the difference, but it was a bit of a struggle and maybe more so for colourblind people?

vethan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:15am

This is my favourite game so far!! Love everything about it

xandy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:20am

i like the concept. my biggest problem is the game feedback .sometimes i die, sometimes the blocks attach. more feedback as to why it is happening would be nice.
the colors and music are a nice match and make for a relaxing game. i think this game has potential!

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:27am

@xandy well the blocks sticking to you is the goal of the game, what precisions should I add? thanks for your feedback

jdmazz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:19pm

I think this is an extremely good game. It's both innovative and fun. I don't care much about graphics, so that won't affect your overall score with me. Audio was great. There's nothing wrong with the controls at all. Actually, I think the rotation makes it harder to win, which is good. Good job!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Great music and enjoyable game mechainc, I'd love to see this developed more. The ending/death could be a little more flashy and less abrupt. Minor nitpick: would be better to restart with a single click instead of two. Good job!

Tsukami says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:47pm

@jdmazz Thank you for this comment and your opinion ! :D
I am happy that you enjoyed the audio, it was my first time on a software.

@APantaloni thank you for liking my music~ ^0^. Yes, we think about developing more its gameplay (we have lot of ideas :D), and upload it for a mobile game or even a maybe a web game.

lycoris102 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:08pm

It's so fun:)

akirassasin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:08pm

I used to release the kraken.

Then I took spikes to the tentacles.

BoltKey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:13pm

I enjoyed it. Got 888.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Love it! It was kinda annoying to lose your orange stuff but overall cool game :D

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Nice game! :D A lot of fun :D

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Really cool idea and nice sound/music. Overall quite fun.

I think the different blocks could have used a little more differentiation in the colors, though. The "minus" blocks were not very clear that they were bad at first, and the colors are a little too close to be easily told apart when moving quickly.

Single click to restart would have been better too...I wanted to play multiple times in a row and it felt like there was no reason to have an extra click.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:25am

this game was great for the audio. well done :)

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Get all 80 points
Innovation: 9/10 Fun: 7/10
Theme: 7/10
Graphics: 4/10
Audio: 6/10
Humor: 0/10
Mood: 0/10
Coolness: 6/10
Overall: 39/80
Good Game

May 1, 2016 @ 9:36am

Reminds me of our entry for the previous LD, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=18490 :) It would be nice if the attached blocks had some other advantage beyond improving your score. Minor: it's a bit annoying to have to reach for the mouse to click the buttons, when the rest of the controls are keyboard only.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]