Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SquareShift - Sticky Squares

by zugende - Compo Entry

Are you ready for a busy, overloading game?
Then check out my game SquareShift.

Keys
..........
WASD / Arrow keys to control the player
Escape key to toggle pause menu

Notes
..........
SquareShift is a cool mix between Snake and Agar.io. The goal is easy: collect as many squares as possible within 90s.

But watch out, this game is damn hard.
Seriously, if you pass level 4, send me a screenshot. :D

PS: Want a Berserker Mode? Good! I got you covered. Now, play my game.

Tools
..........
Engine: Love2D
Graphics: Photoshop
Music: Garageband
Sounds: sfxr
IDE: Zerobrane
Text Editor: hackmd.io

This is my first entry, so I am super excited about feedback.
Thanks a lot guys!

PS: Still trying to port this to Mac. But first give me some hours of sleep. XD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#153Audio3.41
#200Fun3.52
#213Overall3.52
#237Mood3.27
#301Humor2.68
#303Innovation3.38
#456Graphics3.03
#625Theme3.12

Comments

staircase27 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:27am

I made it to level 5 - http://sasha.sector-alpha.net/~staircase/squareshift.png
Fun game. Berserker Mode might be a bit too good. Thats how I got through level 4. Basically constantly grabbing beserker modes and growing till giant but then losing many as soon as it finished.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:37am

Got to level 5! Cool game, but pretty sure it becomes impossible pretty soon after 4 unless extremely lucky.
You get blown up after berserker mode and then you most likely can't move (because you're so big).
Fun nontheless!:)

Saymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:42am

Nice game, can be a little frustrating to hit bombs near the completion of the objective, but it's fun !

rosden shadow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:45am

loved it!

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:47am

I got to rainbow level (5 I think)
I ended up being massive, albeit spread very thin, so I literally couldn't move :D

Is cherry mode time random? Some times it lasted 0.1 seconds, other times like 10 seconds :P

But it's a nicely made game that got me to keep going to level 5

(http://imgur.com/cTNvgbd <-- Spread VERY thin)

celmore1001 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Had over 500 points in 5th level but the level didn't change! Noooooo!! :D A fun game though.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Very good game, the mechanics are funny, and great music!! excelent work.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:58pm

Nice mechanics, I just did not understand how you used the theme in the game. But the menu animations are pretty nice.

KristophTG says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Very fun game. I liked the music a lot.

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:24pm

really cool idea! nice and challenging.

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:32pm

I beat level 4!
http://imgur.com/EKDdyIX
This is really fun, especially the early levels.
Maybe the mechanic needs tweaking for the later levels? Once you hit a certain size you can't really do anything.

zuganfang says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:51pm

I love it!
But lvl 5 is a beast!

cubegames13 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:56pm

That was pretty fun!

Alphius says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:40pm

I beat level 5 too (571/500), but it didn't take me to the next level :'(

aegypticus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:18pm

I'll play this once you get a mac port going! I always love playing games of fellow Love2d programmers!

MikeTheWayne says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Absolutely love your entry, simply fantastic, good fun, great audio (even if it is just a repetitive, yet cool beat). When you wrote in your description that it had a mix of Agar.io, I was expecting a cheap rip-off, but instead you give us this, infinitely more original! I applaud you!

Dreschler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Good game!

James Coote says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Good fun. Think if I played it a bit more, could probably start working out different tactics. Music and graphics are good. UI especially, which is no mean feat for a game jam (though a bit too much bounce for my tastes).

My one criticism would be that I can't see too many places for the game to go beyond what is there at the moment. Maybe that doesn't matter, but always nice to think of ways to keep people coming back to the game on a bit longer term basis.

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:14pm

I got to level 5! (and then crashed the game ;P)
http://puu.sh/oow9r/c345b15bb6.jpg
http://puu.sh/oowd4/9ca12d6498.png

Absolutely addicting! One of the best games I played at this LD <3 Great concept, bouncy music, graphics on the spot. Excellent work!

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:26pm

made it to level 5, but I got to a point where the squares took up the entirety of the vertical space so I was unable to move up and down and not left and right(that was on level 5). Menu and UI design is very good and sounds are good too. Overall it was fun to play

psychonull says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:19pm

fun game! got to level 5 also .. to a size that I couldn't move haha and when I got back from mode Berserker got lots of bombs resulting in an error from LUA (https://snag.gy/NWDTLJ) haha the blue screen could be included in the game too :P
Great work!

Cowa says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Wow that was very funny. I felt very satisfying to collect blocks and grow :D

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:42am

Very nice job! Works nicely in linux :)

Clean and entertaining with excellent visual and audio cues!

Saiodin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Cool idea, I liked the gameplay! As other have said a bit frustrating to lose so much points if getting hit by a bomb, but otherwise good fun!

davor10105 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:39pm

great game, good job!

Alphish says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Got to level 5, too, I even got 500 and got so many pieces I was pretty much immobile but then the game kinda said "eh, whatever" and didn't advance me any further (Berserker mode is soo OP). Rather funny concept, but I guess it'd need to be readjusted to make a complete and successful game.

Overall, not bad. Keep it up.

h2n0 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:02am

Freaking beautiful!!!! The best game I've played so far. Its so addicting, I will be level 5

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]