Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Knightwolf

by Ironhead - Jam Entry

You're a knight whose lost his sword (naughty, naughty knight!) and you must search a dangerous land to find it. Luckily for you, you're also a werewolf so...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#502Mood(Jam)3.15
#544Theme(Jam)3.35
#744Overall(Jam)3.02
#861Fun(Jam)2.71
#1007Innovation(Jam)2.37

Comments

Rother Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:52pm

I think this is a really good entry. The mood is nice and I liked the animations.
The only thing I would criticise is that the background is a bit blurry. Maybe it's just because my screen is very large.

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Good job! Even tho you should take a look at the animation and try to smooth it out a bit! Keep it up!

Ironhead says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Thanks! I do agree the animations are a bit wonky. I didnt make the characters, (I still need to add credits to the download page), and I would have worked on them a bit more if I had more time. Animating definitely is not one of my strong suits at this point anyways. Thanks for the positive comments!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Awesome graphics. The bouncy pads felt a bit exaggerated, but otherwise it was pretty fun to play.

brainstorm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Good work! The only big complaint is that in the title screen the color of the help text was too similar to the color of the background.

SpareWizard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:29pm

I enjoyed the platforming in this one. I found it strange that the shapeshift had limited uses, exactly as many times as there were sections that needed it.

It's also possible to use the bounce pads forever, until you're going so fast you clip through the ground.

aCoupleGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:59am

I liked the game but I think the transformation was the best thing in the game so, it needed to have an animation. Also, the jumping platforms are reaaally hard xD nice work and keep learning!

jcsirron says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:01am

Interesting game. I was a little put-off when I first transformed, since it takes a while to happen, but I was eventually able to use it to my advantage.

blob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:03am

Only one hit point? Couldnt beat it! Mechanics are cool but feels like you need to know the level pretty well to beat it?

Ironhead says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:16am

blob, there should be 3 hit points. not sure why/if you were only getting 1. I did try to make it challenging but not too challenging.

Thanks for playing, and the feedback everybody!

AAGH Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:06am

Other than the sluggish-feeling transformations, this was a solid - and fairly challenging - game. The controls felt smooth and not stiff or rigid, which is always a plus with a platformer.

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:07am

This looks good and the sound you make when you die made me laugh a bit. Good Game

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:10am

I really love the art. The bouncy islands are buggy if you go too high. It will be a great game if polished. Congrats

GrimGary says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:23am

Lots of frustration with this one. Maybe my platformer skills aren't what they used to be. The game looks nice, the sounds are good. The bouncy pads were out of control, at one point I was able to use them to jump pretty far over the map...which ended in disaster of course. I felt the transformation sequence itself was a little jarring. The fade in was a little weird.

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:51am

Really great game. The wolf transformation mechanic was cool and the platforming is pretty fun. The Instructions at the bottom are a little hard to read, though, and it would have been cool to have a transformation animation instead of the screen fade (I understand why you did it, though). Overall really great job!

GaryS says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Really pretty graphics! Gameplay was fun, though I wasn't sure about the attack, it seemed in wolf mode I could just run through the enemies without taking damage. Also, I think the transformation needed to be a bit quicker. Took me a while to realise I can jump farther as a wolf than a man, so I couldn't reach a platform for a while!

taviandir says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Good control. Shapeshift took too long - also being damaged should've had an effect like a stun or stop the player for a little bit. Good job :)

Venneque says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:09pm

I liked playing the game, except that I suck at jumping ... Anyway, graphics rock, music's good, sound's ok. Getting one shot by monsters is so frustrating :(. My mate keeps thinking the sound the character makes when he dies is from some porn q.q

starfeesh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Fun game, I really enjoy the art.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:56pm

The graphics are good, I don't like the floaty controls. Also the transition from knight to wolf and back with the long black fade pulls the player out of the experience. Wasn't a fan of starting over again and again.

Vantaug says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:54pm

I think the platforms were a bit awkward. I was able to land on the side where I couldn't move and I had to jump to get onto the platform. The way the screen darkens and the game is paused when you change shape wasn't very appealing. Would like it more if it was like: poof, some smoke and behold, a wolf!
Of course you had a limited time to make it, it is a nice game, with cool graphics. Just needs a bit of polish.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:39am

I loved it!!! At first I became a wolf and thought this was too easy but then i realized i could only do that for so long!! awesome job balancing your game!

Stechas says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:21am

Nice platformer with cute graphics, sometimes more difficult as I would expect, but that makes it challenging and I like challenges :)

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Hello! Good game.

I specially loved the art style you created. The scenery is awesome, and I would love to see bigger games using that feel. The zombie didn't quite fit the rest, but that's minor.

The gameplay is good, even though I don't see why should I use the knight for anything other than some more platform precision. Also, it was somewhat hard to control (felt like soap sliding sometimes) - I understand, however, how hard it is to create good platforming controls in this short time.

Congratulations for your entry!

Rulrite says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Werewolf knight is the best knight! Great job with this one; it was fun to play and whilst it was challenging, it didn't feel -too- hard. The graphics are gorgeous, and I like that the wolf transformations are limited/timed - it makes you think about when to use them, and doesn't make the wolf feel overpowered.

Spiria says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:39pm

Nice artwork and concept. I liked the wolf snarling sound and the falling to my death sound that I heard way too many times :)

rantt says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:12am

Fun and challenging with nice graphics. I enjoyed it, nicely done.

ScottP says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:26pm

I like the artwork. It added some character to the game. I'd like the transformation to happen faster.

Fantasieleben says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Cool colors, and a fun game!

RyanNielson says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Great game! Thanks for sharing it with us! :)

derr says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:05am

I love that the game is fast-paced. If you work on a post-comp version, I'd make the shapeshifting a bit faster to match the rest of the game. Nice graphics and music!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]