Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Apeshifter Munk

by monkeybit29 - Compo Entry

Meet Munk, the shapeshifting monkey.
Use your powers to reach the end!



***UPDATE 4-23-2016***
I've changed a few things to the game:
Turned off excessive motionblur
Adjusted the last puzzle to avoid glitches and to be solvable
Fixed being able to spawn in tight areas and getting stuck
Made final tree jump path less frustrating
Added a secret easter egg room (just for kicks)








Follow me at Twitter @BiolumGames
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BioluminantGames/

:^D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Theme4.43
#15Overall4.15
#25Fun4.05
#49Humor3.67
#54Innovation3.99
#76Mood3.72
#105Graphics3.91
#180Audio3.33

Comments

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:26am

Wow. Some of the puzzles were amazing!
The last one took me around 4 min because of that clever mechanic you put in there.

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:34am

Please win the compo. I want to recover my faith in humanity

celmore1001 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:49am

Mouse invert would have been great to have. Otherwise no complaints.

mrnannings says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:54am

Fun game. Good puzzles. The learning curve in the order of the puzzles is well thought of.

Only the background music is anoying after a while and the and the game can looks sometimes a bit blurry.

_beta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:31am

Best game ever Praise the monkey!

whilefun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:03pm

I really liked this game. There are similar ones submitted in the compo with this mechanic, but yours is better. I liked the music, and was actually moving slightly to make the water jug dance while it was being filled up. Nice work! :)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:15pm

Well done!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AnotherZero says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:17pm

Very Nice!

siryakko says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Had a blast playing the game. Some glitch in the graphics making it a bit blurry and the sound that you want to turn off. But the game is really good and fun.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:27pm

This is great! Fun and clever puzzles with a very interesting mechanic.
Shapeshifting back to the monkey when in tight spots made him fall through the wall/ground btw!

Azumiar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Nice gameplay mechanics!

dunin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Damn this is a good game!
Congratulations!

Gamescalation says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Nice puzzeling that definitely has some potential... BUT with those controls you shouldn't really make the player perform platform jumping :D
also, holding down the right mouse button to transform instead of once every time to switch back and forth feels kinda odd, but that one could be on me...

For the graphics and sound - those are quite good, except for the way to heavy motion blur effect and the annoying looping music - luckily you build in a mute button... (no offense :P)

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:24pm

super clever! nice puz<les!

Kifuga says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Great! Was much fun to play and trying to solve the Puzzles! Thank you for this :)

monaarc says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Monkeys 4Ever ! Very fun, good puzzles: easy to undersatnd, hard to resolve... Good job ! :D

Adipson says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:48pm

good job !

tomdeal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Great entry! Cool graphics, good game design. Overall nice game!

Headmade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Wow, is this really a Compo entry? Impressive! Very nice level design, great introduction to the mechanic.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:44pm

the fps tanked whenever I jumped, making the last puzzle quite hard, but otherwise a solid entry :)

MattThePie says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:04pm

Ok well this is superb. Great puzzles and I actually like the audio, think it works well. My favourite thing here is definately the trees - these are just gorgeous looking!

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:39pm

This is really really good!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:23am

I remembered seeing the posts of you making this Awesome! I remember the water too! Great job, I'm impressed.

Pandaman3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:11am

Dank B)

Husky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:29am

I like the puzzle and model you made, really interesting and cure!

kwmx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:17am

Great idea and implementation. Hope to see you do even more with the idea.

batmanasb says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:33am

This is what I imagined the ideal implementation of the theme to be!

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42am

I followed your updates. Great game. Clever.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Freaking good game, good use of the them, and the level design is pretty fine !! Congrats for your firt compo !

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Wow, awesome game!

Wevel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Nice puzzle game, changing into different shapes really worked, would love some more levels

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Whoa! This game is amazing for being done in 48 hours! I really enjoyed playing it and the puzzles you set up were elegant and entertaining! Thank YOU!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Need 10 star rating for this game. Great concept!!!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:16pm

This was an awesome game to play. the puzzles are really well done for the amount of time he had to do this in.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:30pm

The puzzle mechanics are cool and more forgiving than I initially assumed. I really like the concept and the visuals of e.g. walking around as a pot are great! The platforming physics are a bit strange at times, though.

M2tias says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Actually great puzzles. I had to think! It looks really nice, plays well, the theme is good, what's not to like? Nicely done.

mikeware says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:55am

Awesome job, really amazing use of shape shifting and the environment. Just hit a strange glitch with the pot room, otherwise was really engaging and smart.

Would love to see this evolve into a longer puzzle game. It really could turn into a hit!

mikeware says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:56am

Oh, and I want to turn into a tree too! :)

bagface says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:58am

This was great! Filling the pots with water was my favorite part.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:30am

Really amazing puzzle game!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:15pm

I like this monkey puzzle game. Nice work in less time. Great!

CrazY says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Nice

DRGY says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Great game, going to win?? :D

RoboRob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Truly amazing game. More apeshifting needed.

Obvious_San says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Overall really FANTASTIC game. Loved everything about it. Sorry for breaking the last room though :P

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Good game! A little glitchy at times though, otherwise great :D

ocarson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Really fun game, love the music, good concept, love the cute money friend. One of my favs so far.

Hyden says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Well done with the monkey movement/animation/sound. Was top notch

alsantour says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Great Game! Loved the graphics and the concept... Hated the audio wished the was a mute button! Best game i have seen so far!

Karai17 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:43pm

Great job! Some objectives could have been more clear. <3

Rakowu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:43pm

Nice concept for shapshifting. Good puzzle and good music. For that short time it's pretty good. Good job.

Asturk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:06am

Very good and intelligent game! Really love some puzzle games with some innovative mechanics like that!! Great Job!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:39am

Brilliant level design, I had a lot of fun, thank you

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Lovely rounded and complete feeling entry. Well done. Just the right balance of content and puzzle. Loved it.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:05pm

This proved to be quite fun and I like Munk the monkey as a character.

Shael says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Very impresive.
Nice work

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Sorry for skipping part of the puzzle haha, really great mechanics, puzzles, graphics, and music. Burn the witch!

PaulJs says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Nice game ! Same if I've already see the concept but great graphics and enigma idea.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:27am

As I said on stream, I found it extremely easy, but I'm also at a higher level with visual puzzles. But like I said, this is a really solid game and if you ever make an improved version with more puzzles I'll be happy to test it.

10/10 Could be a tree

Played @ 2:44:50 : http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

derr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:13pm

This would have been a top notch entry for the jam, but this is even compo. Amazing work, dude! Had a ton of fun beating all the puzzles.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Such a cute monkey! Great game. I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/1ovNEwCi_RI

TheCain says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 2:29am

Good job. This was very well done, and very polished.
It had a very clever mechanic, that could be used for many more puzzles than you had.

BluShine says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Awesome game mechanic, and very cool implementation. Perfect use of the theme. Loved the puzzles, especially the water jar one. Art was pretty minimal, but the style worked well and the animations really made it cute and fun to transform into different objects. Controls were a little floaty, and music was too repetitive for my tastes, but the sound effects were good, and you did helpfully include an option to mute the music. Great work overall!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]