Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShipShifters!

by gamesplusjames - Jam Entry

My first game jam entry! Shift between action platforming & top-down space shooting. Become a ShipShifter and save the universe!

Controls:
WASD/Arrows - Move
Space - Jump, Doublejump
Lft Mouse/lft control - shoot
S/Down Arrow - Crouch

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#104Fun(Jam)3.75
#135Audio(Jam)3.71
#135Overall(Jam)3.76
#193Theme(Jam)3.79
#196Mood(Jam)3.61
#220Humor(Jam)3.19
#329Innovation(Jam)3.30
#329Graphics(Jam)3.72

Comments

Reals7eel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:08am

Watched him make the game; Amazing! I love it

nama1510 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50pm

it is fun and a really good idea!! but when i have to battle the boss it doesn't appear on screen and i can't hit him :(

OWi Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:29pm

Been waiting all weekend to play this game! Amazing man!
Only problem is that I couldn't damage the boss! (By the way I am Oliverw122 from the stream)

Halleester says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:27pm

I love it! Lots of fun and works really well! Keep up the good work!

samlo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:24pm

That was fun. I love the ship physics! I wish there was some indicator of enemy health though. Well done overall!

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Boss didn't load....

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:34pm

VERY WELL DONE! This is amazing how polished this game is with how little time you had to create it. Unfortunately, I got to the boss, and I could not kill him. Not for lack of skill. When the boss was at about 10% health, he would no longer take damage of any kind. Additionally, I could only see his guns at the end of the screen, he was not actually visible on the screen. That may have something to do with it. Other than that, amazing game! Great!

AdamsMcCall says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Awesome game, awesome mood, awesome gameplay.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Loved the game. Frankly when I heard the theme, I thought "Someone must make a Robotech/Macross game". And here we are!

tsedate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:13am

This was fun! I especially like how the music changes while you're a ship.

ramza says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:44am

That was really cool! A very solid game overall. Loved the voice over too.

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:53am

The audio, graphics, gameplay, and transitions were very good, but there were a few problems.
Ships can go offscreen in the horizontal ship mode, regular player movement is glitchy and eventually I broke it so I was halfway in the floor.
Gameplay wise there were a few teases that were disappointing to not see implemented. For one, the player's giant sword didn't do anything other than block when crouching which is kind of dissapointing considering it's right in your face. Another thing was that the boss had laser beams over the center as though you had planned to have to wait for the lasers to turn off before you could actually damage the boss. That would have been a great idea in my opinion.
Also yay I beat it! http://i.pxl.lt/Ck49Pd.png

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:54am

Cool! I really like space games! Reminds me Gundan.

tweedle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:55am

Transforming into the ship then going up & down or left & right was pretty cool, nice level design! -t

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:04am

Very fun to play! The three types of gameplay all work very well, though I noticed a glitch that would mainly affect the standard side-scrolling gameplay where I would be somewhat wedged into the ground, making some platforming sections a bit difficult. Great job though!

And-A-Rooo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:14pm

fun to play and music is great, could not kill boss , not yet anyway, still playing...Good James in getting this done in the Ludum Dare weekend, and it was great to watch it being made on twitch

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Nice entry man! Had fun playing this game, and now I am one of the true :D

Some constructive points: "humanoid"enemies doesn't turn when the player jump over them, maybe this is a design decision, but I can jump and then kill them. Sometimes I hear "SHIFT", but no visual text about this and pressing shift doesn't shift the character. Also, sometimes when shifting from spaceship to robot, the character had the wrong rotation.

Hope to see you around here, see ya!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Nice entry man! Had fun playing this game, and now I am one of the true :D

Some constructive points: "humanoid"enemies doesn't turn when the player jump over them, maybe this is a design decision, but I can jump and then kill them. Sometimes I hear "SHIFT", but no visual text about this and pressing shift doesn't shift the character. Also, sometimes when shifting from spaceship to robot, the character had the wrong rotation.

Hope to see you around here, see ya!

Ahh, I tested the OS/X version, it didn't run, I had to go to 'Shipshifters.app/Content/MacOS/' and run 'chmod +x Shipshifters' on command line to make it run ;)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:20pm

hey man love the game love the youtube channel

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:07pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

solkar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:08pm

A solid game. I wish the transitions between mecha and ship would be more fast paced. Anyway you managed to pack a lot in such a short time. Kudos

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Nice job! Collision boxes were a bit big it seemed like but otherwise I loved it!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Very action-y. Reminded me of a old style NES game. Some minor things I noticed why playing. None of these affected your rating they are just feedback.

1. You can remove the .pdb files that are generated as they are just debug info and by removing them you will make the download smaller.

2. When the player respawns he is rotated a little.

3. When I was told to shift I would press shift but it took a few presses to get the game to respond.

4. The camera movements when moving left or right are really abrupt and made it hard to control the player. This didn't happen all the time just some of the time.

5. On the second time to get the saw blades I think some of the bottom ones are doubling up. I destroyed one and got the particle effect but the blade was still there.

Its a really nice game and I enjoyed playing it and watching you create it. I hope you can find time after the Jam to work on it and I hope you will participate in the next Ludum Dare!

Gtron says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:32am

I had fun. I managed to somehow rotate the player character, and it made things look very awkward (like jets coming out of the front of his feet). It didn't effect gameplay at all though, so nbd. I was able to beat the boss, but since I had my eyes on myself the entire time, I can't verify whether or not the health bar stopped like other comments have pointed out.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:41pm

changinf from platformer to shooter is really great, i like the transformers atmosphere but the graphics could be better. Good game anyway

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]