Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Protector of the Forest

by agriks - Compo Entry

IMPORTANT: Use the shapeshift attack when in the air to get more distance in the direction of your mouse. This is needed to get past certain parts.
---
This is actually my first game I have ever completed and my first ludum dare. Feedback appreciated.

The source download is on the itch.io page below the description.
---
You are the protector of a magical forest that has been cursed by the undead. You are its last hope.

As protector of the forest, you have the ability to shapeshift.

Use the WASD keys to move and jump, aim with the mouse cursor, left click to attack, and space to shapeshift.

Everything costs mana, so pay attention!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Theme3.88
#157Audio3.40
#443Graphics3.06
#542Overall3.13
#592Fun2.94
#804Innovation2.50
#1808Coolness32%

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:35am

Controls are super clunky, but I liked the shapeshifting mechanic, and how you get a different attack.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:36am

It didn't run for me in Firefox on Windows 10; a pop up dialogue says that there was a JavaScript error saying that the game is insecure.

ORECROS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:38am

With games where dodging is an important aspect, tight controls over your character are important. I feel like a higher jump height but stronger gravity would be a nice tradeoff.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:40am

Could be a bit more polished, but nice entry.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:39pm

This needs more polish on the controls and check points so you don't have to start the whole game over, but the shapeshifting mechanic and using it to get more air time is a neat idea.

grayhaze says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:05pm

I liked the soothing music and the charming graphics, but felt the controls let this down a little. It felt like I was skating on ice most of the time, with no friction on the platforms. I also found the shapeshift/jump combo to be a bit confusing, but that could maybe be explained with a mini tutorial at the start. Aside from these small complaints I had fun playing and think this is a really good entry for a first try, so well done! :)

Haighstrom says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Start screen pixel art was really nice. I made a platformer engine from scratch for a ludum dare too before, so I feel your pain, but yes as others say the controls are sluggish (you're too slippery and have too little control when airbourne), so you die too easy and it doesn't feel like your fault which is frustrating. But I liked the use of the monkey to get up onto difficult ledges, nice idea, physics just need more work and this could easily become a really cool game.

masterkrepta says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:30am

Controls make this very difficult, almost making it prohibitively impossible to play. but i like the artwork

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]