Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Black Heart

by luquio - Compo Entry

---------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------------


*Warning: Blinking Lights


---------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------------


INSTRUCTIONS (800x600):

- match the shape
- pick RED hearts
- avoid BLACK hearts
- stay moving all the time

- select "grandma's" just to learn how to play, the real deal is adrenaline

- 800x600 when choosing resolution (desktop versions)


---------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------------


twitter: @luquio
instagram: @lucio_aquino
facebook: /luquio.aquino
mail: luquio@icloud.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#134Audio3.47
#259Graphics3.50
#345Theme3.54
#375Mood3.05
#416Overall3.27
#459Fun3.14
#533Humor2.01
#621Innovation2.87

Comments

ThePaperPilot says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:53am

I'm on linux and can't install the unity web plugin. Could you use the webgl export instead?

swellbastion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:55am

These graphics are really cool, nice polished game...someday I will achieve it

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:55am

Gets a little confusing to choose shape...
Great game though, just could use better controls! :)

ougrouk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:57am

I really really liked it.
Until I was a few inches from Epilespy that is.
But really well done very good job on finishing the game at this point of polish.

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:57am

I liked the graphics and the sound. Fun game.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:57am

This game was pretty good, though i wish i had individual selectors for the shapes, like asdf, for each shape, but over all this is a good game.

Ethan Allwood says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:57am

Interesting game but was way too confusing and you should assign shapes to specific keys (like triangle=1, square=2, circle=3) so you now which one you are switching to, not just the next one in the cycle.

ianb96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:59am

Took me a while to get the hang of switching when I needed to, but very fun overall.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:01am

I really like the art direction in this. While simple, the graphical elements all fit together nicely. The flashing background was a little over the top though and made my eyes start to hurt after a while. It was also a little unclear as to what was happening the first few times, mostly because the instructions disappeared before I could read them. I also really liked the audio, the sound effects gave the hits a nice weight to them, and the background music was on point and really fit with the overall aesthetic of the game.

Dia6lo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:01am

I haven't seen any epilepsy warning, though your game certainly can cause of epilepsy attack.

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:06am

Very nice game! The easy mode was challenging enough for me :). Like the graphics and game play.

nickavv says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:15am

I like the minimalist but polished graphics, the music is pretty good too. It's hard to switch to the right shape in time, and hard to see in front of you to avoid black hearts, but it's good overall

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:17am

I thought I might have a seizure.

manabreak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:22am

Really solid entry! My only issue was that it was difficult to see what it was that damaged me. Other than that, nice entry throughout!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:27am

Excellent graphics!

XAND says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:28am

That is one of the most awesome-est graphics I've seen on a compo entry. Very nice.

Asturk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:28am

Thats a very cool game, and soundtrack really made me feel more excited while playing (mainly on the adrenaline dificult). I found the idea of shapeshifting very good, but i think you should better the camera view to make able for us to see the black hearts more easily, because, sometimes, these hearts is just in front of the player, making almost impossible to see then unless you move yourself a lot to the sides! And, at the tutorial screen showing the buttons, make it in a way the player has to press a button to progress to the game, because the instructions was passing too fast and i only could read everything on my 3rd try, where i finally understand everything in the game!
But i really enjoyed the game, music and the graphics of it, good job!

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:29am

Very fun game. Good job!

netgrind says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:30am

really nice, I agree with having a dedicated button for each shape, and perhaps make the player slightly transparent as you can't tell when there is a black heart in the center

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:30am

stylish animation/effects/sound

Ithildin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:37am

Nice music and visuals (but they're too strong, I can understand why people are talking about risk of seizures), and very cool idea!

As some have told you, since you can't reach all the other shapes in just one action (which puts you at risk of failing unfairly), perhaps it could be helpful to have specific buttons/keys mapped to each shape.

With that and toning down a bit the visual contrast you can have a very solid entry. Keep going! :D

urfbound says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:37am

Great game! The graphics and animation were awesome. Great mix of features to make the game challenging and engrossing. The sound effects and music were also well made! I liked the little touches, like the screen shaking when you take a hit, and the extra floating objects to keep the screen visually busy without being distracting. If there was one thing I would change, it would be a way to cycle backward through the available shapes, or pick particular ones like with the number keys or something. What a great game! I had a lot of fun. Thank you for submitting! :D

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:07am

Good game! My eyes are hurting from adrenaline mode!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:56am

It would be nice to be able to see in front of you a little more. besides that, it's great!

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:22am

The idea of this game is to keep moving your shape, so that way you'll be able to see what's in front of you... Otherwise u won't need to move! And that would be boring. Anyway I wasn't free the whole weekend and I couldn't do what I really wanted , but I'll keep working on it to make available on iOS/android. I was pretty happy to participate of the compo and I can't wait for the next one! :)

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:24am

Thanx u all for testing my game and all ur comment will help to improve this little game

cabezotta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:05am

Hey! i really enjoyed this game! I think that it would be better if the shifting is made with different keys.. because i have very little time between one obstacle and the next, and sometimes changing the shape is not as fast as i need it to be!

But it was great overall! Great work!

TiRSO! says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:31am

Cool! If you want another take no the same idea... http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=26416 :D

Since I've worked in a very similar idea I can appreciate how hard it is to make this kind of gameplay easy to read and fun. Congrats!

SwedishCheese says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:59am

The controls feel a bit lacking and confusing, I wasn't sure whether the shape I got was random or if it scrolled through them. This game is very similar to the first idea I had for the theme, and that I like :)

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:23am

You did an awesome job. Great visuals, audio, and gameplay that felt challenging but didnt end in 5 seconds even if you're bad at it. Really fun time.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:24am

Solid good game, I'am the master of collecting black hearts ;)

batmanasb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:32am

Honestly bro, don't do this to peoples' eyes. It's seriously not cool and can hurt someone!

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:53am

Cool game well done. Loved the music most. Graphics was also good. Had no issues running the game on windows nor did I struggle long to figure out the concept.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:07am

Prettttty crazy stuff.
Good fun, nice music and plays nice all in all. I think controls felt good for what the game tries to do but think would be better to have shapes on individual keys, not on a cycling pattern through the same key (though that adds a LOT of difficulty, which might be intended).

One remark:
- Black hearts are way too hard to see which leads to frustration (instead of just difficulty). Maybe change the color of the other particles around to avoid confusion or something.

Otherwise, nice game. Kudos!

sez says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:07am

I really like the graphics, the polish and the overall style. I really hate that the shape you get is random, why would you do that? Now the game gets hard because of the shape you get, not because you aren't playing good.

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:14am

Thanx u all. SHAPES ARENT RANDOM they have a little pattern u have to learn... But it could change in the future. I will try to improve all the things that u all where pointing out. Thanx again

Drenghel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:40am

Hey, nice game, I like the graphics a lot, only thing I find annoying is that you don't know what shape you gonna get after pressing space and it can be a lil' hard to get the right one in time.

Congratz

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:06am

Thank you for this very nice game :)

Nice graphics. (Except for the color flashing that is. I did not quite enjoy that)
A bit confusing shifting order (abcbabc...) at first.
The soundtrack is AWESOME, I love it :)

notime4games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:10am

cool game
some feedback:
It is hard to see what's in front of me so I keep moving around like crazy to try to avoid the black hearts however I have a black tail or something that blocks my view.
The shapeshifting felt random or is there a way to know what shape I will become?

hunttis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:57am

Made me really wish that I could choose the shape with numbers or something, rarely got the right shape I was expecting, when pressing space :D Made the game really difficult.

I had to turn off the game when the screen started the full screen color flashes, it's a bit extreme.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:05pm

Very nice and polished graphics, shape-shifting require to remember how many times to press space between each figure because you have to do it very fast between 2 doors. 3 different keys would have been easier. not more interesting, just easier.

Also, dodging black hearts can be tough when they come from the middle as you have to move constantly.

Interesting entry.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:29pm

duuuuuuuuuuude. amazing first LD game :)

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:30pm

awesome soundtrack to play with, shame about the impending seizure :)

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:34pm

The game looks awesome! Takes a few minutes to get used to. The music is great!

Red15 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Good entry, sometimes a bit hard to see the oncoming shapes maybe some transparency on your own pawn?

Solocov says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:50pm

FUNKY MUSIC no really good Graphics and sound also Gameplay is quite good, Sometimes couldn't look in front of my block

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:59pm

It was the most fun game I've played in this LD :) Well made sir. Experienced no bugs whatsoever.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Neat game, I love the art style and the mechanics. I wish I could choose which shape to turn into instead of having to cycle through them. Also, it's sometimes hard to see upcoming obstacles because they're blocked by the players shape.

ignacioq says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:11pm

The gameplay is a little bit difficult. I don't really know how to move through the shapes, the music is very good! btw. . . . you need to put an Exit button.

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:34pm

I am affected by this error:

http://superuser.com/questions/313663/what-is-encryption-loss-when-unzipping

kingpirux says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:49pm

epileptic tripy game. I couldnt understand at the begining but then the game was more simple than expected, maybe if i could see what coming in front of me or at least take out the shadow, because i hit stuff and i have no chance to know where and when.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:19pm

The aesthetics are amazing! Very minimalistic and does its job.
The soundtrack too.

Overall, a really fun game!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Nice graphics and great sounds, nice ui and cool gameplay! But the view is blocked by the player... Anyways great entry!

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Pretty nice game (graphics are awesome!), but I find it a bit hard for me.

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Good game. Pretty polished too.

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:05pm

I danced a little

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Great idea, although that background once you play for long enough gets really seizure educing. Would have been good if there were two buttons for changing shapes, instead of one.

Aside from that, really good use of minimalist design and a really fun and simple arcade game.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:35pm

whoa, played on pc, it's awesome! I love the look and the sounds. I love how it shakes when I mismatch the shape... I will definitely try this game on drugs. 5/5! ps maybe that's the point but I found it very dificult to avoid black hearts because the small squares are also black. but anyway, it's great game, and hypnotizing like hexagon!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:58pm

great graphics and audio, very nice concept. Two bits of feedback: it's very difficult to tell if there is a heart directly in front of your shape; perhaps don't spawn hearts directly in front of the player. Also, when your health gets low and the screen starts flashing, that makes it particularly difficult (especially for people with visual impairments) to see what's going on at all.

ALobker says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Wow! This gets really trippy, really fast!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:37pm

I really enjoy this game. The music was spot on and the game was fun. I do agree with the others about assigning the shapes to different key, making the black hearts stand out more and I will add one more thing, when the game is over you should display the results to the player so he/she knows what they got and what they need to beat the next time they play. All in all though this is a solid entry. Well done!

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Good game, but could use a slight zoom out so that the player can see upcoming obstacles.

Bonoshman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:35am

I really enjoyed it, despite the headache I got from the flashing background at a few points :P

CMLSC says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:46am

It looks nice, but it seems to be similar too most of the games in this LD.

jbasinger says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:36am

Man that game was great, thanks!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:06am

I like the concept, but the viewpoint made it hard to see what was coming up because the hearts were so small and often blocked by moving to them. The sounds are a little grating but are nice. The graphics also look very nice.

Auroratide says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:51am

Beautiful effects! I found it difficult to know what shape I was going to swap to, and the middle shape often obscured my field of vision. The graphics and animations though were very good for 48 hours. Good work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:04am

this was very well made - the controls need some tweaking as i felt like i was alway crashing into something - over nice job

HeliosStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:48am

I really liked the mood you got going, flashing colors were a bit harsh on the eyes after a while, and I didnt get to grasp the controls completely. overall I liked your entry cool stuff!

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:30am

Loved the aesthetics, sound design and graphics are great =)

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:03am

THANX FOR TESTING!!! I would like to improve a lot of things, but as you know 48hs where not enough for me doing all the stuff alone... HERE IS A LITTLE help of how figures goes >>>cube>>> triangle>>> cube>>> cylinder... and repeats that pattern! If you remember it you could certainly make a lot more points. Also i read that some of u suggest to not place black heart in front of the player, but that way game will be so boring, cuz the only goal will be to swap figures with spacebar. The way i made the game forces u to stay moving all the time, mostly doing circles cuz thats the only way to know whats coming. Again, THANKS U ALL for your time playing and commenting my game! U are awesome and be sure that ill be taking all ur comments in the next update features!

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:00am

Like!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:00am

Awesome aesthetic, and very innovative! Very original, but challenging. 5 star mood too! :)

Also my entry (the one where you punch dinos) works now so you can check it out.

virtual_void says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:01pm

Difficult, but fun game

Fumiko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Nice game matching the theme very well, liked the soundtrack a lot.

kutan74 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Love the gameplay nice game :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:25pm

Not sure if it was just me but the graphics looked nothing like the screenshots. Was also difficult to get the right shape but well done :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Nice graphics and sfx.The game is simple and fun to play

Crosstales says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:29pm

This game is very nice and polished - I like!
The concept is very similar to our entry ;-)

Well done!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:04pm

When i saw this theme shapeshift i knew its gonna be a load of these :D
Not a bad thing i love it, i too made one of these but completely different. :p

Danoli3 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Awesome!

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Cool game!
I had a similar visual idea. Needless to say... I like what you've done here. :)

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:57pm

thanks u all, ive tested all of your games ! Good work bros

hijomo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Cool game, fun pattern matching. you can't see the centre shape that your going to run into. I like the music and sound design.

ohmaigawd says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:02pm

I really liked the game, very nice graphics, soundfx and a good idea. The only thing that bothered me is hat it's difficult to reliabli change shapes in time - it would be better if each shape had its own button.

The level of polish in your game was amazing! Good job!

Phobos001 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:24pm

It's a tad annoying when you cant see the blackhearts that are directly in front of you, and having to spam space to select the right one instead of pressing an individual button for each selection makes it kind of tedious. The sound is really good though, and the art is very pretty. Some more polish wouldn't hurt, but otherwise great entry!

batmanasb says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:55am

Huge thank you for the warning! It's a great game, just not for some of us who can't handle blinking lights :) But we can always play Grandma mode!

Adipson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:20am

strange and fun

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:40am

Great colors and I like the abstract minimal style! It's fun but I got a bit annoyed that the black trail you leave when you move obscures your path, and makes it harder to see the black hearts. The little black dots also make it harder.

In general I feel it's better to make things that can damage the player very obvious, so that the player's skill and reflexes are tested.

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:41am

Great game, the graphics are really nice. However it was really hard to see the black hearts that I supposed are bad to collect. So I was losing health constantly despite not knowing why...

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:10am

well played! I think you finish your game concept in the best way. The music is a good companion. Only a tip-> put and epiletical advice on higher levels xD

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Cool graphic!

fesker says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Awesome game and made by just one person. Congratulations dude, keep it up. I really enjoyed this wild shaped rollercoaster of crazyness!

Patomkin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Both the idea and execution are pretty nice, yet there are some problems with the game:
- it would be much easier if the player could select the shape, and not just cycle through them. If cycling is THE challenge of the game, then I would also like to know the order in wich they are cycled...
- black hearts were lost in all the particles. And the player
- I didn't quite understand the right moment to change shape between two barriers. I took damage from one or the oher. Or both.
As for the art style... mesmerizing :)

luquio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:37pm

I will try to make an update to fix all that! Thanks

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Weird and psychedelic. I love it. The aesthetic is great. A funny game for a solid entry. Well done ++

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Weird and psychedelic - fun pattern matching. I love it. The aesthetic is great. A funny game for a solid entry. Well done ++

josemorval says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Nice concept and graphics! Good job!

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:01am

Way too flashy, but interesting nonetheless!

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:03am

Nice beats! it was fun, grandma style for me

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:12am

Oh wow, I love the graphic style and the presentation is really slick. the flashing could be toned down a lot (I could not play adrenaline) :) Would be cool to see shape rotation as another thing you have to match up? I agree that this would make a great mobile game. Thanks for your kind review btw!

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:13am

Great looking game. Fun too! Good job

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:14am

Polished game, nice mechanics. Overall is good.
Graphics are very neat, but I would have removed the black particles because black heart becames a bit confusing. But they are good anyways

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:44pm

Innovating game :) Nice job !

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:04pm

I like, but it's so difficult!! :D Good work.

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Wow, cool game. Worked great for me. Great entry!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:36pm

First of all I have to say that the soundtrack is beyond awesome. The visuals are nice and clean and yes, very flashy but it didn't bother me. At first I wasn't happy with the single key shapeshift but after a while it clicked. I think the sequence is actually pretty clever and makes the game more unique. Congrats!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:35am

Absolutely awesome game!!! The audio rocked and everyone here thinks so!!! Also, i like how you have it auto pause when you click off the screen. I need to figure out how to do that! Amazing job!!

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:08am

Good job! I had a hard time grasping the concept, but the graphics, audio, and most everything was great!

nextreality says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:28am

The intro music really got my head bobbing, almost hypnotic! Gameplay was tough, but the graphics were very nice and the game seemed really polished, great job!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:32pm

Awesome game! Very polished and complete. The only thing I would like to see changed is the black particles being less similar in colour to the black hearts.

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Trippy! This was too much for my eyes and brain to process :)

Still a nicely done game, with good sound effects. I did have trouble separating my avatar and the oncoming shapes at times - probably because the graphics scrambled my brain.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Great effects, reminded me a bit of Super Hexagon. The randomness is killing me though.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Cool game but maybe too hard to fully enjoy it. Except of that it's perfect for all the graphics and audio part good job dude. What a compo !!!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Pretty fun gameplay concept plus I like the minimalist art style. As for faults, the flashing images tends to be more of a hindrance making things a lot harder. Also the field of view could be increased a bit as it was difficult to see anything in the middle. Finally it might be better to map two keys to change shapes (one for the previous shape and one for the next) unless you're porting this to touch devices (in which case it probably would be better to show which shape will appear next in the cycle).

luquio says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:43pm

@Xanjos yeah im working on the port to iOS! ive made a few changes as many suggested in the comments! 3 secret levels after adrenaline ends and a short of indicator of the 2 shapes that came after the one u are in.

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Nice entry! I liked the smooth animations and music, they made a nice mood. Difficulty was nice, coordinating the movement and shapeshifting while moving side to side to see black hearts coming from the middle was fun.

Greetings, bruz

sararyCow says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:02am

It felt like an acid trip. Nice game!

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:20am

Wow! That was a very well-made game :D haha, it was difficult, but that was fun! :) I like the background music, keep it up :D

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Hello! It is a well-polished game, has good sound, good graphics and a good, multitasking idea.

I did, however, find the gameplay kinda confusing. It's hard to see the hearts ahead and it was difficult to grasp the depth, and then the moment in which I had to change shape.

Overall, good entry, mate!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:12pm

I liked it a lot, but I think it was a bit too punitive too add those black hearts, it's already hard enough to change shape in time. Also I was never sure of the order of the shape, you could have used 3 keayboard key and add a visual hint at the bottom of the screen for the player to remember which shape corresponds to what key. Othewise I really love the general aesthetics, art, sound and music all fits very well together :) Great job !

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:06pm

Really fantastic presentation and exciting gameplay. Between the shape defaulting to the center of the screen and the streak that it leaves behind when moving, it was very difficult to see the black hearts in the middle of the screen.

I'd be curious to see if you could find a way to make it easier for the player to memorize the order of the shapes that they switch between -- or make some way for players to switch directly from one shape to another, without cycling through them all.

This was fun, thanks!

Felladrin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Great game for this style! I liked the art, the sounds, the game gradual difficulty, the animations, the AI, the variety of enemies/attacks. Really nice entry for the LD! Keep it up!

Felladrin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Ops! I've written my comment on the wrong page. Please, ignore it. That's what happens when we open a lot of games simultaneously...

Could please export your game to WebGL (HTML5), so we can play it on Chrome?

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Wow, good job! The game is polished, the music fits with the graphics and the flow. Nice one!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:27am

Same base mechanic as my game but very different implementation. Great audio, very hypnotic. All the best for your app store version.

BitDare says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:51pm

This game was one of my favorites. Nice work on everything. Great Audio.

Green Soda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:49am

I've always fancied minimalist graphics... and this is dope, man! i love it :D
I am not comfortable with the controls or it might just be me xD
Very nice game tho... genius idea .. great job!

studdert249 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:00am

I enjoyed the minimalistic art style and the music a lot. Though the flashing lights part way in really threw me off

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Great theme implementation! Audio is suitably, Love the part of collecting hearts. Keep up the good work!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:48pm

this game was tough on my eyes. i like the polish, but it was tough to figure out where hearts would be, while dealing with the changing shape and the background. hard to really focus on the screen.

luquio says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:06pm

@SHLFStudios thanx i know the game is not for everyone, but ive wanted to take the risk of making this kind crazy looking colors, flashing lights and that stuff! :)

Yumeito says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Nice Game :)

WesternPlains says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Loved the game! I feel like it was too forgiving and by the end I was hoping it would kill me so perhaps making it take more health, toning down the health you get back on heart and toning down number of hearts would help. Also, transforming was hard cause the order isn't displayed anywhere and you can't pick which to transform into. Aside from that well done!

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:37pm

Awesome audio, fun and solid gameplay. My complaint is that the black hearts are hard to see being around many black particles.

Insality says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:28am

the animation and total feelings is awesome, good work was done.
Great, interesting entry! Glad to see so polished games on LD :)

guoboism says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:48am

Shape-shift was taken as "Make a game about triangle and square, maybe even circle" by so many jammers. But this one is really well made.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:59am

Such simple clean design that works really well. Liked the feeling of passing through and collecting the hearts. Would be nice if you could switch shapes with different keys instead though would help with the rapid pace of the game.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:26pm

I really liked how the keys/instructions were presented, however it went by too quickly and I ended up having to restart it to catch what text I missed the first time.

The view made it difficult to tell where you actually needed to be to avoid the black hearts or hit the red ones or even when you'd pass the shape, as depth perception is difficult. Often my own character blocked the view such that there was no time to respond to incoming threats - I know this is intended, and it is not a huge issue on its own as you can keep moving but combined with the lack of depth perception it can make things frustrating. I think finding a way to convey depth to the player would go a long way toward helping here. I think the depth issue, rather than that your character can block the view a bit, is the main problem.

Changing the color of the particles might help, too, so the black hearts stand out better - especially as they're the game's namesake.


I tried all the difficulties, and definitely the flashing is an issue, even for those without history/risk of siezures it'll cause eyestrain and headaches.

That said, I do like the core idea here. And flashing aside, the graphics style itself is quite nice - minimalist, stylish, and clean. :)

The shaking and hit sound both provide good feedback to the player to show that you've been hit, without being overdone. I liked the decision to provide a reasonably generous health bar as a complement to the high difficulty.

Excellent music and UI, too!

On the whole, this is a nice Compo entry! Good work, and thank you for sharing it :)

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Nice rendition of a match-the-shape game. The hearts are a nice touch that add another dimension. The black ones are a bit difficult to spot though.

The music is nice and the visuals fit your game well. The design is solid over all.

I feel that this genre really benefits from a control scheme where each shape is assigned a specific key instead of cycling through the shapes. I found going from square to circle to square to triangle instead a normal cycle between the three shapes a bit confusing.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Needs direct buttons for all shapes. Cycling through them gets frustrating. Fun game nonetheless. Great job! :)

May 2, 2016 @ 3:38am

Love that there was a lot of different tracks for each section. It was really fascinating to look at, and adrenaline mode was definitely the most interesting to look at.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:41am

Great music! and I loved how the world was in beat with the music. You were right adrenaline mode is the only way to play :) great job! Thank you so much for making this!

PinkIndian says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Very nice graphics and music. Overall a great game!

CaptainPilot says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Those graphics almost gave me a fit. Also sometimes I got feedback that I lost a life even though I got the write shape. Get's confusing very quickly

calzep says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:47am

It's definitely challenging, I think you could change it so you don't have to cycle through all the shapes to change. Maybe add 2 buttons for shapeshifting and they are linked to the 2 other shapes that you can change to.

Wertle says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:02pm

Super nice job on the compo! I thought this was an interesting take on the shape matching "tunnel" games I've been seeing. I think if you want to keep working on this, you have a lot at your disposal to control pacing in a really nice way (for example, low impact segments being JUST about matching, medium being about matching and collecting, then hard being all three: matching, collecting and avoiding). Plus on top of that you can affect difficulty with how often you have to switch, etc. With all of those you can really make a specific pacing, which could be really nice. I had some difficulty understanding the boundaries of the shapes and when exactly I could shift without taking damage from the previous shape vs how soon I needed to shift to match the next one. I think there's a lot of different ways to address this visually. The black dots were a nice simple way to help convey depth, I think there's potentially lots of interesting visual stuff you can do to add to this. The health bar/distance were the only things that sort of stuck out from the rest of the visuals, I wonder if there would be another way of conveying health as part of the player? Might be worth exploring. minor note: let the player advance themselves out of the instructions ;) Good job on the compo!

josemwarrior says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:01pm

It was a awesome game. Stunning music, and very challenging. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]