Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Spy Game

by magzh - Compo Entry

--UNFINISHED--
Due to a poor time management, I was unable to finish this game.

--CONTROLS--
Walk with WASD
Mouse to watch around
Press "Space" to shapeshift into the last person you touched
Press "E" to talk with a person (not all have dialogue options)
Press "Escape" to exit game

--CONCEPT--
This was supposed to be a spy game, where you had to steal enemy plans by shapeshifting into different people in the mansion. There is a stealth element where you would've tried to avoid people while shapeshifting. Some rooms were only supposed to be accessible only if you had a proper clearance. For example: to access general's office and talk with him, you would have to shapeshift into colonel someone of higher rank.

--WHAT IS WORKING--
UI that shows your current form and your stolen shape

Shapeshifting into other people

Different dialogues based on whose shape you currently have (Works as a feature but not all dialogues options were written. You can test them out on the butler near mansion entrance as he has a different dialogue for every shape)

People get alert if you shapeshift in front of them
People get alert if they see you in their shape
People get alert if they see you and the person whose shape you stole at the same time
NOTE: Gameover screen wasn't done, so they just get a red alert sign to show they saw you doing something suspicious

--MISSING FEATURES-- (that were planned)
Graphics for environment and majority of the environment itself

More dynamic scene, by making people walk around, to create a challenge by making it harder to find a spot to shapeshift and create a chance to bump into a person you shapeshifted into.

Shapeshifting animation, so it won't be instant and increase risk of getting discovered during it.

Everything else, that I probably forgot to mention.

--TOOLS--
Unity 5.3
GIMP 2.8
Abundant music website

--ENDING NOTE--
Well this is it for my first Ludum Dare. Next time I would probably try to spend some more time on planning, so I won't waste time on jumping from one feature to another, and also probably chose an idea that I can finish in a given time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#465Audio2.71
#505Humor2.10
#550Theme3.24
#627Graphics2.71
#651Innovation2.82
#711Mood2.47
#912Fun2.10
#913Overall2.42
#1448Coolness42%

Comments

Souperstrawer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Idea itself was not bad, but the game felt more like a demo. Implementing feature after feature usually doesn't work well. At least you got some experience for future game development and that's what Ludum Dare is all about.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:50pm

The concept is super interesting! But I can see why the scope of the idea made finishing it really difficult. I love the polaroid graphic showing you the identities available. The character design is cute too, they remind me of the Russian doll characters in Stacking.

The way the controls are designed is somewhat awkward - I would have assumed that the WASD movement would be camera-relative, not mouse position-relative. Depending on how tricky you wanted the stealth elements to be, simpler controls might be a good idea.

chrras says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Nice idea, but as described, it feels more like a demo. You should have focused more on gameplay than like music and shadows, at least in my opinion :)

But nice idea, and the stuff that is implemented looks good

knason says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:07pm

I like the idea, congratulations on your first entry.

3T3A says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:43pm

I think this game can be really awesome if you continur your game post-LD, if you got a web site or something, i'll follow this project

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Graphics are cute and music is very fitting! It's a pity that you didn't have time to close up the gameplay! Good job on your first LD :)

Keep up the good work! I can see great potential! :)

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Too bad you couldn't finish your game. Better luck next time!

eye776 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:51am

Idea is not bad at all. Within context, I'd say the controls (mouse turning) were the part I liked the least.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Really nice concept, a real shame you were unable to complete it.
Elegant simple graphics were charming too.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:18pm

It's a great start for a game and what you had the time to implement is really sweet ! It reminds me Jazzpunk a little bit, the concept is nice and I hope you won't give up this projet or game jams in general. Yeah 48 hours is a super difficult contraint the first times, (and even after about 20 game jams I had to turn to Jam category for the extra day this time - if you don't have anything planned on Monday next time you could consider to do that too to be more relax) but you'll see you'll learn a lot. Anyway, congrats for taking part this LD, honestly you did by far better than my first attempt 3 years ago. Keep jamming and better luck next time ;)

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:34am

the music was nice, I like where you were going with the idea of the game. too bad you couldn't finish it.

iossif says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:39am

music, idea and graphics are very nice!

the scope is a bit big for a gamejam - but learning that is a process. definitely a nice first entry!

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Neat idea maybe a small game like hitman with shapeshifting but this game is quiete diffrent than i expted, sorry also well designed humans (easy but simple)

Four Quarters says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:49pm

nice!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]