Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Cactus Corner

by Millefey - Jam Entry

This is a mini wannabe-children's game about helping a bunny to water cacti. First LD project and also first game put together solo. I wasn't able to code or even understand code before this so during the weekend I've learnt a ton (can't wait until next jam!). It has been a slow process though, speckled with panic and intermittent yelling (from both frustrations and breakthroughs). Who knew you had to actually choose which of the event sheets to use for a particular layout? Sheesh how embarrassing!

Because I was so new to the mystical language of something called variables, I couldn't really experiment, hence my interpretation of "shapeshifting" consists of (some) "evolving" cacti throughout the stages (not that it's obvious). So of course I dream of redos and nice-to-haves but at the end of the day, I'm hyped for finishing it!

Resources: Construct 2 & kittiewan's Memory Match tutorial; music from Rengoku Teien; fonts from DaFont & Google Services; all graphics by me.

P.S. The game does have some resolution issues that I couldn't fix. I had to enable fullscreen in order to host it at Scirra so the card sprites refuse to scale to screen.. If anyone knows how to fix that, I would be very, VERY grateful for advice!
P.P.S. Oh, and anothing issue I was struggling with is that flashing Arial font. Are there perhaps some easy solutions to prevent it from appearing?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#293Mood(Jam)3.43
#329Graphics(Jam)3.72
#957Overall(Jam)2.76
#1416Coolness44%

Comments

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:16am

Fairly straightforward matching game. Really enjoyed the graphics and music.

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:28am

Congratulations on your first LD! :) Nice game, a bit too simple, but next time will be better.

Reisen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:31am

A good job for your first coding project!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Good mood, very relaxing, quite playable for kids as well :)

MintArcade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Now my children gona play this all-day-long... Nice game, thanks for making.

ployer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:09pm

well done, simple and effective

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:01pm

A really cute first entry! That working on it has already given you ideas of how to take things further is great - I'm sure your next Game Jam will be a knockout!

mikekreein says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Relaxing game!

Klaas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:44pm

I love the design of Bun Rabbington!

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:46pm

I like the graphics, nice first Jam piece

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:00am

i liked the character design and art style, it was super cute! the gameplay was pretty simple but still really good for a first project.

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:45am

Very nice graphics, very clean and stylized! I enjoy match 'em up games so this was pretty fun for me, good job!

Naca says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:18pm

Congratulations for your first LD! It is my first time too!! This is a really good project for someone that is learning to code while jamming at LD. Nice graphics too.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Nice game, not super original, but nice in the end :)

ezombort says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Nice music :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:04pm

First off, the style is adorable! It gives off a 'Sanrio' vibe which is brilliant for the kid's game sort that you want. (the character would make for great merch. too)

The game is very basic and has some layout issues (it would look better centered, personally) but for a child this would be a fun little time-waster. I know I was addicted to match 2 when I was a kid.

The overall mood of the game was absolutely lovely too. The music was relaxing and reminded me of games like Ragnarok Online or towns in JMMORPGs.

I personally couldn't get the shapeshifting element of it- I had to check if this was an entry to the previous LD for 'Growing'- but overall it's so cute!

- Alice (the artist)

Millefey says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:49pm

@Everyone Thank you so much for the comments! You've all veen very kind to me, haha. I hope I'm able to learn many more things before the next LD so I can up my game dev'ing a little. So excited already! :D

@Alice (the artist) at QuestionableQuality
I'm glad you liked it! Sanrio is a big compliment to me. I do have a weakness for cute (& chubby) things (& Ragnarok Online). I'm sorry for the layout issues, it's certainly supposed to be centered. I think I will eventually manage to fix that.

I see! I actually wasn't aware of the past theme(s). You're totally right, "growing" would've suited this one much better since it only has growing sprites for the cacti. For some reason I didn't think about using werewolves or demons but I should've!

tomlum says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:16am

Fun art and music design, but the mechanics could be a little bit more ambitious.

Yakka says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:38pm

I am personally not a big lover of this kind of games but it's a good work and the art/mood are lovely ^_^

demogorgon says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:57pm

I really like the art.

StrayCat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Congrats on your first ludum dare!
The graphics are super cute! The game is nice and it feels complete, though going a bit closer to the theme would make the rating be better. Good job!

Alphish says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:43pm

The art in this game is lovely. The mechanics work well enough, too; the gameplay is simple, but functional nonetheless.
Good choice of audio, but since it's not yours, I won't rate it. That, and you already opted out from that, anyway. ^^'

Also, don't be afraid of variables; they don't bite, and once you get to know them, they're really helpful. ^^
(too bad I don't know Construct, and thus have no idea how to help with cards scaling or weird Arial appearance...)

Oh, by the way, I think you should change your "Web" link, as right now it points to the downloadable archive containing the HTML5 game. The thing is, browsers are mean and won't let people play HTML5 directly from their disk, so you would better replace it with link to page where the game is playable, or a non-browser version. ^^'

Keep improving! :3

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Very well polished game! Lovely art with cute factor!
Congrats!

Millefey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:15am

@Alphish Ooh. Thank you for pointing that out! Didn't know that at all. The link should be fixed now. :) As for the variables, they are pretty intimidating since I'm much more of a hobbyist artist but I'll keep at it. Maybe eventually I might level up enough to try the C languages..!

May 4, 2016 @ 11:08am

Great art for the rabbit!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]