Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Vürk

by JOK - Jam Entry

Two shapes to shift between.

One heavy and slow.

One light and fast.

Can you get the perfect time?

But don't forget to collect the pênëks on the way!

-------------------------------------------------------

Use keyboard to control your character and mouse to navigate the menu.

Partial gamepad support.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#82Fun(Jam)3.81
#166Theme(Jam)3.86
#239Overall(Jam)3.58
#283Innovation(Jam)3.39
#427Mood(Jam)3.25
#476Graphics(Jam)3.44
#536Humor(Jam)2.45
#561Audio(Jam)2.77

Comments

11Schotter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:52am

Hey, VERY VERY fun to play! nice control and an ultimate shape shift ability. one of the best games i tested in ld35. i don´t like the short and simple music loop and the overal quality of the sound samples, but thats okay.

more of this speedshifting guy!

taviandir says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:53am

Hey, fun gameplay! This has potential. I was thinking during the first level that this concept would be fun as a kind of "speed runner", and then I got to Level 2 and there it was!
One thing that limited the fun for me, was that the controls felt a bit slow/sluggish or unresponsive. It would sometimes take the character around 1 second to transform back to human shape after I released shift (and vice versa). Also, the thing following the player in Level 2 should probably follow a directed pattern or something, because he always ended up taking a shortcut thru the map and thus catching up to even faster than if I wouldve been slow. :)

Good job!

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:58am

Fun game overall. I hate levels with a enormous wall chasing you ;) I can see this title evolving into a speedrun game. Please continue developing it.

Music loop is to short and Shifting back to human takes too long.

kostasvs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:04am

Really like the design and the overall feeling, a bit too easy to die perhaps, in general great game!

Max Amaden says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:04am

Very cool platformer. Keep up the good work!

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:11am

This was great. The game is so dynamic!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:11am

Kept getting killed by the red blob in the double tree area, but it was a fun game. Character looks a little out of place with the background quality.

Raphael_ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:13am

Controls were awesome. I would have liked some more stuff to do with the big and heavy form. But I really liked the game.

SeaDads says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:18am

Nice work! Once I figured out how the movement worked on the fast form it was really fun. Would have been cool to have more for the slow tough guy to do, beatin up baddies etc, he looks so cool but all his good for is busting through walls, poor guy! :P Anyway, enjoyed it, thanks!

rossborchers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:20am

Great game, mechanics well communicated. To keep up the pace the transformation could probably be a bit faster. Why am I collecting points?

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25am

Good old school stuff :D

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:29am

Interesting game

lambda- says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:30am

Cool game, I liked the art style.
Not a fan of the controls though, needed a few attempts to figure out how to wall jump and the shapeshifting doesn't feel direct enough.
Second level was actually quite a challenge.
Overall fun to play.

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:46am

nice game though i couldn't control the shift mode properly...:)

Citsua says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Very fun game and nice use of the theme but the controls were a bit hard to use in my opinion. Still, very nice!

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Beautiful environment! I loved the flowers and the vines, just a bit annoyed by the purple pijama ninja.

I would have loved if the "light and fast" shape would last longer. Good job!

Kudanaman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Very good game, however performance becomes a bit of an issue and the game is sometimes unresponsive

ConorOD says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:45pm

That movement mechanic is brilliant. So much fun. Great game!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:11pm

beautyfull work! Love it

pyokoanarogue says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:11pm

QUITE COMPLETE!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Great game! Mechanics are very original and art is impressive. However I see levels with the wall a bit hard, but nice work!

May 4, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Very fun game, but that second level is hard by jumping on that first log that is vertical

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]