Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

BlowRider: Legends

by WojtaW - Jam Entry

Enter the ring of destruction and cause ultimate mayhem among poor abducted gnomes with your shapeshifting wheels powered grinding machine of doom. Compete with up to three other friends in four-player local multiplayer!

Terrain is shifted to random shape everytime when you go from menu to mission.

Smashing enemies is also shapeshifting.

The similarity with the previous Ludum Dare is purely coincidental.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#117Fun(Jam)3.71
#129Innovation(Jam)3.70
#132Humor(Jam)3.46
#235Overall(Jam)3.59
#440Graphics(Jam)3.52
#529Audio(Jam)2.87
#552Mood(Jam)3.10
#666Theme(Jam)3.18

Comments

Headmade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:23am

This is a super fun game, too bad I don't have a partner to play with.
I love the steering by shapeshifting the wheels, very innovative. Good job!

lordsavage says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:53am

hahahaha what an amazingly disturbing game - i love it. I assume the shapeshift theme was being able to control the size of the tires?

Once i got my speed up it was oddly satisfying.

A very good entry, well done!

townsean says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36am

This was an awesome game. I tried it 2 player and we laughed. Great job!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:18am

Omg it's hilarious! Superb concept and cool realization. Shut up and take my stars!

joemid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:23am

Addicting and arcadey! Will try multiplayer when I get a chance. The sound could use a little work? Maybe, it's perfect. Great job!

StaNov says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:46am

As awesome as expected :)

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:33pm

Splitscreen roadkill simulator! :D It is funny that you go fater if you inflat both tires, thus turning is actually releasing one of the arrow keys. Nice game overall. :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:46pm

haha nice game, vert innovative gameplay, good job.

Mossi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Very funny game, made me laugh, albeit a bit disturbing but nonetheless fun.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Nice entry! Too bad it didn't have soundtrack, still it's quite fun!

SojaBird says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Hahah wow this was super fun. Short 'n sweet.
Real cool and nice feeling "driving" mechanic and the fact that you can change the size is just cool. A very intuitive way of steering. Great job!

tentacode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Aha that was fun, wish I has some friends to play against. *forever alone*

ermrk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Excellent game! Taken me a while to find out, that you need to collect oil.

Paploum says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:35am

Very funny game to play with friends. Well done!

karln says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:55pm

lol

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Unfortunately I have no friends so I could only try the training mode, but I still had fun with it! I would love a way to go backwards though.

Senor Salty says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:04pm

It only kind of fits the theme,but its amazing anyways.10/10 would IG agaiN.

santiagom says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:10pm

So Good!

Big Cow says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Haha wow! Turning the thing by inflating the wheels: very inventive! Definitely got a Carmageddon vibe from this :) Nice work well done.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Very clever control scheme. Good concept and pretty decent implementation.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Bloddy hell, literally!
Awesome game, laughed hard from the beggining until the end.
SFX, graphics, gameplay, all perfect! Well done!

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Interesting way of representing the movement on screen. Pretty fun too, though I'm sure it'd be better if I had a second person to play it with. Very well done.

A333 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Game is fun and very dynamic. Graphics and sounds are juicy, controls are very good.
There's only that little thing, it suits previous LD theme (two buttons control + growing) much better.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:45pm

I liked the mechanics and how it follows the shapeshift theme. Everything else is too violent.

panurge says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Fun! I never did like gnomes anyway. :)

Really clever mechanic, smooth controls and lots of polish for the time limit. Good work!

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:47pm

What a fun game. The shapeshifting wheel idea was great and the fact that the controls were so responsive made it even better.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Ironically this actually fits the theme (or rather themes) of the last Ludum Dare more than this one but this was absolutely fun to play and pretty hilarious as well.

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Hilarious game. I was laughing out loud from the start. Awesome steering/shifting mechanic. Great job.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:50pm

It's one of the concepts that you grasp instantly. Blow up one wheel to make a turn, nice. I only played the solo mode and that was quite fun.

I think the concept could be expanded on and the main character is visually unique to make the game interesting to a wider audience if polished some more. I got a bit of that Carmageddon vibe.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Just read the comments, I swear I wrote mine before reading Big Cow's! What a coincidence. :)

LordKawaii says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Wow. This game reminds me of the old Carmagedon games! Definitely one of the best games I have played so far.

alsantour says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:42am

Great Concept, wish there was more to the single player side of it, i would def play!!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:51am

This is a very fun game. The way of control is interesting. I love crush them with my wheels.

Dyn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:51am

Looks similar so Carmaggedon. And it's always fun.
Also very interesting controls. Quite complete game.
Good job!

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:12am

Awesoem game

Remdiky says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:18am

Very unusual gameplay, play with pleasure! Five points per game!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:05pm

... i love scratching them all :D

Adipson says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:33pm

nice job !

samlo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Hilarious game. Sandbox is pretty fun, kind of simplistic. Feels like training mode should be unlimited. Played with my partner and it didn't really feel like there was a good reason for a 2 player mode?

Still, quite polished, ran well in WebGL (I was getting about 30-40 fps on a GTX970), and definitely gave me a good laugh!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:04am

Sweet game! I quite enjoyed running over the ghosts!

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:26am

LoL

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:57pm

WebGL version is a bit laggy, but that's alright. Visuals need a better theming. Concept is great though. Shift the size of the wheels to rotate around. Could be taken further with the wheels literally changing shape to something other than tires.

JonathanG says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:44pm

Very playable and quite funny! The controls were fun and the (human?) squishing was very satisfying :)
Some visual glitching with the tyre tracks, and the screams get a bit annoying after a while (as in real life).
Overall a nice little arcade game. Could do with some music and variation to improve longevity.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:39pm

fun game but hard to handle

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]