Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shift Racer

by kivlor - Compo Entry

Shape Shift Racer is a simple, top down, infinite runner. The player has to shape shift before entering the next terrain while also avoiding obstacles. See how far you can get!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#452Theme3.38
#561Graphics2.81
#571Audio2.25
#632Fun2.88
#802Overall2.77
#858Innovation2.32

Comments

panurge says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Put me in mind of the great Spy Hunter right away. Thanks for the nostalgia trip!

Smooth and engaging gameplay although I did find myself wishing I could see a little more of the road ahead. Solid sound and visuals.

kivlor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:37pm

thanks panurge :) I stuck to the NES resolution which makes it had to see ahead at the sprite size I chose.

marod says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Nice game.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:45pm

yeah like the guy above said, major spyhunter vibes.
LOL at my fighter jet not being able to handle balloons though XD

rynti says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:01pm

Nice entry, also cool visuals - although the background patterns get repetitive quickly. Liked the shapeshift for terrains idea!

foolmoron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:18pm

I love how a couple balloons will take out the jet

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:33pm

I immediately thought of Sonic and Sega All Stars Racing Transformed's rapid switching between car, boat and plane. The super bright and chunky visuals do wonders.

The engine noise I really wasn't a fan of, though. From what I played the sections of each type are the same length every time - maybe a way to take this further would be switching tracks of music alongside each transformation~

kivlor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:27am

thanks for all the feed back! have to admit, a jet being taken out by balloons is absurd :p

fprawn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:42am

Hey, this is pretty fun. I had a little trouble distinguishing between what I was supposed to run into and what I wasn't, but only took a couple tries before getting that sorted.

This is solidly put together.

Beard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:08am

I like the idea you chose. The first couple runs I didn't get the whole shifting thing. Then I noticed the icon :p

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:33am

What kind of zany world is this? Road to sky to water to road again?! This is madness!

:P

kivlor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:21am

haha, @16BitsOfAwesome. lunacy I tell you, lunacy!

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:27am

Really nice :) Totally reminded me of Spy Hunter

bagface says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:28am

Fun game.
I died when I ran into a box that spawned right after a shifter =(

kivlor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:54am

sorry @bagface, it's a known bug I thought I had squashed during development :/

kivlor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:56am

after all the spyhunter comments I decided to look into it and I see what you all mean!! one of the things on my idea list was to add guns... maybe I'll make a polished version and add them in :D

Jungle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:03pm

Simple and addictive game. Fits theme well. Ive made 611 points. Congrats.

martymon says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Nice sprites. It was a little confusing in the beginning which were the shift "powerups" and which were the obstacles but I worked it out. Would have loved to see and explosion or two when you hit something though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]