Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Bounds

by Nervous Composers - Jam Entry

Bounds was a cheery little lad, enjoying the good life in his shapeful colourful world. One day, a surge of blue death swept through and brought corruption and destruction to his world. All was about to be lost, but Bounds had to do something!

Arrow keys to move
Z to freeze
Space to shapeshift

M to mute
Esc to quit

Credits for BGM from opengameart.org:
Chasersgaming
Michael Carey
RevampedPRO
Alexandr Zhelanov

Fixes in v1.01:
- Fixed a crash at end of level 2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#20Innovation(Jam)4.26
#107Overall(Jam)3.82
#128Fun(Jam)3.68
#146Theme(Jam)3.89
#466Humor(Jam)2.59
#654Graphics(Jam)3.13
#664Mood(Jam)2.94

Comments

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:05pm

I liked the idea. Nice game :)

iendsl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Really awesome, great animations :) Cool concept and very fogiving checkpoints!

tsjost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Are you able to make a Linux build?

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:11pm

I did find a bug where you can spam z and it will lag the game.

TiRSO! says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Cool mechanic but a bit hidden due to some problems:
1) Consider removing any challenges for the player before you reveal the cool mechanics. For instance, you can easily die in the first level before you discover what the game is about. I'm sure you have lost quite a few players because of that!
2) There is no hint that you need to hold Z to freeze. I was a bit stuck until I understood how it works.

Otherwise very original idea and good execution. Congrats!

CrazY says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:13pm

I dont get it :(

CrazY says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:14pm

I dont get it but it looks cute :(

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Really neat mechanic! I almost got to the end of the tetris block shaped level but the difficulty got the better of me. I think having the freezing of the shape be delayed made the game harder than it needed to be. Overall great though!

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:25pm

That's really impressive, nice one :)

Took me longer than I'd care to admit to figure out what the freeze power did...

Really enjoyed this one

ginger9 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:42pm

I can't pass level 3 ...
I like it, unlike something finished in 48 hours.

monaarc says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Very very very good word ! The idea, the little story, the level design... A bit more work on the graphics and you can have a nice indie game ;)

IDidGame says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:54pm

the base mechanic and music are great
takes a litte long to get to the actual cool stuff
before that its just a basic platformer

Javabot says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Love almost everything about this game. Such innovation!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Loved this. Really great design and well thought out. Very impressed. Couple of bits of feedback though.
the intro was amazing. Loved how it set the tone and the story... then the music for the first level felt really up beat and didn't seem to fit. However the music in the second level was great! I got stuck on the second level after shape shifting to red. Made it up the first few steps but that large drop stopped me from getting any further. For a platformer that relies on skill based timing, you should allow pad or WASD support. Moving on the arrow keys and jumping with Z means you are flipping the controls for most modern games. the left hand is normally reserved for movement and the right action when you think about it. Loved what I played though. Nice concept and well executed. hope the feedback was useful.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Hi All, thanks for the great feedback. It is our first project on LD and we are glad that you guys liked it!
We'll do better in the next LD!

MandolinQuinn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:03am

Really fantastic entry! Thanks for making this. Had a lot of fun with it

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:05am

freezing the space is a neat concept!

aidanmarkham says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:58am

I played this game and liked it a lot! What a great concept! The music could have been better though, and the art was only decent. Let the players know to hold z. I got through the first 2 levels and got this error after the second door.
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Eventobj_dude
for object obj_glow:

Variable obj_glow.yy(100069, -2147483648) not set before reading it.
at gml_Object_obj_glow_Collision_10
############################################################################################

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:37am

The graphics may be simple but I love the responsive controls and the core puzzle mechanics. Very fun to play, congrats!

hregrin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:51am

Very nice! It might be worth it to work a bit more on explaining the mechanics, but overall a great effort!

Ramayana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:54am

Very good game! The puzzles are very fun to do and become quite hard some times!

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:19pm

I really like the mechanics. It's a fun game and challenging :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Just awesome. I love the freeze mechanic, the puzzles are great, and it's a fantastic use of the theme. My one complaint would probably be the jump itself; I feel like you should press the button to jump, not hold to jump constantly.

Yword says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:35pm

Really unique and innovative idea! Well done!

Lullaby says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Awesome concept and mechanics. I didn't managed to reach lvl3, by lack of time (I died too many times at the end of lvl2, haha!).

I don't know how many levels you did for this LD, but I'm convinced your game would do a great reflex/reflexion game :)

Well done, my 5 stars to innovation and theme adaptation!

rburema says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Thank goodness for the check-points, I'd have never made it to the first non-square shape otherwise. (Though I got an inkling of what might be in store through the screenshots.)

Such a rich mechanic for puzzles, the possibilities are nearly endless :-)

Squid says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:13pm

This is one of the coolest concepts I have seen so far. I don't think anyone wold complain if the death hit boxes were just a few pixels smaller.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]