Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Fluffy Cookies

by PavelPooh - Jam Entry

Fluffy Cookies tells a story about two old friends - The Alchemist and The Necromancer. One paid a visit to another and here's how it turned out. The goal is to bake cookies using ingredients scattered around the table. Choose ingredients, bake and see what happens! Game holds many recipes, so try to find them all. For our lazy friends we have a help button which will Assist them in choosing the correct recipe. Good luck in unlocking all of the recipes and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Graphics(Jam)4.39
#163Humor(Jam)3.38
#196Mood(Jam)3.61
#632Overall(Jam)3.14
#724Innovation(Jam)2.84
#818Theme(Jam)2.94
#891Fun(Jam)2.67

Comments

AnaGF says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:01am

It is a bit hard to understand how to play, or what is the objective.
Art is impressive, though!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Well, for improvement I indicate a simple tutorial at begin, maybe a book with recipes on the table and, when the mouse is over the ingredient, could show the name of the ingredient.

But I liked the game, the art is wonderful and certainly, the idea and context is interesting

Great job!! :D

a-spirit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:02pm

Очень мило, особенно котеечка и монстр с глазом))))
very cute
Great job!

blinry says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Wow, what a beautiful game! I baked Cthulhu, a cat, and death. It's definitely unclear what the ingredients are (which one is sugar?!). Nevertheless, I liked this very much!

verynaglaya says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Astonishing artwork. Nice gameplay.

astarch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:37am

Cute art and very funny game. But it neeeds a little popups with names of ingredients.

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:29am

Красиво, как цветок (цветок патом вянит) ;- )

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:46am

Great art!

2Bit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:38am

The art and sound design are fantastic.

Dread_Lord369 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:19am

I love the artwork that went into this, great work on that. The idea is definitely interesting, but it would be good to have some sort of tooltip when hovering over each ingredient to see what it is, just so that the help button has some reference in game.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:46pm

I didn't get the concept very well, but art is awesome!

Chikoness says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Great graphics, gameplay was a bit confusing, but after a while I think I *kinda* get it? Haha. Great job!

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Nice job! I came up with a few recipes, and it was really impressive that you could make so much art in a small time, make background noise for it (which really helped it), and even coded a game behind it!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Hard to understand what to do at first, gladly you put a little help in the corner. Some ingredients are still hard to guess in my opinion, like butter, salt/sugar ?! I managed to do a few recipes though ! The idea is original and almost well done, good job :)

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:46am

Столько арта за 72 часа? Игра забавная, люблю алхимии. Подсказки только каждый раз разные, вечно забываю что мне надо. Испекла смерть, лису и печеньки)

PavelPooh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:45am

To Pestel Crew
Нет, не за 72 часа. Идею мы сформировали часа за три, да и я заставлял художницу спать нормально, что бы себя не угробить. Ну и закончила она примерно за два-три часа до конца конкурса. Так что конкретно арт занял меньше времени. Но то что я не сделал нормального туториала - не прощу себя никогда!!! Смешайте муку, сахар, соль, имбирь, мех, яйца и масло и получите от меня котейку)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Good concept but the help section is hard to be read. Graphics are amazing !!!!!!!!!! <3

fullmontis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:46pm

The graphics are just outstanding, so polished they could actually be used in a finished game.

The gameplay was interesting, but a little too random. It was interesting to find a specific combination, but it took quite a while and there was no guidance.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:22am

Gameplay and lack of tutorial is really holding this game back. Graphics are beautiful and look very professional. - @bytedesigning / Ashley

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:49am

Some part are a bit unclear, but the realization is really one of the best i've seen here

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:18am

Neat idea - I loved the artwork, top marks there. I tried dragging ingredients onto the preparation plate and was surprised when that didn't work. Eventually figured it out though. I didn't quite understand the two characters commenting on what came out of the oven (have since re-read the game's description and now I get it). The accompanying sound really helped to create an 'alchemist shop' ambience. Great job!

Kharza says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:32am

Lovely art! Good to see some crafting in a game.

marod says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:07am

Impressive art and nice game!

Manou says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Good art style and mood, add some animations !

Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:15pm

A stunning game, once I understood which were salt, sugar and butter I was making all the recipes! Some of the reveals were laugh out loud funny, I loved it, nice, simple and very very effective!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:24am

Pretty sweet graphics and sound effects, however the latter and the interactions are very confusing. Nice idea, it was funny to discover what hellish creation we'd baked, a little work on the interface would be appreciated.

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:05am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:39am

This was kinda fun, but it took way more ingredients than I expected for any given recipe. At first, I was trying to somehow put things on the board in the middle, so it was a bit frustrating.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Artwork is very nice! I didn't find all the recipes but I liked this kind of game without playable characters. It changes from others and gave you one more star for my vote.

A cooking book with all recipes unlocked would be great (locked ones would be mark as "to unlock"). We don't really know how many recipes we have not discovered yet.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Love the painterly look, giving me a classic 90's PC adventure vibe.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]