Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Doodles

by El_WaKa - Compo Entry

Platform / Adventure where you can switch between characters and their abilities

- Break the blocks in your way with Red
- Freeze platforms and activate switches from afar with Blue
- Glide through the air with Green

Collect 150 doodle orbs and go through the portal to finish the game!

-----

Changes in the 1.01 version:

- Now is impossible to get stuck in the destructible blocks room, if you tried to break every block in the original you could get in a unwinnable situation

- Made more clear what you have to do in the next room, the "puzzle" is exactly the same but is now easier to discover the solution

- Now it's much much easier to exit the "Red Dungeon"

- Added a small block so is harder to get stuck in the moving platforms room

- Everything else is the same

---

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Movement
X - Jump
Z - Action
A - Switch to White
S - Switch to Red
D - Switch to Blue
F - Switch to Green

---

Dev Notes:
So is finally here, I almost didn't have time to finish it, so it ends abruptly, but hey, what matters is the gameplay, right? Besides, is my first time in Ludum dare and I think I did a decent job, I planned to add a whole new zone for when you unlocked all the powerups and do some nice puzzles where you constantly switch between them... well, depending on the players reactions I will keep working on this...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#525Humor2.04
#715Theme2.94
#742Mood2.36
#786Graphics2.39
#801Fun2.59
#824Innovation2.44
#862Overall2.60

Comments

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:01am

I like it, but it lacks sound or music. :/

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:09am

Simplistic, but competent. I didn't like how it lacked sound and music.

shabam says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:10am

idk how this has to do with shapeshifting and theres no noise or explanation

DieWithDustin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:25am

Not bad but gets a little dull after a while

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:40am

Nice game with tight controls.

hijomo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:25am

nice ascetic.

Wan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:32am

Nice work, especially for a first entry. The game works well and has good ideas.

For open-ended platformers like this the level design can make or break the game though, and in this case I found it a bit flawed: on my first attempt I ended up blocked at the bottom of the map (red zone) without any ability, having me restart the game. I think you should have prevented the gates from opening if you don't have the required powers to play through them.

Other possible improvements would be to make the orbs easier to catch, and maybe ramp up the difficulty more progressively (or add more checkpoints).

Otherwise graphics a quite good and especially benefit from nice little effects, plus having these little keys to help to players figure out the controls was a good thing :)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:35am

Fine idea and a alright platformer. And yes give it some sound / music.

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:38am

Pretty solid game. One thing that I think could potentially be a problem is that the brown blocks don't ever seem to respawn, I feel like that has the potential to get the player stuck in a bad situation.

qikcik says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:09am

Nice :D

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:16am

I really want to play this but I can't seem to make jumping work. PC windows 7, modern set up.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:22am

Simple but cool Graphics. Some times there are lecks.

Haximus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22am

Ok, lets see.
_

Relatively good control, pretty standard, that's always nice.

_

The gameplay, its pretty common, i mean, nothing really special, But, its competent.

_

Not really polished graphics (sightly better graphics for 48 hours are doable in principle).

_

So, the playtime is actually, more than decent.

you see, around 15 to 20 minuts of playtime to complete a game made in less than 48 hours, its actually good, and it's a platformer after all, so yeah, its good.

_

Game design/Level design, some components had actually certain bugs, that may slow you down or even stop you to advance, wich could be frustrating, also i may tell you that, in very specific parts; orientation it's not really the easiest thing.

Overall, i would say its mediocre like a 5.5/10 , but considering the fact that is just your first entry, i will think a 6 or even 6.5/10 would fit in this.

Good job.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:50am

For the amount of time...I think u did a great job! Loved the art direction and overall tight controls.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:09pm

I played the v1.01. It's a fairly standard platformer, collecting various modes giving different abilities as the 'shift' mechanic. I think its a good first attempt!

I wished I could have spent time on it, I only got as far as after the cannons before moving on, it was feeling slightly tedious after a few minutes.

I think with some polish, sound, and story, there might be a compelling hook for the player to keep playing.

One thing I would change is assigning 'Up' to Jump. Between shifting, action, and jump, the controls were slightly hard to grasp for me.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:31am

Simple and fun. But lacking in the explanation department.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:13pm

I like how the levels look, the blocky stairs, but some parts are tricky to navigate. Nice idea and this could turn into a fun platformer. Good entry!

johnbrynte says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:40pm

I love these little exploration games with power-ups! Unfortunately, I was overwhelmed by the many buttons and the control scheme. Mapping the up arrow key to jump would have helped a bunch I think. But good work nonetheless!

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:31pm

great concept! I had fun exploring the level and playing with the mechanics. Good job!

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Pretty good game. Lacking anything to do with the theme though?

stalker1586 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Simply and stylishly solution. Nice to play, addictive.

RockNRedPanda says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:29pm

I personally didn't get the relation to the theme. But i did have fun playing it for a while. Keep in mind i played the 1.0 version as it is the 48h build.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]