Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

I'm one of you guys now

by codeartisticninja - Jam Entry

This is my first game jam game! :)

Move around, shoot people and take over their bodies.

you can control with keyboard, touch or gamepad..

Coded in Typescript using the Phaser game engine..



Credits
Code and graphics by the.codeartistic.ninja.

8-bit font by usr_share.

Music by Auditory Cheesecake.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#109Theme(Jam)3.97
#183Innovation(Jam)3.59
#438Humor(Jam)2.64
#608Fun(Jam)3.04
#632Overall(Jam)3.14
#711Mood(Jam)2.88
#1021Graphics(Jam)2.29

Comments

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:31am

Great Game and cool idea.

rockybdubs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:32am

I couldn't get past the first green door. Pressed attack a bunch of time, but the bullets just went right through it :/

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:40am

nice game, the idea is pretty good.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:40am

Nice take on the theme and concept could be pushed into a full fledged thing probably.

Couldn't get past level 4 (purple door but no purple guy/body) but could have missed something.

Please in the future devs think about adding a simple mute music hotkey or something. :)

psyxose says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:05am

Cool innovative game !

euske says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:11am

Yay, I survived the war zone!

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Cool idea, i think the whole thing could be sped up by 20% and it would make the game more enjoyable.

antglynn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:38pm

I like the concept. The music becomes a little irritating after a while, but a fun entry overall. Good job!

ChatPion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:42pm

Yay ! I made it through the War Zone !

Big Cow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Really good idea to posses the bodies and use it for simple puzzles. Nice one. Gave me a Thomas was alone vibe :)

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:56am

Really nice game, a good take on shapeshifting!

TheCain says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:46pm

I got to the end of 'The War zone', but was shot up. I didn't retry it because the characters just move too slow.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:30am

Nice idea, I like how you worked the possession as shapeshifting. Maybe just a bit more of speed would have worked great. Good job!

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:00am

Very well done. I enjoyed the hierarchy and the simple changing mechanic.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:56pm

Thank you all very much for playing and rating my game, and thank you for the feedback.. :)

I've made an improved version with just the menu-music at low volume and made the game a bit faster..

http://the.codeartistic.ninja/did/oneofyouguys

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:55pm

The player could be sped up some. the warzone was rough! nice game.

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:04am

The theme is very well incuding in your game. I didn't find the music annoying ;). In face I was firing in the rythm of the music as the bullet sound fitted well. It was the most fun part for me to shoot in the rhytm of the music. I know its strange but maybe you could incluse some rhytm game mechanics? Nice touch with the carring of the enemy bodies through the color walls. Keep up the good work :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]