Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Star Buddy

by drazil100 - Jam Entry

A space traveler crashes on an alien planet and finds a shape-shifting friend named Buddy. With your new found companion, you must make your way trough a strange land to find your lost ship parts, while avoiding the local wildlife. Be nice to Buddy, he's all you got.


-CONTROLS:-Keyboard-/-DS4-/-XBOX-
- - - - - - - - - - -
Jump----:-Spacebar-/----X-----/---A---
Punch---:-----J------/----R1----/---RB--
Platform:-----K-----/----L1----/---LB--
Shield--:-----L------/--Square--/---X---
Move----:---A--D---/--D-PAD---/--D-PAD-

CREDITS:
- - - - - - - - - - -
Austin Allman----Programmer
Aaron Stouder---Artist
Mark Cheney----Level Design

==========================================================================
This game was made in a meetup hosted by Lone Star College as an event for students in the game design degree. If you like this game please check out the games made by our fellow students.

Who Are You And What Are You Doing Here??
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=85070

Gene Goes to the Zoo
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=93097

Liquify
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=89326
==========================================================================


Update 4/20: Version 1.1 has had a few updates in the graphics and also some bug fixes. Will continue to bug hunt and will update the download folder as we post new builds.

Update 4/20: Version 1.2 Has a new control scheme and we have lowered the background music.

Update 4/22: Version 1.3 Fixed Lvl 2 out of bounds bug. Another volume adjustment to the background music. Centered the Ship Part Found graphic correctly.

_______________________________________________________________
|The RECOMMENDED is the most current build for Ludum Dare VOTING
|,while
|The All VERSIONS link holds all of them since the deadline. But you probably |figured that.

|Why two links???
| Just in case Murphy's around.

______________________________________________________
|We will be posting a build with updated music and changes soon. Any version
| after VERSION 1.3 will be post Ludum Dare and should not be used for rating.




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#228Audio(Jam)3.47
#239Overall(Jam)3.58
#269Mood(Jam)3.46
#338Theme(Jam)3.60
#346Fun(Jam)3.35
#382Graphics(Jam)3.62
#402Innovation(Jam)3.23
#473Humor(Jam)2.58

Comments

astouder says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:21am

Our first game jam and it was a blast. Put every ounce of energy into it.

We hope you all love Star Buddy!

astouder says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Dang this game is hard. Hope you all love a challenge!(yes it is beatable) going to make some touchups to the tile work. As well as a "ship part found" message that didnt make it into the build.

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:42am

Nice game!

teamross says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:05am

Interesting level design, the green monsters are easily fended off, but most of them are hidden in bushes!

Good job for your first jam!

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:22am

Really nice little game, especially for your first LD :) It was indeed hard to notice those little green guys sometimes like someone mentioned before. I found the player a tiny bit unresponsive, maybe make the moving and jumping a bit faster. But otherwise good job :)

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:31am

nice game!
the level design and the animations were great!
the music was nice too!

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:00am

goooooood very goood game bro

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:01am

Great idea, and it is really beautiful, but a bit too difficult for me.

drazil100 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:11am

The final version of this game's difficulty will be way more balanced when we actually have more than 72 hours to make it. Really hard to balance a game when one of your enemies is added to the game 40 minutes before the deadline.

I'm really glad people seem to be liking it despite the hard difficulty!

Dread_Lord369 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:14am

I think you did quite well with this game. I love the fluidity of the abilities, and the ambiance is nice as well. Good job!

Strike says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:24am

Very nice game. I just couldn't stand the controls, mostly the keyboard layout. It was very troublesome to me. But I guess that with some practise I should be ok. Except that part it's a pretty good game overall.

tybantarnusa says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:44pm

I love the art and the game mechanic

astouder says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Ya the controls are not the best. The final game will have customizable controls. Thanks for the feed back. ;)

astouder says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Version 1.2 has an improved button layout for both keyboard and controllers. I recommend playing this version or later.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:17am

Fun niche to fit with the theme. Pretty decent overall.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:12am

Love the idea and the graphics. Wish i was better at it so i could see more : )

drazil100 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:53am

thats on us for not programming check points or something. it is pretty hard.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:32am

Cool idea! I found it a bit difficult to control sometimes.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:42am

wow, this is a realy good entry, dont mention it, in your firs jam. Congratulations guys, very nice work. I realy like the level design.

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:13am

Great game all around. Top notch. :)

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:17am

Wow nice game i like it the art and music. Will continue adding things? :D Nice game guys.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:17am

I watched your game on Shakesoda and that was super cool! I could NOT get passed level one but it was cool to see them pass it!! lol!! Fantastic game! The whole feel of it was awesome and you guys nailed the theme for sure!

astouder says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:05am

@nlbi21 yes we will be adding a bunch of fun monsters and some new abilities to the full game. Glad you liked it.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:05pm

This is a good start! A little too difficult but still fun. I really like the buddy's transform mechanic. Graphics and audio were nice.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:12pm

the mood of this game is amazing, very well done!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Very cute! The shield didn't seem all that useful and I wish there had been some use for the platform in the first level because that was the best fun I had! The punch sound is very satisfying and I really like the general concept here.

victorljs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Nice game.

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Great job! This game is pretty hard, but I feel like it's difficulty fits it well.

Hyden says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Was really fun :)

monetai says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:20pm

It was a good moment !

MintArcade says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Nice game. Very well executed.

iossif says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:42am

punching those green slimes felt really good! good mix of movement and sound.

mooncalf says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:01am

Everything a game needs is in this game. I would have liked to see some puzzles requiring the other two morphs early on and interspersed with combat segments. Great entry.

crazyrems says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Oh that's difficult. Movements are a bit too slow, maybe that's due to the gravity on this planet.
Anyway graphics are nice and simple. Did I mentioned slow controls?

nyaki says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Great idea, nicely done :D

Madball says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 9:38pm

What seemed like a cute game about human-and-alien friendship, turned out to be a brutal game about giant jellyfish knocking you into pits of murderous blobs. Other than that sudden change, graphics and music were still cute and pleasant.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:27am

I really liked all the different modes star buddy could go into. I liked how clever you could be with it. When we discovered that you could smush the enemies with your star buddy in platform mode, it was a fun surprise. Platforming using the platform mode was fairly fun once we got the hang of using it.

May 3, 2016 @ 3:31am

Really interesting game! Very relaxed ambient music.

A few notes:


-Bouncing! This game could use bouncing, though that's probably a different mechanic. I just wanted star buddy to bounce a bit.

-We stalled pretty heavily on some of the more precision platforming segments. Probably just a bit of fine tuning there.

-Jelly's are OP. Without health pick-ups this game is kind of brutally difficult, despite being adorable.

sathomason says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Pretty cute. Can't figure out how to lift up with the platform, though.
Animations were solid. Sound effects fit. I love punching those evil little slimes.

drazil100 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:39am

@Sathomason thanks! The platform shape was not meant to go up but horizontal as much as you want. So don't feel bad for not figuring it out.. the only up movement is the jump button. :)

- For those who mentioned the slow 'floaty" movements... This was on purpose.. our other game (Space Ninja) is very fast and time based, so we wanted this game to be more relaxed and slower paced. Plus the floatyness I felt was more alien planet like.
- For those who mentioned the difficulty.. Yea it's hard! A little harder then was intended. We didn't get much time for balancing it. The "Jellies" were added to the build late and did not get enough time spent on fine tuning them.. they were supposed to float around, have slower projectiles and be killable with attack buddy or deflected projectile. Sorry bout that :( (A third enemy didn't make the game.)

Thanks for all the wonderful complements!

RyanNielson says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 5:51pm

GREAT IDEA!

pixelpotions says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:07am

Solid entry, love the shape-shifting mechanics! Good job. :)

May 9, 2016 @ 7:08pm

The Daily Fandom covered this awesome game on our YouTube channel! Check out the video! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yz8H9BRj7wk

drazil100 says ...
May 16, 2016 @ 10:59pm

Yay

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]