Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Connected-Souls

by MayankUnreal - Compo Entry

Hi,
Bravoo!!.It's my first game ever and I am able to complete it within 48 hours for compo. Yuhu !!!!


CONNECTED-SOULS is a platformer game MADE within 48 hours for compo. In this game you as a character your soul connected to a beast(bird).You can shift yourself into a bird in order to complete jaw breaking missions. The two characters are connected with each other like two bodies one soul.This is also a semi automatic runner sort of game. I am not that good with my words so it will be great if you guys look at my work.


All feed backs including critical ones are highly appreciated.

Enjoy playing it specially level3. Rate it and help me to boost to make much better games.Happy Jamming!!
Happy Gaming :)


NOTES>> There is a bug so press the space twice when Level starts first time to switch between characters.
& for windows use resolutions 1280 * 720 or 1280 * 600


For any other OS X users having trouble launching the game, here are the steps to fix it:

1. Open Terminal and "cd" into the directory where you extracted the ".app" file for the game
2. Run the following command: "chmod +x Connected_Souls_MAC_By_Mayank_Unreal.app/Contents

KEYS>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

As a character use >> Space to Switch, Up Key to Jump, Down Key to Freeze.

As a Beast use >> Space to Switch , Up and Down Keys to control flight

GIF >> https://gyazo.com/dc15c809a0ae4663f6061d81a64bfdc0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#500Audio2.59
#547Humor1.98
#568Theme3.22
#691Mood2.53
#738Graphics2.50
#806Fun2.57
#849Overall2.64
#851Innovation2.33

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:21pm

yo this game is pretty gud, and considering that this is your first game ever its pretty damn impressive!! keep it up

Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Thanks a lot Ruchir. Its because of motivational people like you that helping India is improving towards gaming field.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Thanks a lot @ruchirbapat. Its because of motivational people like you that helping we people improving towards gaming field.I wish someday our games also reach the IGN top list

doombrowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:22pm

The main character animation looks pretty good. The audio seemed a little buggy.

VividReality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Pretty nice for a first game :) I got stuck choosing the lower path on my second playthrough

Idorrac says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:59pm

Very nice little game! I think it fits the theme well! For some reason I can't go beyond the second mission, when I reach the end I am teleported back to the beginning as if I died.

keksx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Unfortunately I've got a bug in the windows version. The main character is invisible, I can move the screen and hear sounds, though.

Would be cool if you could fix that, want to try your game :).

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:06pm

The main character didn't load for me. I could hit space bar and it would make an eagle noise and side scroll a little. Windows 10.

NPC23 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Really solid game dude regardless of it being your first! Only real issues were the audio bugs and the brutal difficulty curve. The jump from level 1 to 2 was pretty hardcore. Other than that though, great job mate. Love to see what else you can make!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Needs a recommended aspect ratio, the few I've tried won't let me see the character.

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:14am

Nice little game, had fun playing it :)

runvs says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:17am

Hi there, nice game! The idea of two connected individuals is nice. using different music tracks works well here. The animations are cute and smooth.
The difficulty increases quite fast, but thats nothing bad. Looking forward to your next game!

blob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:13am

Cant see my character at all ( windows version) :/

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:22am

Nice game!

LeoM says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:29pm

NEED a resolution of 1280 * 720 for Windows.

Once the game is running, it's a nice platformer, just I can't manage to pass the last obstacle of the lvl 2, as a boy or a bird, my hitbox is too large...

Some adjustment could be nice, as the transition from boy to bird, we lose all the velocity, (but from bird to boy it's nice)

Same for the song, the melody is nice but for a "fail and retry" running game it's a bit annoying to always have only the 10 first seconds of the song.

Nice for a first one. ;)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:05am

@Leom Thanks for playing and keenly observing my game.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:57am

Congratulations on your first game! It was cool, I found the switching to be somewhat unreliable though.

dvdagames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:19am

For any other OS X users having trouble launching the game, here are the steps to fix it:

1. Open Terminal and "cd" into the directory where you extracted the ".app" file for the game
2. Run the following command: "chmod +x Connected_Souls_MAC_By_Mayank_Unreal.app/Contents/MacOS/*"

Overall the game was pretty fun and did a good job of teaching you some of the transformation sequences to overcome obstacles.

I think the buzzsaw/door switch at the end of level 2 could have it's safezone under the buzzsaw adjusted, though. For that early in the game, the margin of error is a bit too small. Once the player is more comfortable with fluidly moving between the two forms, that level of difficulty in an obstacle would be fine.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:19am

@dvdagames thanks a lot for such technical and design analysis of my game. Believe me it's people like you are helping the most to novice developers like us. Thanks once again for MAC issue rectification and everything

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:20pm

This is pretty good for your first game ever. Especially if it's made in 48 hours.

Try to be consistent with your artstyle, it would make your game look a lot nicer. If all your art was made out of boxes, it would actually look better because all the art is in the same style.

marmpa says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:43am

Really nice game. For your first time this is really good.Kepp doing this. Though to tell you the truth i didnt really use the freeze method cause the were timed in a way not needing for it.Kepp going!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:15am

Thank you guys for liking my game. Its just because of real game lovers like you my this game became a success

Venneque says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:10pm

I like the bird. :) (and the main character is hot lol)
Anyway, the shifting capacity is well designed.
Graphics are quite ok : thumbs up for menu and tips ingame.
No pause / exit, annoying q.q
There is music, well ... good music, but the way it triggers gets me confused, and sounds are way too high compared to the main music.
Gameplay's fine I'd say, a bit tricky to dodge some wheels especially with a down arrow key combined to space bar (just why ?! o_o')
For a first time, it's pretty neat though ^^

Diman says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:15pm

I liked graphics and animations.

blob says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:10pm

I tried with 1200 res but still getting the same issue mayank.

Henry00 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:43am

Just so you know, you can remove 141MB from the download my removing the debug files (player_win_x86.pdb, player_win_x86_s.pdb).

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:42pm

@Henry Thanks Henry for figuring that out !

Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Really nice for a first game :)
some point of improvement-
The controls can feel a bit unresponsive especially when switching from boy to bird, also losing all momentum is at first a bit of a surprise.

the animation on the character is nice but i feel the art is not consistent and that something that can be work on next time around :)

i also had a bit on an issue with the music in the main menu overlapping in strange ways, might only be me tough.

overall very solid runner, good job keep up the good work!

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Cool game but we need less JPEG on this bird. Anyway nice entry.

MegaBrutal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Could you please export a Linux build?

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:49pm

A really cool game, especially for your first one ever!

TomaszHajas says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:51pm

A little bit unbalanced, you can constantly fly as a bird if you have a good reflex (running is useless at the most of the time). This game is good for mobiles!

Dreschler says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Very nice game, It's impressive you made all this by yourself. Congratulations :D

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:04pm

It's PNG . BSOD EVERY STUFF

Zealous Coder says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Linux build would be cool.

blob says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Hehe I know which tutorial you used on lynda.com :p

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Blob infact I have used many others tutorials too to complete this game.If you wish I can tell you that too.But I implemented all that I have learnt in this form as my first game. This is how we all learn by implementing and innovating ideas

Fabraz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:47am

Good take on a platformer for your first game.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:30am

Was unable to download the OSX build from the google drive link

DrillerDev says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:45am

Nice concept

Try to make enemies hitboxes shorter, as you collide before the sprites actually touch each other

zoeinfp says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Nice! Keep up the good work!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:34pm

@THANKS Zoeinfp and everyone who liked or less disliked my very first game. I know things can be achieved only if we give a try for them.I am thankful specially to those who pointed out the defects and faults in my game. Seriously every one new to this field highly need this to uplift better in his work or otherwise creativity will die asap without faults.!! thanks everyone once again for your kind support

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:39pm

MAC OS LINK IS WORKING FINE FROM BEGINNING @KESTRELGAMES.
KINDLY RETRY WITH A VALID GOOGLE ACCOUNT.

Gord10 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:35pm

It could be better. The bird looks too blurry, for example.

But good for a first game.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Wow, I wouldn't have expected this to be a first attempt! The main character is well designed, the music is great, and the game is functional enough for something made in 48 hours.

Many of the suggestions I would have made are already made upthread, but one thing I might suggest is to make it so the audio continues to play when you die. With dying being so frequent in this game, it places undue stress on the opening of the track, and makes each death feel a little harsher for the player, compared to the smoothness of the song just continuing. Just as a thought to consider!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:20am

@Gord the bird I have made this way.Its like soul beast

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:23am

@RockhopperGames I will certainly try to overcome that. Thanks for such a great suggestion

rburema says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:52am

The menu-music and game-music seem to be playing simultaneously on my machine (Win-7 x64). Which is a bit of a shame, since the audio seems to be the highlight of the game otherwise (the bird-screech is a nice touch for example).

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:48pm

@rburema this thing never happened to me or anyone else including mac win 8 or win 10. But will still try to figure out the cause in win 7

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:18am

For whatever reason I couldn't get pass the second platform. I couldn't jump over the big box. Seeing from the comments as I'm the only one with that issue, I decided not to rate this game as it might be a problem with my PC.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:45pm

@SpringCabal hehe can you please press space twice for first time as game start and switch to a bird :)

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:51am

I did press space and changed into the bird form, but I couldn't get fly as a bird, it would always just drop down. The "up" key didn't have any effect for me as a bird.

thebrainfuse says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:00am

Good game design! The art could use some cohesion though, as each piece looked like it came from a different artist.

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:37am

good work

Swynfel says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Interesting game, very good for a first game and first ludum dare game!

You hand-drew everything : impressive!

The game-play in itself isn't always perfect. You hit obstacles or spikes even when you seem to be far enough. There is no checkpoints and so some levels where painful (especially n°3, when you had to restart everything every-time).
Sometimes their is two paths, and one of them is a troll, you get stuck and can't move any further. Since you did that, can you at least include a restart button? I was stuck in level 2 and had to restart the game and redo level 1.

The controls are little slow, especially the transformation and the movements of the bird. Since you can't slow down the bird, it's controls should be very precise.

At first I though that the bird is way better than the boy, and so that I didn't need the latter, but you proved me wrong ! Your level design forced the use of both, so good job you didn't fall into the trap.

There also is a lot of different types of enemies (like I kind of mentioned in the last paragraph). That's a good thing : just pay a slightly more attention on the coherence. Two different enemies sometimes have too different sprites (the spikes are unicoloured and pixelized, unlike the rest ; or the vacum-cleaner-heads look like they have slaughtered thousands of birds, while the rest of the obstacles are clean).

Apart from that : very good job for a first try, I hope you'll submit more in the next ludum dares!

czester16 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:35pm

@doombrowski got right, but game is nice.

h2n0 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:33am

Interesting idea, but a few things hindered it. The physics felt too "floaty",and the controls for the bird form didn't seem as responsive as the "boy" form. Good idea though, I think it just needs polishing.

in3orn says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:11pm

I rocommend you to work on mechanics as it's the most frustrating part of the game. I died so many time when I didn't expected it. However I like the pace and animations. Oh, and I have the same thougths about buggy audio. Keep going! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]