Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Cuddle Fish

by zaywolfe - Jam Entry

Cuddle Fish

Help Lenny the magical cuttlefish resolve problems for people by telling him what to shapeshift into. Choose the correct fix for the situation before the time runs out.

How-To-Play

Type with you keyboard what Lenny should turn into.


Made with:

Godot Engine
Inkscape
The Gimp
Audacity
Bosca Ceoil

Credits:

Isaiah Gilliland : Programming, animation, art, sound effects

Emily Gilliland : Music, art, animation, sound effects


[also] Sometimes losing is equal fun ;)

[update] Added Mac and 64bit ports for people having trouble running the game. Mac port is untested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#93Humor(Jam)3.63
#171Theme(Jam)3.84
#224Innovation(Jam)3.51
#329Fun(Jam)3.37
#360Audio(Jam)3.21
#398Mood(Jam)3.28
#448Overall(Jam)3.33
#766Graphics(Jam)2.95

Comments

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:39am

Amazingly confusing at first :D
cool puzzle game.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:45am

Loved it! Nice music, cute graphics, good stuff!

I clicked for the cute "cuddle fish" 'cause I like puns, and cute things, AND cuttle fish, which made this one seem pretty perfect.

Then I found out it was a guess-the-word-I'm-thinking-of game and cringed a little... But, for one of those, this was well done! Especially for the time frame. You included words that were close to the right one, like "basket" being close to "bowl." A few complaints though.

For one, when you miss one it's possible to get the one you just missed a second time. That shouldn't happen unless it's the very last one; otherwise, the one you just did should be locked out of the order.

For another, it seems like sometimes you can lose life by selecting something, but it turns out to be the wrong thing. And maybe this is just my imagination, but it seems like you lose time with wrong guesses. Neither of those should be in the game.

Anyway, the categories were fun and fun to play. My favorite was the man crossing the river. "Oh, thank you!"
If only I could figure out how to "Shade him!"

So far I've tried parasol, tree, cloud, awning, SHADE ITSELF, house, tent... Even mountain. I was like, "Well that horizon looks pretty bare, maybe a mountain would block the sun enough?" But nope! And I lost life for trying!

A game about making the right crazy guess in time should encourage crazy guesses, instead of punishing them like that. Overall though, I liked it a lot. Good job.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:58am

Tons of fun!

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:19am

@thegoofromspace Thanks for the feedback. Kept old ones in the running so people could try again.

And my bad on the Shade him XD. I should of included mountain but didn't think to.

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:34am

I went back and fixed some typos and things I missed. Can only fix small mistakes per the rules.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:41am

this game is pretty interesting.

sumguy67 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:47am

Fun little game! I thought it moved a little slow with six seconds between each round, but otherwise I had fun with it. Music was great and the sound effects made me laugh.

Tsevion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:49am

A fun little game, great length, and quite amusing to play. Great audio.

Bobsleigh says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:50am

Cool concept. I like the fact that there is more than one answer. The sillyness reminds me of WarioWare.

SgtBursk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:50am

Great entry! Love these types of games.

The countdown could be shorter. Maybe three seconds. And I never figured out Save Them! Ohhhhhh a dam! Also, you can upload a Post-Ludum entry if you wish. Just keep the original links so people can vote on the Jam version.

allstar602 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:50am

I really enjoyed this little game. Some of them were to easy to guess but others had me thinking for a little bit. Maybe its just me but I kinda enjoyed destroying that village with the water. I also enjoyed the animations, it added a nice humorous effect. I would say they only problems with it was not enough scenerios and options for each scenerio.

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:59am

Pretty cute and fun game! The art isn't amazing, but you kept the theme throughout the game, and it has its own charm. I think you absolutely nailed the little human sound effects, they're really fun!

I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to save the picnic though. Any combination of insect/bug spray/repellent didn't seem to work, and a net or water only made it worse :( Also, I don't get why we need to wait 7 seconds between stages. Any specific reason?

Apart from that, kudos to getting synonyms. Alarm instead of clock, handkerchief instead of tissue... Good job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:07am

Love that FM synth! Tough type of game to make (never enough synonyms to please everyone), but was pretty fun. Can't turn down a good title pun.

picxinet says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Good initiative to use GodotEngine !
But I can't start your game in Linux:
./cuddle fish: error while loading shared libraries: libXcursor.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:34pm

@picxinet That error is probably because the game is in 32bit and the library it's trying to use is 64bit. I'll upload a 64bit version, but in the meantime you can try to install the 32bit version of the library.

SojaBird says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Not really my type of game but the art style is pretty fun :D 5/5 humor

domrein says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:42pm

I was so frickin' sold when I saw the title screen. But no osx port :(

mf1214 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:51pm

Cool idea for the theme. Good job!

tweedle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:42am

Thanks for playing our game! Epic countdown screen and timer. Was sad to see the cuddle-fish cry! -t

lanestp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:43am

Crashes right away on OS X :-(

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:49am

Very well done. Reminds me of Wii titles like Wario Ware. Lots of crunch. Great job!

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:50am

Took some time to get used to but then i really liked to experiment with it. Good work!

aCoupleGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:52am

Really liked the game :) the graphics are cute and it's well done. I think it could have some tips about the word, as the time goes...but nice work.

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:02am

@lanestp I just tried rebuilding with some different options. I don't have a mac so I can't really test it :/

MementoGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:08am

This is pretty funny! haha
And random!
Reminded me of McPixel.
Great job!

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:09am

This was really fun. ^^ Reminded me of WarioWare and Scribblenauts. Good job!

Saiodin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Need to have an online dictionary open since I don't know all the english words lol. Interesting take on the theme, makes a very hectic game. I think the waiting time in between is too long tho.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:48am

So cute :)

domrein says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Awesome game. This is a pretty fun little experience.

jofra says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Nice concept! It was a hard one X)

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Love the Wario Ware Feeling ;)

Catmoo says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Awesomely addictive game, love that it's an interesting spin on WarioWare and I love seeing the cuttle fish transform into things. I just wish there could be a couple more options sometimes :) But I understand the challenge is in figuring out the word to use.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]