Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shoop-da-Poop

by Dia6lo - Compo Entry

This is a game about getting in SHAPE before summer. Digest all your stuff that you got through entire year!

How can you DO IT:
- Your something-creature reacts to pulls and pushes of his arms, head and little elephant.
- By pulling his limbs you can pull two rows/columns (depends on limb) out from his "belly" (that red square), while pulling two adjacent rows/columns into his "belly".
- Pushes work in opposite way - pushing two lines into his belly, while pushing two adjacent lines outside of belly
- When you match 4 same items in red square they vanish from space-time while summoning four-dimensional creatures.
- Level is completed when you match all of items on level.

This is my first LD entry, as well as first art work (as you may guessed already).

Tools that I used:
- Visual Studio + Resharper
- Bridge.NET + Bridge.Pixi + Pixi.js
- Art: http://www.piskelapp.com/
- Music: http://online.boscaceoil.net/
- Deployment: GitHub Pages

Works on phones too!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#43Humor3.72
#193Innovation3.58
#520Theme3.28
#598Audio2.06
#649Fun2.86
#664Overall2.97
#683Mood2.56
#738Graphics2.50

Comments

Spud says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:39am

Pretty tricky to win, fantastic idea

ThePaperPilot says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:52am

it's a little bit difficult to figure out which foods will move before pulling, but it's cool and unique. The face when you pull on his elephant is funny.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:02am

It's kind of disturbing. And the music is driving me crazy!

Linver says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:45am

Fresh idea, and niсe Mood. This humor!
You should to add.. moar tutorials - after 10 minutes of plaing with it - I understand some basics.. But music compounds beetwen loops hurt my ears :(
After first level I have 110% on my FunMeter, but then.. 10 minutes to decide second level, and all fun leaked away.

Looks like Rubik's Cube a bit?

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:30am

Interesting idea, very tricky.

wavertron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:26am

Bizarre, interesting concept. Frustrating a little cause I couldnt quite find a pattern to the movement of the food items. But really neat idea overall

talgautb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:34am

i can't do it, man :)

oal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:53am

That was, well, interesting. A puzzle-ish game, but the graphics add a good bit of humor. Haha!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:15am

lol wtf? Love the facial expressions. But now I feel bad about myself for some reason...

Funske says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Haha I love it. This is great use of the theme, and very creative.

UltraRat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:07am

Really good first entry, LOL at JUST DO IT motivational meme intro.

It's helpful to put the instructions in the description too, easier to read for people..

garygreen says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:55pm

That's one of the most original and funny puzzle games I've ever played.

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:39pm

wtf did I just see?

jordgubben says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:46pm

This is a game about pulling a a ransom persons "trunk" to help him loose weigh.
(That's something you don't get to type every day)

Humor: 5/5
Mood: Delightfully uncomfortable

TheCain says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:01am

Weird puzzle game. And who eats portal guns?

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:05am

hahaha! i know this meme about cover~! (but don't know where it from, just seen so many times!!>u<) very fantastic theme you choose! and really fun! Why similary game so less in this LD, just meet today,QoQ surprising!
a little bit hard at first! but got the key quickly!(why i can't stop laughing!hahaha! my belly!)
all in all ,i think that is the art! see the ecstasy expression when i push him hahaha!
also you have a genius artistic instinct , VERY COOL!

candlesan says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:34am

Some really unique gameplay here!

logiclogue says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:18am

Quite an amusing but also very clever idea! The music was a bit repetitive. That aside, you have created a very nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]