Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Fandangos team

by adrianolobo - Jam Entry

*This is our first ludumdare, we had a lot of fun and did our best!

This is an element change game. pess any button to change your element, you have to counter the element of your element. Just like pokemon.

Electricity counters water.
Water counters fire.
Fire counters wood.
Wood counters electricity.

We hope you have fun :D

**I updated the background color because it was constrating with the score
**Fixed download links

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#403Audio(Jam)3.13
#525Innovation(Jam)3.07
#696Graphics(Jam)3.07
#1902Coolness28%

Comments

lanestp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19am

Fun idea! Pokemon endless runner is a great idea! I kept forgetting what beats what (I always played with water types :-) )

wavertron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:06am

Nice little concept with the spinning wheel for shifting. I found it a bit hard to guess what the enemy was. I'd suggest that the game start a little easier, ie slower movement, slower wheel spin. Then after a half dozen successes and the player has learned, it starts speeding up and getting harder.

yoel1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:11am

i realy liked it, the music is great and the graphics are nice.
you could of done easier controls for shape shifting, put in a score counter.
and add a gameplay vid (well i didnt do one but its a good advice).

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:41am

I can't play. There's no data folder

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:49am

Nice sound and concept.

maartene says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:51pm

The four elements usage of the shapeshifting theme is cool. I did find it quite difficult because you need to simultaneously look at the type of enemy that comes along AND keep an eye on where the spinning wheel is. The game isn't slow you know. In the end I end up missing the correct element.

Still, looks good, sounds good, plays well.

legavroche says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:03am

Awesome idea, but I'm not a fan of the wheel spin, since if you missed the right element, you'd need to wait for it to cycle again. I would've liked four different keys for each element, but great work otherwise, especially the music

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Cool idea and nice game. Well done.

themadknights says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:25pm

The idea looks fine. I missed a few game instructions and some kind of score.

LeReveur says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Not so easy at it seems, simple to understand and to play, good job. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]