Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Magic Forest

by Frederika - Jam Entry

You are a witch gathering mushrooms. The forest becomes angry and one of the trees does something surprising!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#541Mood(Jam)3.11
#657Humor(Jam)2.20
#950Theme(Jam)2.65
#987Fun(Jam)2.50
#1023Overall(Jam)2.68
#1416Coolness44%

Comments

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Can't play it because it is in the Unity Web Player which isn't supported by most browsers. If you're using Unity 5.3, you should be able to compile it to WebGL instead.

Henry00 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Fun game, bit cheap on the graphics and could have used some music. Could it be you took some inspiration from Portal? :)

I also like games where you end up weak but gain powers over time. Nice job!

Henry00 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Actually I am so sorry but I commented on the wrong game, luckily I guess this is two reviews then. Haha.

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:46am

Good graphics. It would be interesting if there was time to appear the dragon, instead of it appearing automatically after the collection of the fifth mushroom. I sense the lack of feedback about my health points and the lack of music.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:31am

Would be better if the mushrooms were pointed at.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:05pm

I think that the mushroom collecting part could have used some dangers added to it. Only on the last level I actually saw the dragon and it was easily outrun so maybe it was a little too easy. Nice concept overall that could be developed further.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:38am

nice looking game, if you add shooting to the game, like shooting wild animals, and then make the dragon the final boss or something.

HunGARE says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:40am

I like your take on the theme. The dragon idea and the model were pretty cool. I would have liked for the models to look similar, but still it looked cool.

Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:16am

To export to webGL, you can just go Buld Settings<WebGL, Export. take all those files, add them to a zip, upload to itch.io select (HTML), not unity. and it should work fine. :)

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:02pm

It´s fun and the graphics are petty nice!

Mordokay says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Nice game .. loved the animations and was definitely not expecting the dragon to appear :). +1

lanestp says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:39am

Cute game. It would be nice if there was a little more to it. I liked the dragon. It was fun when he showed up but I wish he went a bit faster!

legavroche says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:12am

Really liked the models you used. My one criticism would be that the mushroom gathering presents no challenge and so that portion gets a bit boring. Maybe use a few small enemies to keep the player busy while gathering and the like. Great work though!

LukeZaz says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:17am

Gameplay wasn't that great, as the mushrooms seemed to be in the same place every time with the only difference between levels being which tree was picked to transform. Additionally, I feel the dragon should've been faster and spawned farther away, as I only got hit when it spawned next to me.

Omiya Games says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:54am

Adorable collect-a-thon. Definitely add audio next time!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]