Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Martian Metamorphing Monster Mutants

by Krammetje - Jam Entry

Created by:
- Bas van Dueren den Hollander
- Koenraad Kragt
- Mark de Wit

Martian Metamorphing Monster Mutants is an arena shooter.
Enemies spawn in waves and you must destroy them all.
Be careful, because the enemies are shapeshifting monsters.

Controls:
WASD - Movement
Space - Jump
Mouse - Camera
Lmb - Shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#564Audio(Jam)2.76
#575Fun(Jam)3.08
#585Humor(Jam)2.36
#734Mood(Jam)2.85
#887Theme(Jam)2.80
#889Innovation(Jam)2.60
#1017Overall(Jam)2.69

Comments

ALobker says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Interesting although unpolished game. I assume this was your first time.

PS: You should link to the google files from this page. That makes it much easier.

Ogniok says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Challanging and fun, there is room for various weird tactics, requires shooting and jumping... Everything i love!

taviandir says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:18pm

It seemed to me that the only way to get my health back to full was to upgrade health between maps, which I feel is not optimal design. The upgrades werent completely logical - "Upgrade Cooling" and "Reduce overheating" in effect pretty much does the same thing, no? :)
Still had fun tho!

mkghoster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:33pm

This reminds me of an old Unity FPS tutorial. :P Funny music tho

ryjcio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:56pm

I think the idea of enemies that look like not important objects is fun, but the concept was programmed very unclearly in my opinion and in fact has no impact on playing.

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:07pm

For some reason I need to log in to google to even see the file list. Can you make it available for all?

Dreschler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Cool game, a little bit polishment and it'll be awesome :D

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Fun game! Good job!

Louspirit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Enjoyable to play! Nice that you implemented powers up and several forms of monsters. Bravo! (last hing : think of azerty keyboards)

blob says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:58pm

I loved it, one of my favorite so far. That music just cracks me up. :D
I loved the design of each type of monster, very original ideas! Shapeshifting fly was nicely freaky, turrets getting more dangerous as you damage then and start hunting you, and the creepy growing slug you have to kill before it gets close... All great stuff.
I think i actually finished the game? Killed everything and destroyed every wall after something like level 6 or 7 but nothing happened.
Only big thing missing: SFX. That d do a lot for mood and getting alerted about monster presence.

AnMorfeusz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Nice jam entry, funny gameplay.

Shizor says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:17am

I really dig the music and atmosphere :D

It would be handy to have a visual indication as to where your being hit from (like a red effect on the side of the screen) with an aural indication as well so that you don't have to look behind you all the time

May 4, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Very unpolished

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]