Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Adventures of Blinky, The Square-Shaped Round-Thing

by peter_sc - Compo Entry

'The Adventures of Blinky, The Square-Shaped Round-Thing' is a pretty simple game. The big monster needs to disappear, the small monsters shift your shape, and the buttons are your friends.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#416Humor2.32
#481Audio2.65
#738Graphics2.50
#752Mood2.30
#832Theme2.64
#893Innovation2.17
#921Fun2.00
#927Overall2.33
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

treegemmer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19am

Had trouble with the OS/X version. This is the terminal readout:

Downloads/TheAdventuresOfBlinky_OSX/Blinky ; exit;
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/sfml-system.framework/Versions/2.3.2/sfml-system
Referenced from: /Users/joshwagner/Downloads/TheAdventuresOfBlinky_OSX/Blinky
Reason: image not found
Trace/BPT trap: 5
logout

[Process completed]

peter_sc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:21am

I'm sorry about that. It means that the sfml framework is missing, and that I need to fix that. In the mean time, there's a guide to install it by hand: http://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.1/start-osx.php#installing-sfml

arhpositive says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Umm, I really had no idea what to do and how to do it. :/

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:59am

I figured out by accident that touching the bigger circle thing means I win. I was so lost on everything.
Objective? Controls? Why are one of the aliens bigger and immobile?

Paulgami says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:47am

I'm afraid I just didn't really get it :(

Henry00 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:12am

Sorry but this was very confusing, I had no idea how to play the game...

Pixelaborate says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:51pm

I'm afraid that the entire time I was just very confused about everything :/

sndr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:39pm

The controls and goal of the game were quite confusing. Also, the movement of the character is quite funky. It takes a while since you press the key and the character starts moving.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:49am

I was a bit confused as to how to play.
The music was cool though! And I did get a couple good chuckles out of the descriptions, such as when I died.

dringy says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:33pm

I wasn't quite sure what I was doing, I figured out the purple rescued you when you became an alien and I think I won by pressing the red button. Not too sure but I liked it.

PinkIndian says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:47am

Cool game. Took some time to figure things out, but not impossible to play. Nice original game and I especially liked the start screen. Not bad for a first LD entry. Keep it up!

Catmoo says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:24pm

It took me a little while to figure out how the red one helped me until I noticed the big one fading away, but I actually quite liked it in the end. It's pretty simple but it works nicely.

peter_sc says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 7:16am

Thank you all for playing, rating, and commenting!
Yes, it is confusing and nonsensical. The upside is that I now have things to learn and improve on for the next time. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]