Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Mission: Decomposition

by MurderPunch - Jam Entry

Welcome to parasite paradise! In Mission: Decomposition you must defend your nest of friendly maggots from attacking parasites. Eat enemy parasites to defend your adorable friends. Eat enough parasites and you'll get a chance to evolve into a fly! Be careful though, while a maggot is evolving, you also have to defend the pupa from enemies.

Use WASD or Arrow Keys or Left Stick to move. Press Spacebar or X on a controller to lunge at enemies. Press Enter, R, or Start to start or restart the game!

-Defend your nest! If you lose your nest, you lose the game.
-Eat enemy parasites by using your lunge attack on vulnerable areas of enemy parasites.
-Once your maggot transforms into a pupa, use your new maggot to defend both the pupa and your nest.
-Evolve flies from pupae to beat levels!

This game was produced in under 72 hours for Ludum Dare 35 by Sebastian Karolkiewicz (@Murder_Punch) and Dan Lance (@DanLanceGames). Music and Sound by Tyler Caldwell and Thom Strom.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#93Humor(Jam)3.63
#184Graphics(Jam)4.00
#298Mood(Jam)3.42
#360Audio(Jam)3.21
#364Overall(Jam)3.42
#474Fun(Jam)3.21
#501Innovation(Jam)3.11
#711Theme(Jam)3.11
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:53pm

Nice! I didn't know maggots were so cute or so aggressive. :) Lovely atmosphere, great presentation and slick gameplay. Good work!

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Thanks panurge! We are super stoked that you liked it!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Fun concept, getting a serious Edmund McMillen vibe from it.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Cute little game. Looks like R doesn't trigger a restart though.

JALgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:43pm

The restart button does not work for me... I had to reload the page each time to restart the game, which annoyed me after a few times, so I stoped playing (but I guess that it is probably an issue on my side...)
The art is absolutely gorgeous.

Cowa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Fun game! And nice graphics :)

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Thank you all for the feedback guys! @Fabraz, that's a huge compliment! Once the competition is over, we'll make sure to incorporate some of the feedback we are getting here.

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:50pm

For those experiencing issues with restart, try hitting R after waiting for a slow count of about 5 seconds. If you hit R right away, it may not kick in. Sorry about that! Something we plan to address after the competition.

aCoupleGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:21am

really cute graphics. I love those colors ;)

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:22am

Looks like issac.Plays like a charm. :)

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:30am

Thanks guys! Glad you liked it!

mrStrings says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:23am

That's cute in a weird way haha

I enjoyed the concept, the artwork and sound design. One thing I did note is that some of my attacks didn't hit the enemies as expected. Not sure if I'm missing something...


Hey! If you are interested, our LD35 entry is in my teammate's account: you can play WolfBit here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729

abuzreq says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:09am

Good graphics, it was hard to kill the parsites though
The sounds were ..weird :P

Allthebees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:38am

Absolutely disgusting, but in a good way? I enjoyed it and it definitely has a strong aesthetic!

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Thanks guys! The trick with the tapeworm is to hit it at the thicker side of it's tail for an instant kill!

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:09am

Great entry, very polished xD Who knew it owuld be so fun to control a maggot? I got a Binding of Isaac (the original) vibe from the aesthetic.

I wish there was a way to incorporate playing the flies into the game, as that would have featured the theme also in the gameplay as opposed to just in the graphics/story.

Aside from that, insanely good and polished work :) Good luck!

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:43pm

Thanks so much for the wonderful feedback! We definitely plan to add some fun fly mayhem once the competition is over ;D.

olilie19 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:08am

Pretty amazing game. cool concept, truly enjoyed it.

L-Ree says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:11am

Super addicting! The sound/music is bomb and the graphics are sleek! Never did make it to a fly though :'(

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:35pm

Glad you guys like it! We've got big plans for further improvements post comp!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]