Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Chameleon Candidate

by KappaIX - Jam Entry

Chameleon Candidate

If you want to get ahead in politics, there's no room for principles, for morals, or for the truth.

Don't try and change the world... give the people what they want!

Become a political shapeshifter, manipulate the electorate, get power.

You are the Chameleon Candidate.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#15Humor(Jam)4.20
#85Innovation(Jam)3.83
#139Fun(Jam)3.66
#169Mood(Jam)3.65
#182Overall(Jam)3.66
#316Theme(Jam)3.63
#459Audio(Jam)3.00
#527Graphics(Jam)3.36

Comments

eeely says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:24pm

✧٩(•́⌄•́๑) nice

hellojed says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Frighteningly accurate

chobrah says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:11am

Haha, well done, very clever. I just loved it, good show sir.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Interesting idea and great humor. Well done.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:58pm

I had a lot of fun destroying the world and not getting elected.
Nice game.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Not my kind of game really, but it had decent depth, and looked pretty good! Audio got repetitive after a while.

I was also really bad at it :P

Skruffye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Fantastic bit of satire and a competent game. Absolutely loved it!
Music was a touch repetitive, and the art wasn't brilliant, but those obviously weren't the main focus of the game, so really well done! ^^

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:45pm

I had loads of fun. Easy to play, easy to finish, humor was fun. A nice point : the names really communicated what the regions were so it was easy to keep track of who would like what. Top stuff.

Ryan Kline says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:11pm

This was really funny, and fit the theme very nicely. I thought that the dynamics between the different regions and managing your ratings was the best part. Your weakest part was probably your audio, but even that fit the game and added to the overall feel. Great job on the gameplay, this was awesome. :)

Pusty says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:13pm

This is amazing. Truly amazing. Best idea ever 5/5

Louspirit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Whao, you really used your mind to make this game. You also made something new with Game Maker. It is really well made, music is efficient, and humour is really present.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Pretty cool! Nice UI!

fizzhog says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Really, really good. And funny. Remarkable to have made this in such a short time. I got elected - by being a totally unprincipled arse ... oh wait ... ah I see what you ...

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:38am

Pretty funny. I liked how you made fun of BOTH political sides.

Haighstrom says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:01pm

"Politician found to be nest of lizards in human skin". Brilliant, just like this game. Loved the art, loved the idea, simple but concise gameplay, fabulous humour and a nicely rounded end to it. Thought this was marvellous.

arhpositive says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Solid entry! Got 109 on my first try. It's really easy to swing the votes in your favor, I guess that's pretty realistic. Top quality work!

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Great Fun! Easy to learn and very funny. Would like to see a version with even more mechanics but for an LD entry this is really good.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:09pm

I liked the idea and the writing was pretty sharp. It's broad political humor but I like that you highlight the complete bollockness of the terms "conservative" and liberal" with the 4 constituencies (my game actually contains the lines "End repression, vote liberal" and "End repression, vote conservative").

It was VERY easy. It was never anything but obvious to me what I should say. To me a game like this should be primarily about

A: Strategically spending resources.
B: interpreting what actions will get what response.

Neither really applies here, since it is fairly obvious how each region would respond. There were a couple that required a little bit of thought but nothing really difficult.

That being said I like the idea, the structure and the presentation very much. Good work!

El Cabaro says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Actually really witty. Definitely a cool game. I ended up tricking them all, haha.

I found that a good strategy is to work up a lukewarm appreciation among all districts, then just start focusing 100$ rallies on each one that didn't benefit from the television appearance.

apalade says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Clever interpretation of the theme! I liked it.

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Fun concept, good message, link to current ongoings ... I liked!

Greetings, bruz

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:08am

I love the idea! Just brilliant

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:19pm

"Best Donald Trump game I've evey played! 1000/10" IGN

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Really funny game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/6jh8RTn7UxY

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:10pm

Another Donald Trump game? Yours is really great. Humor humor - I love it ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]