Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Agent Shapeshifter

by Theseus101 - Compo Entry

This is a game where you are agent Shapeshifter, who has the special ability to change his shape. The main goal of agent Shapeshifter is to complete as many missions as possible without dying, that is where is ability comes in. To blend in with the crowd he changes his shape, but if he matches his shape with the wrong crowd they will try to kill him. He also uses this method to complete his missions, which involve eliminating certain shapes.

Red Bar: wanted level, stay in a crowd or it will go up.
Yellow Bar: Stamina, used for sprinting.

Move your agent around with the left mouse button, shapeshift with the right mouse button, and sprint with shift.

Good Luck!

Game made in Game Maker Studio
Sound made in Bosca Ceoil
Graphics made in Inkscape

Source Code: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B3rfkkxshe2sSmszUjNJQ1VReVk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#186Humor3.00
#235Innovation3.50
#296Theme3.63
#673Graphics2.63
#685Overall2.94
#718Fun2.75
#1934Coolness26%

Comments

miwuc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Nice concept. It took me a while to figure out what was going on and how to kill folks, and I had trouble with the controls so in the end I didn't manage to complete a mission :/ But I think it has potential and it could be fun with more polished controls. I also liked the bit of humor with the speech bubbles.
Regarding the controls, the fact that I don't have a real mouse (just a single button trackpad) didn't help, but also I wish you could press shift at any time to go faster (right now you have to press shift, THEN start moving), and that you knew what shape you were going to change into.

Theseus101 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:31am

Thanks for the feedback miwuc. I really appreciate it and will incorporate what you said. Thanks for playing my game!

Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Good and fun game !
Go vote mine ! :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90478

guoboism says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:14am

Originally, there were three kinds of people, they are not friends, and they know it well. So they stay away from each other and there were peace.... Until, one day, an adventurer....

Theseus101 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:17am

Lol, thanks!

thegunmaster says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 5:34pm

this game could use some better instructions :(
It looks like fun, but I have no clue how I can eliminate targets.

Souperstrawer says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Not bad. I liked the luring mechanics. It would be better if the game told me how far I am with my objective.

KodingNights says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Did not really understand the controls or how I could eliminate anyone? When I shapeshift I'm just immediately killed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]